How can a low level adventurer magically disguise an item?

I have a character who is bound to a certain set of wind chimes, which they can’t be separated from for long due to plot-related reasons. However, these wind chimes are very valuable to some very sketchy people, and my possession of it puts my character in constant danger.

While hiding this item on my person will work most of the time (taped or strung together, to avoid making a sound), it will be unavoidable that I will have to take it out in the open for others to see. There may also be times that I won’t have the item on my person. Due to the high degree of danger of even taking this item out, in both cases, I would like the item to be visually hidden.

The essence of what I want to do is cast a “disguise self”-like effect on these wind chimes, so that it is disguised in the same way a creature would be — that is, if the chimes were a creature that could cast disguise self, that would be perfect. Of course, the chimes are inanimate, so this solution is not viable. Is there another way I can achieve this?

When the item is held, the one who holds it will probably learn there’s an illusion on the thing, but onlookers wouldn’t know unless they held or inspected the item themselves.

I don’t have access to 3rd level spells or higher. What spells, abilities, items, or other effects can produce what I want?

If a high level spell or rare item can do what I want, it’s still useful to mention it. I just wouldn’t have access to that, but I would know to watch out for it.

Can I exclude characters from understanding my magically understandable speech from the monk’s Tongue of the Sun and Moon feature?

The rules for the monk ability Tongue of the Sun and Moon state:

Starting at 13th level, you learn to touch the ki of other minds so that you understand all spoken languages. Moreover, any creature that can understand a language can understand what you say.
PHB, pp.79

The text says that this ability is something you learn to do, not something that simply happens to you, so it’s not necessarily always on. Further, it seems logical to say that this is something you would do actively. That is, you could choose not to touch someone’s mind, thereby excluding them from understanding you. You could also choose not to understand someone yourself, just in case they’re telling the funniest joke in the world, or using a subliminal trigger.

Assuming you can choose not to touch someone’s mind, let’s reason further. Suppose you’re speaking and don’t know that there is someone listening in nearby. Would they understand you, i.e. is the default that you are or aren’t touching someone’s mind? Similarly, if you are speaking to a large group of people, would you have to focus on all of them at once for them to understand you? Would this take effort? Is there a range?

My questions are:

  1. Can you exclude some characters from understanding you while allowing others to do so?
  2. Can you decide not to understand someone who is speaking?

Basically, these boil down to: Can you choose not to touch someone’s mind?

Then, assuming that the answer to the above is yes:

  1. Do you have to know someone is listening in order for them to understand you?
  2. Is there a limit to the number of people you can affect? A range?

I also asked this related question about the mechanism of the ability.

What’s the mechanism for magically understood speech from the monk’s Tongue of the Sun and Moon feature?

The rules for the monk ability Tongue of the Sun and Moon state:

Starting at 13th level, you learn to touch the ki of other minds so that you understand all spoken languages. Moreover, any creature that can understand a language can understand what you say.
PHB, pp.79

How does the meaning get transferred? Some possibilities I’ve thought of:

  1. The listener hears the words as the speaker forms them, and the meaning is sort of empathically transferred.
  2. The listener hears the words in a language he understands, Star Trek style, without hearing any of the actual mouth-sounds.
  3. When monk comes in contact with someone who speaks a language A, he rips the understanding of the language out of their mind and can thereafter actually speak A.
    • This is less likely, because it doesn’t say that he gains the new language, as such. However, perhaps he gains only the spoken language, and not the written part.
  4. The monk simply does understand all spoken languages after this level, and the bit about ki is just flavor text.

The first two answers imply that there needs to be another mind present who speaks A. The third implies that the monk at least needs to come across an A-speaker to understand it. The fourth implies that he can just speak and understand A upon leveling up.

I then have a follow up question, which might influence the way we think about the first one. The Magic Mouth spell (PHB pp.257) allows you to leave a message for others to hear, triggered by a circumstance of your choice. I think I’m in safe territory to say that the monk would definitely understand the message (“all spoken languages”). When the monk hears the message, how is he understanding it? The speaker’s mind isn’t there to be touched. Further, even if there’s some magic hoodoo going on there, what if (and please do forgive me for going outside the setting, but I couldn’t resist exploring the theory) he heard a radio, or a phonograph?

Along a similar vein, if (the gods only know why) you had a Monk 13/Wizard or Bard 3, and you cast Magic Mouth, could you specify that anyone hearing it would understand?

Summing up:

  1. How does the monk communicate meaning?
  2. Would the monk be able to understand a recorded message, where the one who left it might not even have a mind anymore?
  3. Can the monk leave a fully understandable message?

I also asked this related question about choosing who gets to understand the monk.

Is there any practical way to magically summon/create a weapon and throw it in one turn?

Heavily inspired by this question, I wanted to expand the scope a bit.

That question was specifically about using Minor Conjuration to conjure a dagger or dart as an action, which I assume is an ability tied to the School of Conjuration wizard (I only have the SRD available at the moment, and it only lists Evocation), and then throwing the conjured weapon as a bonus action. The negative response was entirely because the proposed character didn’t get to attack as a bonus action unless they took the Attack action.

I would like to find an alternate way to accomplish this, since it does seem cool (even if it’s likely to be impractical compared to normal ranged attacks or cantrips). There’s a lot of theoretical ground to cover, but some examples of effects that could be provided by a feat or class feature are:

  • The ability to make a weapon attack as a bonus action without making an Attack as an action. For example, I could imagine a Feat that says “When you use your Action to cast a spell, you may make an attack with a weapon as a bonus action”
  • The ability to conjure or summon a dagger as a bonus action, leaving the action free to make the attack. For example, if a spell with a casting time of 1 action can accomplish the conjuration or summoning effect, then a Sorcerer could Quicken that spell.

I’ve found precisely one way to do this, which I will post as an answer, but it seems like this small effect should be available for a less ridiculous cost.

For clarification, the definition I am using for “practical” here is based on having a low total cost to achieve the effect. For example, using something like a Spell Slot that is limited per day is less practical than something which doesn’t consume any resources like that. Similarly, an effect requiring more levels in a particular class or more feats is less practical because it “costs” levels/feats that could have been applied to something else.

Is it easier to wake a character from ‘mundane’ sleep than from ‘magically induced’ sleep?

In DnD 5e, when a character is affected by the spell Sleep, they are:

‘unconscious until [either] the spell ends, the sleeper takes damage, or someone uses an action to shake or slap the sleeper awake.’ (SRD p.180)

For parallel stipulations, see also the spells Eyebite and Symbol, and the draconic Sleep Breath ability.

And, an unconscious person:

‘can’t move or speak, and is unaware of its surroundings'(SRD p.359)

So in summary, the only ways to wake up a creature afflicted by magical sleep (with the exception of the high level spell ‘Prison’) are:

  1. to end the spell affecting them;
  2. to do damage to them; or
  3. for another character to use their action to physically wake them.

Things like loud noises, or flashing lights, which might normally be considered to wake a person, in real life, are (RAW) ineffective because they are considered to be ‘unaware of their surroundings’.

RAW, does it require the same level of intervention to wake someone from a mundane sleep, as from a magical one?

Obviously, mundane sleepers are not under the affect of a spell, so can’t be woken by the spell ending. But, is anything else different?

  1. Are characters that are mundanely asleep considered to be Unconscious in the same way as characters that are magically asleep (i.e. immune to the impact of light and noise)?

  2. Are there any ways to wake someone from a mundane sleep other than doing damage to them or using an action?

In my own research, I have found that the Wizard and Ranger spell Alarm is able to wake its sleeping caster (SRD p.114). However, this an example of the sleeper waking themselves, rather than being woken by something external. It also has a very niche application to the broader question of ‘how can I wake mundanely sleeping people?’.

In this question I am interested only in waking people prematurely from their sleep (ie. being disturbed during their sleep).

An in-game reason for waking characters would be the sentry trying to alert the PCs to a night-time ambush upon their camp. In the past I have treated sleeping PCs as ‘surprised’ in the first round of combat but woken by the sentry’s shouting, and able to act in the second round. I now wonder if this was not the correct way to manage the situation.

Is there such a thing as a Magically Animated Coin Monster?

In today’s session of the D&D 5e campaign I’m participating in, our party had to fight what was essentially a anthromorphic, magically animated, pile of gold coins with a weakness to fire (it was initially disguised as a mundane pile of gold coins when we entered the room).

Is this a standard monster, and, if so, what is it called? A google search for “magically animated coin monster d&d” turned up no relevant results.

What’s the best option to magically sustain a desert caravan?

I’m working on a game set in a desert, with trade between cities handled by caravans. I know there’s a lot of spells that help provide food or water for a small party, which could be very useful for crossing the desert.

What is the most cost efficient class a caravan could hire to provide food and water for the caravan, and how many people could they support daily?

Assumptions:

  • All classes charge the same rate.
  • All hirings are at most level 5.
  • Spellcasters are expected to help with defense as well – so only half of their spell slots of each level can be used for providing food and water.
  • I’m not concerned about animals in the caravan for this question.
  • Foraging is possible, but difficult and unreliable while crossing the desert with a large number of people. No need to factor it into your answers.

What counts a a magically propelled attack for the 2019 UA Artificer’s Arcane Armament feature?

The (May 2019 Unearthed Arcana) Artificer class gets a feature that works very much like the Extra Attack feature from several existing classes, but with some additional limitations (emphasis added):

Arcane Armament

Starting at 5th level, you can attack twice, rather than once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn, but one of the attacks must be made with a magic weapon, the magic of which you use to propel the attack.

The requirement to attack with a magic weapon is clear enough, but the final clause highlighted in bold is less clear. Presumably most attacks with magic melee/thrown weapons would not qualify as “magically propelled”, but what about magic ranged weapons, like bows and crossbows? Are they propelling their arrows/bolts using magic and therefore eligible for use Arcane Armament? What if the magic weapon doesn’t grant a bonus to the attack/damage rolls, but rather has some other effect (e.g. a mundane bow with Arcane Weapon cast on it)? If these would all be eligible for Arcane Armament, is there any ranged magic weapon that wouldn’t be eligible?

In essence, what determines or not whether a particular magic weapon uses its magic to propel the attack? Is it just any ranged, non-thrown, magic weapon, or something more complex?