Stone of ill Luck Total Bonus

The stone of ill luck cursed magic item from Tales from the Yawning Portal appears as a stone of good luck and says:

it confer’s that item’s property while on your person.

The bonus from the stone of good luck is +1 to saving throws and ability checks. Then under the curse section it says:

while it is on your person, you take a -2 penalty to ability checks and saving throws.

Until the curse is discovered, this is done by the DM in secret.

I see two options for how these bonuses could be added.

1) The stone of ill Luck adds a +1 to applicable rolls, and subtracts 2 as well, for a total change of -1 to applicable rolls. The DM would need to subtract 2 from applicable rolls in secret since the player would be assumed to add the original +1 themselves.

2) The stone of ill luck only appears to be a stone of good luck, and does not actually add the original +1, only subtracting 2 from applicable rolls for a total change of -2 to applicable rolls. The DM would then need to subtract 3 in secret, 2 for the curse and 1 for the incorrectly added bonus.

Option 1 is definitely easier to run and is nicer to the players, but I can also see an argument that the stone appears to add the +1 while not actually adding anything.

Please help with Investigator Development phase and Skill Improvement the Optional Luck Point use?

I just got introduced to this game and I’d like to understand some more of the how EXP and PC improvement is done.

So far I get that the more you use a skill the more you have a chance to improve that skill/skills or even gain new ones from multiple successful attempts. Now in standard play you mark off skills successfully used during the session once no matter how often those skill are used and that at the end of specific amount of game time are allowed to attempt to improve those skills used individually.

However the Keeper uses the Optional Luck rules for his games. Now the rules for the Luck option is if you use Luck to modify skills rolls then you don’t get a chance to improve skills at Investigator Development Phase. Now I’d like some clarification on this. If you use Luck Points to modify a skill or number skill rolls to pass the check, then during the next Investigator Development Phase, you are not allowed to a chance at improving any skills successfully passed or just those modified by Luck Points?

EX: Game 3 – Investigator use Luck points to pass History, and a Drive check, but were successful with Firearms .45 Pistol, Jump and Natural World checks. After the game session is through and we’re at Investigator Development Phase do I get a 1d00 chance to try to improve Firearms .45 Pistol, Jump and Natural World and not with History, and Drive or I cant try to improve any skills cause I use Luck Points?

Balance implications of these output to input luck change house rules?


What classes and approaches are helped and/or hindered by this set of house rules?

For an upcoming DnD 5e campaign I am considering two house rules, both of which substantially effect one another. The implications are far reaching and complex enough I am having trouble deciding what classes, techniques, and playstyles come out ahead or behind.

Rule 1: Players Roll Rule

  • When a PC is attacked, they roll a defense and add ac bonus vs a static attack (calculated as attack bonus +10)
  • When a PC casts a save spell on an NPC they roll, and add the DC bonus (static save for npc is calculated as save+12)

Rule 2: Deck Play in Combat

  • Use a 52 card deck (without Jokers) instead of a D20 during combat rounds.
    • When initiative is rolled in combat draw 10 cards.
    • When a D20 would be rolled as part of an action (not a free action) instead you must play a card from your hand.
    • Red number cards are listed value
    • Black number cards are listed value plus 10
    • Aces are 1 (1 if red, 11 if black)
    • Royals are top of your discard minus a value. K=D-1, Q=D-2, J=D-3
      • If the top card of the discard is a royal or the discard is empty, the royal is =2
      • When the last card is played from your hand, draw back up to ten
    • When the last card is drawn from your deck, shuffle in the discard.
  • Adv and Disadv
    • Advantage is “play 1 card from your hand, and the top card of the deck, take the higher result”
    • Disadvantage is “play 1 card from your hand, and the top card of the deck, take the lower result”
  • You may take a full round action to discard your entire hand and draw up to ten.

NOTES

The title of this campaign, as pitched to the players, is “An extremely house rule heavy and experimental campaign” so they at least know what they’re in for. ^_^

Rule tweaks and alternatives sound conversationally fun, but are not quite answers.

The motivation here is to turn some output random into input random, inspired by this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dwI5b-wRLic

This is intended to embrace the “figure out the enemies’ ac/hp/attack value” aspect of some combat.

How do the Drunken Master Monk’s Drunkard’s Luck feature and the Great Old One Warlock’s Entropic Ward feature interact?

The Way of the Drunken Master Monk gets the Drunkard’s Luck feature which states:

When you make an ability check, an attack roll, or a saving throw and have disadvantage, you can spend 2 ki points to cancel the disadvantage for that roll.

The Great Old One Warlock’s Entropic Ward feature states:

[…] When a creature makes an attack roll against you, you can use your reaction to impose disadvantage on that roll […]

Both of these happen “when a creature makes an attack roll” though Entropic Ward requires a reaction which might do something. I’m confused as to the timing of these events, though we do know that both occur before the roll is made.

This is clear not only because it would be odd to give somebody disadvantage after they rolled (after all, what happens if they had already rolled with advantage and you have them disadvantage), but also because features which can be used after a roll explicitly say so like the Bard’s Cutting Words:

When a creature that you can see within 60 feet of you makes an attack roll […] you can use your reaction to expend one of your uses of Bardic Inspiration […] You can choose to use this feature after the creature makes its roll, but before the DM determines whether the attack roll or ability check succeeds or fails […]

So what happens when a Drunken Monk attacks a Great Old One Warlock and the Warlock uses Entropic Ward? Can the Monk then use Drunkard’s Luck?

Additionally, what if the Monk already has disadvantage; can Entropic Ward force disadvantage even after Drunkard’s Luck has removed all disadvantage from the attack roll?

Can the Bountiful Luck trait be used multiple times in one round?

I play a halfling who has the bountiful luck feat:

When an ally you can see within 30 feet of you rolls a 1 on the d20 for an attack roll, an ability check, or a saving throw, you can use your reaction to let the ally reroll the die. The ally must use the new roll.

When you use this ability, you can’t use your Lucky racial trait before the end of your next turn.

It is clear that giving a teamate a reroll means I can’t reroll my own 1’s on my next turn. But am I allowed to use the bountiful luck feat again for other allies before the end of my next turn?

Consider this chain of events:

  1. Ally A rolls 1 on an attack on his turn. Bountiful luck grants a reroll.
  2. Ally A rolls 1 on a bonus action check on the same turn.
  3. Ally B rolls 1 on a save.
  4. I roll 1 on a save on an enemy turn.
  5. Ally C rolls 1 on a death save.
  6. I roll 1 on an attack roll on my own turn.

From my understanding: The first ally definitely gets a reroll, and my own rolls definitely do not(4 and 6).

But numbers 2,3 and 5 are a little less clear to me. While the rule doesn’t specifically disallow using it multiple times in a round, the limitation on the racial trait makes it feel like the intent is essentially “1 reroll per round”.

What does Beacon of Luck mean?

The beacon of luck spell has two effects.

Effect one is a +2 sacred bonus to saves, and effect two is the ability to roll twice for a save (before roll(s) are made).

Once a creature benefits from the beacon of luck in this way, it cannot gain the benefit of this spell for 24 hours.

The spell doesnt say its dismissed when used this way, so its full duration should still be in effect. Does it mean that only the roll effect cant be used multiple times (even with multiple castings) or is even the bonus to saving throws disabled?

Can you add luck points to an opposed roll?

Specifically, an opposed POW roll, but presumably the answer would apply to other opposed rolls as well. The rules tell us that:

  1. Many types of roll can either be pushed or have luck points spent on them (if you’re using that optional rule) but never both.
  2. Opposed rolls cannot be pushed.

Does point (1) above imply that only rolls that can be pushed can have luck points spent on them — thereby suggesting that opposed rolls cannot? The rules seems silent on this matter.

Any luck with ubuntu-core-18-armhf+cm3 on cm3+

I am trying to install ubuntu core in the new cm3+ without success. I tried with both core-16 and core-18 images I found at http://cdimage.ubuntu.com/ubuntu-core/. I obtained the same result in all test… the raspberry cm3+ is not booting. I am using the cm3+ dev kit following the instruction on https://ubuntu.com/download/iot/raspberry-pi-compute-module-3. As well as a specific board that host the cm3+.

Thanks,

Claudio

What happens when two opposing instances of Bend Luck are applied to the same roll by multiple Wild Magic sorcerers?

Wild Magic sorcerers get the Bend Luck feature at 6th level (PHB, p. 103):

Starting at 6th level, you have the ability to twist fate using your wild magic. When another creature you can see makes an attack roll, an ability check, or a saving throw, you can use your reaction and spend 2 sorcery points to roll 1d4 and apply the number rolled as a bonus or penalty (your choice) to the creature’s roll. You can do so after the creature rolls but before any effects of the roll occur.

How would one resolve a situation where the two instances of Bend Luck are in conflict ?
[i.e. one person is trying to improve the roll while another is trying to reduce it?]

I know from DMG errata version 2.0 page 1:

Combining Game Effects (p. 252). This is a new subsection at the end of the “Combat” section:

Different game features can affect a target at the same time. But when two or more game features have the same name, only the effects of one of them—the most potent one—apply while the durations of the effects overlap. For example, if a target is ignited by a fire elemental’s Fire Form trait, the ongoing fire damage doesn’t increase if the burning target is subjected to that trait again. Game features include spells, class features, feats, racial traits, monster abilities, and magic items. See the related rule in the “Combining Magical Effects” section of chapter 10 in the Player’s Handbook.

The situation involves two instances of Bend Luck (a game feature with the same name), so only the most potent one should apply [since there is no duration here]. But in this case, how would that be determined?

Is the higher roll just taken regardless of whether it’s helping the roll or hindering it? Or should I just assume they cancel out? Or maybe both effects just take place, and I add the effects together (since they are trying to do different things)?