Are there any undead that look like the living

Okay rules

  • No disguise skill
  • Shapeshifters are allowed as long as they fit the rest of the requirements.
  • Stuff they get from classes or other external sources doesn’t count it has to be an ability that every monster of that type has.
  • it’s okay if the appearance is only skin deep
  • anything that you can find on the srd, archives of nethys, or similar sites is okay including 3pp.
  • templates are cool too

So the question is are there any undead that appear to be alive even if it’s only visually.

Can Simulacrum make a (living) duplicate of a dead creature, by RAW?

This is for a fairly absurd situation in which a party member (the cleric) has died and neither of the others can resurrect him, but one of the surviving party members is a wizard that can cast simulacrum.

Another player’s idea was to cast simulacrum to create a simulacrum of the cleric (with “half the creature’s hit point maximum” – which seems independent of its current HP) and then have the simulacrum resurrect the cleric.

The description of simulacrum says:

You shape an illusory duplicate of one beast or humanoid that is within range for the entire casting time of the spell. […] It appears to be the same as the original, but it has half the creature’s hit point maximum and is formed without any equipment. Otherwise, the illusion uses all the statistics of the creature it duplicates.

Ultimately, it seems to be a question of whether creatures retain their type after they die (i.e. when they are a corpse).

A few of Crawford’s tweets have stated that a corpse is an object that is no longer a creature, suggesting that spells that target creatures would no longer work on corpses…

…but then spells like revivify explicitly describe the target as “a creature”:

You touch a creature that has died within the last minute. That creature returns to life with 1 hit point. This spell can’t return to life a creature that has died of old age, nor can it restore any missing body parts.

And spells like animate dead even suggest that creature type is retained:

Choose a pile of bones or a corpse of a Medium or Small humanoid within range.

As a result, my findings so far seem somewhat inconclusive and contradictory. The intent obviously seems to be that simulacrum is not intended to create a duplicate of a corpse (which seems pretty ridiculous), but I’m not sure whether it’d work at least by RAW.

By the rules as written, could simulacrum be used to create a living duplicate of a dead creature (a corpse)?

Does Dispel Magic Affect Living Spells in any Meaningful Way?

I recently came to a point where I was trying to find a source that talks about Dispel Magic in relation to Living Spells. Living Spells are very similar in a lot of ways to spells with a few notable exceptions obviously, but they are still at their core magical spells from what I can ascertain. Dispel Magic can currently dispel spells with a d20 check sometimes if they spell is of a certain level or higher, but it doesn’t address whether a Living Spell would be affected by Dispel Magic.

How would Dispel Magic work when cast on a Living Spell?

Can a living character (IE. Human NPC) become a contruct (IE. Warforged) via a soul/host transfer?

Im making a pseudo doctor character (Player or NPC), and would like to know if I can link a living characters soul to say, a vacant warforged body so that if the entity dies their soul would go into the Warforged and take it over. Is there any spells that can do anything like this in official D&D? If not, do you think something like this would be too outrageous for home-brew? The goal is for the person to retain complete autonomy, so Necromancy is prohibited.

How is a soul different from the living creature that it came from?


Short Version

If someone capable of casting a spell like Plane Shift dies, what prevents their soul from simply casting the spell and returning to the Material Plane?

Explanation

From what I can tell, when a humanoid dies in the Pathfinder universe, he or she usually goes through this process:

  1. Sometime after dying, his or her soul appears on the Ethereal Plane near the River of Souls.
  2. Over some unspecified amount of time, the River of Souls carries the soul to Pharasma’s Spire to be judged.
  3. Pharasma judges the soul, usually sending them to an appropriate Outer Plane based on their alignment. The souls of PCs are usually held in the Boneyard until they can be raised from the dead.
  4. Souls that pass on to the Outer Planes eventually become petitioners, losing their former abilities and their connect to their mortal body.

I can’t find any information about how the soul is mechanically different from the original PC. However, the description of petitioners (including the Petitioner template) makes me think that until the soul becomes a petitioner, they’re basically the same as the original creature. This seems consistent with other D&D-related media like Baldur’s Gate and Order of the Stick, where the souls of the dead can retain class abilities and maybe even some gear.

If the soul is basically the same as the original creature and still has class abilities, what stops a caster from resting for 8 hours and then casting Plane Shift? How is this different from being brought back by Resurrection (other than saving 10,000gp)?

Magic for a cleric to hide a living body

I’m looking for a way that a cleric in 5E D&D can hide a living body, i.e., with a magic spell. Considering up to 5th-level spells, PHB rules only.

The use-case could be, for example: When an ally is fallen and we’d like to make sure that monsters don’t hit-to-kill the fallen party member, or drag them off mid-combat to hold as captives or finish them off.

I’ve scoured the cleric PHB listings and basically come up empty. What can we do in this case to render a living body unseen?

Can a person attuned to Living Gloves cast Remove Curse on themselves to remove them?

The living gloves (E:RftLW, pg. 278) have the feature Symbiotic Nature:

The gloves can’t be removed from you while you’re attuned to them, and you can’t voluntarily end your attunement to them. If you’re targeted by a spell that ends a curse, your attunement to the gloves ends, and they can be removed.

If I am attuned to the living gloves and know the spell remove curse, would casting remove curse on myself count as voluntarily ending my attunement to them?

This is a follow up to this question, wherein a process for achieving ready access to all artisan tool proficiencies is described using remove curse to unattune to the living gloves.

Can Living Gloves combined with Remove Curse be used to gain access to multiple artisan tool skills?

Living Gloves (p278 ERftLW) Says:

While attuned to these gloves, you gain one of the following proficiencies (your choice when you attune to the gloves):

  • Sleight of Hand
  • Thieves’ tools
  • One kind of artisan’s tools of your choice
  • One kind of musical instrument of your choice

Symbiotic Nature. The gloves can’t be removed from you while you’re attuned to them, and you can’t voluntarily end your attunement to them. If you’re targeted by a spell that ends a curse, your attunement to the gloves ends, and they can be removed.

Can remove curse (p271 PHB) be used to end the curse, then you can put the gloves back on to attune once again and choose a different proficiency?

Why can living former spies divulge that they worked for spy agencies?

Governments may loathe details of the past to go public, as in the case of Alexander Litvinenko and Sergei and Yulia Skripal. Classified files can remain classified for many years. While former spies may be canny enough not to unveil or elaborate their former work, why isn’t (the fact of) their employment by agencies alone kept confidential? Can’t enemies still exploit former employees? E.g. enemies can blackmail them especially if they get indebted, or clandestinely kidnap them to the enemy state and coerce them to divulge everything they know. I’ll cite some prominent examples of former spies.

  • Ian Fleming.
  • John le Carré who worked for MI5 and MI6.
  • Jonna Mendez, former chief of disguise in the Central Intelligence Agency’s (CIA) Office of Technical Service. WIRED features her in YouTube videos.
  • Sandra Grimes – Wikipedia

The Central Intelligence Agency team that discovered Soviet mole Aldrich Ames. From left to right: Sandy Grimes, Paul Redmond, Jeanne Vertefeuille, Diana Worthen, Dan Payne.

enter image description here

  • Ex-CIA Officer Reveals How Eateries Are Key To Spycraft : The Salt : NPR

“Restaurants and cafés are in many ways the lifeblood of espionage,” is how Amaryllis Fox puts it. Fox was a real spy. Her memoir, Life Undercover: Coming of Age in the CIA, released this month, recounts her adventures as a clandestine CIA operative from 2003 to 2010 deployed to 16 countries to infiltrate terrorist networks in the post-Sept. 11 world.

Can you place something living in a bag of holding?

I don’t have any rule books to read and the last rule book I had was dnd 2e, but this question came up at lunch today at work. Is it possible to place live objects in a bag of holding. For instance, say I wanted to smuggle my dwarf friend into a building. Could I place him in the bag of holding, carry him into the building and then retrieve him? What about a creature. Maybe I would like to take a rabbit into a building that has a no rabbit policy. I can’t just chain him up to the rail outside. So could he be placed in a bag of holding?