Is a wand of lightning bolts made of metal?


Question:

Can my druid character use "heat metal" against a "wand of lightning bolts" to make it damage the caster unless it is dropped, or potentially even damage the wand itself (melt solder or metal-contacting thermosetting adhesives)?

Background:

Here is a link describing the wand:
https://www.dndbeyond.com/magic-items/wand-of-lightning-bolts

It says that the wand makes an effect like the spell "lighting bolt".

Here is the description for lightning bolt: https://www.dndbeyond.com/spells/lightning-bolt

Here are other lightning-related magic items that might give hints about the construction:

  • https://www.dndbeyond.com/magic-items/staff-of-thunder-and-lightning
  • https://www.dndbeyond.com/magic-items/javelin-of-lightning

Thoughts:

The material components are "a bit of fur and a rod of amber, crystal, or glass".

  • The wand is potentially likely to connect some part of the material component to a handle, and in jewelry many gem-holding elements are soldered grips with metal. Heat metal might hit the solder and damage the wand causing a magical discharge in that case.
  • If the components are organic, like a glue or plant-based adhesive with a wooden handle, then heat metal might be totally ineffective.

I did not see any questions along this line on this forum.

Is it possible to combo the spells Create and Destroy Water, Shape Water, and Lightning Bolt in order to make LB more powerful?

Asking on behalf of the group’s Wizard. He wants to electrocute the BBEG and have the spell deal extra damage through clever use of game mechanics. As a DM, I am all for it, as long as the rules somehow support it.

Create Water. You create up to 10 gallons of clean water within range in an open container. Alternatively, the water falls as rain in a 30-foot cube within range,* (PHB pg. 229)

Is this something you could cast, and either cast Lightning Bolt (8d6dmg) on the target being rained on(on your next turn / action), or use Shape Water to form a cube around the BBEG, and then Lightning Bolt to the face?

I personally think something being wet is conductive, which I might say means that the target being rained on would have disadvantage on the saving throw. My player really wants to try and argue that being wet yields a Damage Vulnerability (2x dmg), therefore causing lightning bolt to deal (8d6)*2 lightning damage.

Is there a rule I haven’t found in the PHB about this already? I do really want the player to feel cool, especially since this upcoming week there is a BBEG confrontation and this might turn the tide for my group.

The froghemoth has both lightning resistance and Shock Susceptibility; is this an error? Are there other monsters like this?

In Volo’s Guide to Monsters, the Froghemoth (pg. 145) has resistance to lightning damage, but also has the Shock Susceptibility trait, which gives it various penalties whenever it takes lightning damage.

I find this hard to wrap my mind around from a creature biology standpoint, as well as from a gameplay point of view. Is this a mistake? Is there any precedent for a monster having this dual resistance and vulnerability?

Is it worthwhile to deal lightning damage to a froghemoth?

The froghemoth (VGtM, p. 145) has the Shock Susceptibility trait:

Shock Susceptibility. If the froghemoth takes lightning damage, it suffers several effects until the end of its next turn: its speed is halved, it takes a −2 penalty to AC and Dexterity saving throws, it can’t use reactions or Multiattack, and on its turn, it can use either an action or a bonus action, not both.

However, it also has lightning resistance. That means using lightning attacks/spells will result in reduced damage for the attack/spell, but it will have other negative effects on the froghemoth.

From the perspective of a monster builder rather than a player: How useful is using lightning damage against the froghemoth, and how much will Shock Susceptibility reduce the combat performance of the froghemoth?

To make sure this is not too broad, let’s say we have four 10th-level characters: one wizard dealing the lightning damage (or the same amount of another damage type that the froghemoth is not resistant to), and 3 other characters with about 16 AC and making 2 weapon attacks per turn each.

What I’m trying to find out, is, if, knowing the effects of Shock Susceptibility, there would ever be a reason to forfeit dealing lightning damage over another damage type. I suspect that there generally wouldn’t be and that the removal of the froghemoth’s Multiattack is the dealbreaker, but I’m unsure on the impact of the other effects.


Related question asking about lore and intention of the feature combination: The froghemoth has both lightning resistance and Shock Susceptibility; is this an error? Are there other monsters like this?

When using a battlemap, can a lightning bolt be directed between squares to affect both?

Lightning bolt is listed as having a width of 5 feet.

When using a battlemap, can the line of the spell be directed between squares to affect creatures on both sides with full damage?

Does Lightning Bolt affect everyone in its line of effect? suggests this would be true for Pathfinder rules. Its answer suggests that even if the lightning bolt passed a tiny corner of a square – the creature would take full damage. Does this hold true in 5e?

For Ring of Shooting Stars, can Ball Lightning affect a creature when you move it into their space?

The Ring of Shooting Stars has the following feature (emphasis mine):

Ball Lightning.

You can expend 2 charges as an action to create one to four 3-foot-diameter spheres of lightning. The more spheres you create, the less powerful each sphere is individually.

Each sphere appears in an unoccupied space you can see within 120 feet of you. The spheres last as long as you concentrate (as if concentrating on a spell), up to 1 minute. Each sphere sheds dim light in a 30-foot radius.

As a bonus action, you can move each sphere up to 30 feet, but no farther than 120 feet away from you. When a creature other than you comes within 5 feet of a sphere, the sphere discharges lightning at that creature and disappears. That creature must make a DC 15 Dexterity saving throw. On a failed save, the creature takes lightning damage based on the number of spheres you created. (4 spheres = 2d4, 3 spheres = 2d6, 2 spheres = 5d4, 1 sphere = 4d12)

Does this mean that the sphere discharges lightning whether you move it within 5 feet of a creature or whether a creature moves within 5 feet of it?

What happens if you move it within 5 feet of multiple creatures at once (or multiple creatures move within 5 feet of it at once)?

Does Lightning Bolt affect everyone in its line of effect?

I’m looking for clarification on a spell effect. The specific spell in question is lightning bolt, 3rd-level Sorcerer/Wizard spell. It has an area of a 120-ft line. Does it pass through enemies? If I have 4 enemies in a line in range, does it hit all, or only the first? I saw Do enemies block line of effect?, but that only helped for 4e, this is PF which has different wording.

So does an enemy count as a “Solid Barrier” for the purpose of blocking the effect from going further? Any info is appreciated, especially if you can point me to a source I can reference in the future.

Can two characters use the Call Lightning spell from the same storm?

The spell call lightning has a part that reads:

If you are outdoors in stormy conditions when you cast this spell, the spell gives you control over the existing storm instead of creating a new one. Under such conditions, the spell’s damage increases by 1d10.

A player tried to use this line which I considered to be flavor text to declare that an opposing NPC couldn’t use call lightning to attack him because he already had “control over the existing storm” and that the enemy would have to wrest control of the storm from him. (The DM allowed this as an Arcana contest.)

Does the phrase in the description of the call lightning spell actually have any meaning other than extra damage and flavor?