Does the damage roll for an attack made by the effects of booming blade count as a damage roll made for booming blade?

This question is worded very specifically so think carefully about the wording before you answer. The description for booming blade goes as follows:

You brandish the weapon used in the spell’s casting and make a melee attack with it against one creature within 5 feet of you. On a hit, the target suffers the weapon attack’s normal effects and then becomes sheathed in booming energy until the start of your next turn. If the target willingly moves 5 feet or more before then, the target takes 1d8 thunder damage, and the spell ends.

If the damage roll made by the weapon also counts as a damage roll for the spell, then the damage roll would also be under the effects of things like the elemental adept feat since elemental adept specifies that the spell has to deal that damage and not the damage roll.

When you gain this feat, choose one of the following damage types: acid, cold, fire, lightning, or thunder. Spells you cast ignore resistance to damage of the chosen type. In addition, when you roll damage for a spell you cast that deals damage of that type, you can treat any 1 on a damage die as a 2.

Does it apply to the damage roll of the weapon or only the bonus thunder damage?

Should I warn the GM of probable mistakes he made or could make?

The question isn’t strictly bound to rules – although sometimes there are mistakes about those too, the GM is kind of a novice – but is mostly related to reading some statblocks in the book. To better explain, we are playing a specific AP in which the party encounters a vampire wizard. In the book, a fight is contemplated and so there are stats for such enemy. It should have been a nightmare (a CR 14 against a lvl 6 party), but a very good build on my part plus some unlucky rolls on the vampire side (bless burst of radiance btw) allowed the party to win, although with serious wounds. But from previous experiences, I remembered:

1 – APs usually don’t put enemies of that caliber at that level

2 – if APs do contain such enemies, they put them in some obscure location after some obscure conditions (think of a "secret boss" or a "you effed up boss")

So in my curiosity I looked at the stats of the enemy (I know, it’s meta, but I didn’t read anything other than dead enemies’ statblocks, so it shouldn’t be that bad) and found out the GM used the stats for the same enemy but in a different AP (seems the vampire would have returned with more levels and abilities).

So that’s that, the party won thanks to an EXTREME dose of luck, because we were supposed to encounter a CR 10 (maybe 11, if an adjustment for extra players was needed) instead of a CR 14, but I understand this stat-swapping accident may happen again and we may not be that lucky next time. Now if my character dies it’s no problem, but I don’t know how the rest of the party might react in that case. Should I warn the GM or not?

Would the 6th level Shepherd Druid’s Mighty Summoner feature works on summoned creatures not made from spells

To clarify, when I say "summoned creatures not made from spells", I mean summons that are from class features and the like, so the Shadow Sorcerer’s Hound of Ill Omen, the Hexblade’s Accursed Specter, Raven Queen’s Sentinel Raven (tho less hp on this would be nice) and the Beastmaster/Drakewarden’s Animal/Drake Companion. Sinces these are features that summon creatures, would they work with the Shepherd Druid’s Mighty Summoner if they aren’t technically spells?

Can an Echo Knight with the War Caster feat use cantrips for opportunity attacks made by their Echo?

The Echo Knight has the following ability:

When a creature that you can see within 5 feet of your echo moves at least 5 feet away from it, you can use your reaction to make an opportunity attack against that creature as if you were in the echo’s space.

The Warcaster feat has the following benefit (emphasis mine):

When a hostile creature’s movement provokes an opportunity attack from you, you can use your reaction to cast a spell at the creature, rather than making an opportunity attack.

If an Echo Knight has the War Caster feat and knows a cantrip like, say, Booming Blade, can they use the cantrip for opportunity attacks made from the position of the Echo?

Can the Heat Metal spell target a set of Dragon Scale Mail made from metallic dragon scales?

The heat metal spell can target "a manufactured metal object", including "a suit of heavy or medium metal armor".

A suit of Dragon Scale Mail is clearly a manufactured object, but if it’s made from metallic dragon scales, is it metal, and thus a valid target? Are bronze dragon scales actually made of bronze, or are they just colored like that?

I’m just assuming chromatic dragon scales are inarguably organic.

Is a wand of lightning bolts made of metal?


Question:

Can my druid character use "heat metal" against a "wand of lightning bolts" to make it damage the caster unless it is dropped, or potentially even damage the wand itself (melt solder or metal-contacting thermosetting adhesives)?

Background:

Here is a link describing the wand:
https://www.dndbeyond.com/magic-items/wand-of-lightning-bolts

It says that the wand makes an effect like the spell "lighting bolt".

Here is the description for lightning bolt: https://www.dndbeyond.com/spells/lightning-bolt

Here are other lightning-related magic items that might give hints about the construction:

  • https://www.dndbeyond.com/magic-items/staff-of-thunder-and-lightning
  • https://www.dndbeyond.com/magic-items/javelin-of-lightning

Thoughts:

The material components are "a bit of fur and a rod of amber, crystal, or glass".

  • The wand is potentially likely to connect some part of the material component to a handle, and in jewelry many gem-holding elements are soldered grips with metal. Heat metal might hit the solder and damage the wand causing a magical discharge in that case.
  • If the components are organic, like a glue or plant-based adhesive with a wooden handle, then heat metal might be totally ineffective.

I did not see any questions along this line on this forum.

How can live fire exercises be made safer?

My group is in Waterdeep, and our wizard would love to help train the world-famous griffon cavalry, especially in evading fireballs. That is, he wants to hurl fireballs at them that they need to evade.

I think this kind of live fire exercise is eminently worthwhile. (A nice spectacle for the populace, too.)

However, the griffons involved (and their riders) presumably would prefer some assurance they will not be singed too much.

How can we make this kind of live fire exercise safer for the targets?

  • One immediate possibility would be Protection from Energy, which confers resistance from one kind of energy, like fire. Prior to the exercise, someone could cast this spell at the griffon and rider. Unfortunately, even resistance only halves the damage involved, which can still be somewhat painful.
  • Enhance Ability (Cat’s Grace) would help with the Dexterity saving throws.
  • Something like the Rogue’s or the Monk’s Evasion ability would also be useful, but the griffons don’t have that. The Ring of Evasion requires attunement, and with the griffons’ Intelligence of 2, I don’t quite see how they would attune to the ring (on a claw?).

Could a creature, made by the Simulacrum spell, cast the Create Magen spell?

Could a creature, made by the 7th level Simulacrum spell, cast the Create Magen spell (from Icewind Dale: Rime of the Frostmaiden) as a means of bypassing the hit point maximum reduction?

It seems like a character could resonably create a simulacrum of themselves then ask them to cast Create Magen. Upon finishing the Create Magen spell the simulacrum could order the magen to listen to and obey the character as if they had created the magen. Thereby allowing the caster to avoid the hit point reduction.
Is this the case? or is something missing here? one of my concerns is that, if this is the case, a player character could conceivably make an army of magens with few repercussions. Obviously a DM will have the final say, but what do you guys think?

If a player who is flying is made to stop when does the falling damage happen? [duplicate]

If a player is flying in DnD and then for some reason is made to stop flying.

For instance a Druid in beast form if an eagle takes enough damage to drop eagle form, or a wizard flying due to an enchantment has that enchantment ended by an enemy or trap.

Are they considered to hit the ground immediately in the instance it happens or do they get an turn to try and do something about it? Is it dependant on how high they are, or where they come in initiative order?