In Path of War can Hidden Blades use a Strike or Boost Maneuver with a Counter Maneuver?

In Path of War, can you use a Strike Maneuver with a Counter Maneuver?

For instance, can you initiate the strike Rippling Current (Mithral Current 3; melee att +3d6 dmg; if quick drawn, make target flat-footed) as part of the attack of the counter Mithral Flash (Mithral Current 5; opposed attack; if quick drawn, can attack with +5d6 dmg) ?

Can I pick a power from my multiclass with Reserve Maneuver?

Reserve Maneuver (PHB2, p191):

Benefit: Choose an encounter attack power from your class. The power must be your level or lower and one that you don’t already have. When you regain the use of your powers at the end of any rest, you can gain the use of the chosen power instead of regaining the use of an encounter attack power of the same level or higher.

Does the highlighted "from your class" include the class I multiclassed into?

How can PCs keep up when maneuver DCs increase so quickly?

Lots of maneuvers call for a DC of [some number]+2×[the ship’s tier]. Yet as your character levels up (and your ship’s tier with it), your max ranks in a given skill only increase by 1/level.

Thus, as you gain experience and get to know your ship better and modify it to suit you, it actually becomes harder to get it to do anything not in the base specs.

Coming off of 5e’s bounded accuracy, this is a bit of a shock. Am I reading this right? Am I missing something? I know there are ASIs, but those don’t happen that often — is there an assumption of assistive gear that would make maneuvers easier over time, or at least not harder?

When a Battle Master fighter gets a critical hit and uses a maneuver that adds a superiority die to the damage, is that damage die doubled?

The Battle Master fighter has access to a number of maneuvers that add a superiority die to the damage roll. For instance, the Trip Attack maneuver says (PHB, p. 74):

When you hit a creature with a weapon attack, you can expend one superiority die to attempt to knock the target down. You add the superiority die to the attack’s damage roll, and if the target is Large or smaller, it must make a Strength saving throw. On a failed save, you knock the target prone.

The Critical Hits rule states (PHB, p. 196):

When you score a critical hit, you get to roll extra dice for the attack’s damage against the target. Roll all of the attack’s damage dice twice and add them together. Then add any relevant modifiers as normal. […] If the attack involves other damage dice, such as from the rogue’s Sneak Attack feature, you roll those dice twice as well.

During our game, the fighter PC rolled a critical hit. He then wanted to use a superiority die to use the Trip Attack maneuver to trip the enemy. Based on the above rules, is the damage from the superiority die also doubled?

I’m assuming the answer is yes based on the last statement in the Critical Hits section, but I wanted to confirm.

Battle Master / Polearm Master / Pushing maneuver / Trip / Goading [closed]

This is a comment more than a question:

I built my first fighter in 5e. My approach is to make the player interesting more than it is to max out his capability. Battlemaster has the most options with maneuvers. I took Push, Goad and Trip maneuvers. I took the Polearm Master, Shield Master and Sentinal feats. I took Magic Initiate (Druid) with the Shillelagh. The 1 handed quarterstaff does a d8 (even on a bonus attack). Dueling gives +2 to hit. Here is how it works out: 1) Character enters threat range and provokes opportunity attack 2) Push the character 15 feet away – Sentinel makes his movement zero 3) Fifteen feet is enough to push people all over the place – including into pits or over cliffs 4) On attack, close the distance, trip, and attack with advantage 5) For good measure, push another 15 feet while prone 6) Quarterstaff (and spear) have no disadvantage at 5 feet – unlike reach weapons

Alternatively, if opponent is within 5 feet when your turn begins 1) Hit with Trip attack 2) Hit with Goad attack 3) Hit with Push attack (while prone) and they are 15 feet away 4) When they return – hit them with a reaction – cutting their speed to zero

For good measure, a shield master can push opponent 5 ft as a bonus action – so yet again another way to move opponents, and allow a chance to use your reaction if they approach again.

Can green flame blade, slashing flourish, and sweeping maneuver be combined for a massive sweeping attack?

A character with the classes: Rogue(Arcane Trickster) lvl 3, Bard (College of Swords) lvl 4, Fighter (Battle Master) lvl 3, has:

  1. Green Flame blade.
  2. The Bardic College of Sword’s slashing flourish.
  3. Battle Master’s sweeping maneuver.

Can these be used in the same turn against the same 2 foes?

Character is fighting 2 opponents, Casts Green Flame blade and hits target and therefore the “jumping flame” portion of the spell hits the 2nd target as well, and since the attack hit the player decides to use both the flourish and sweep to deal even more damage to the second target.

Do both damage sources stack?

Can both be used at the same time?

Both the slashing flourish and the sweeping maneuver do not require an action nor bonus action to activate. For the attack, would both the flourish and maneuver apply should the player choose to use both resources?

Is it just down to a DM call?

How does Battle Master Push Attack Maneuver interact with ranged weapons?

I want to create a Fighter who uses a Crossbow as his main weapon.

By RAW, you can use Maneuver with a ranged weapon as long as it’s not said that it needs a melee weapon in its description.

Thematically, I got some explanation on how some Maneuvers functions with ranged weapons. For example, the Trip Attack could be an arrow to the knee which would force the target to fall.

But I have some trouble, thematically, on how you can push someone with a ranged weapon and the Push Attack Maneuver. Is that up to my DM’s discretion?

What is the optimal way to maneuver into and out of the Healing Spirit spell to maximize healing?

The healing spirit spell states:

You call forth a nature spirit to soothe the wounded. The intangible spirit appears in a space that is a 5-foot cube you can see within range. The spirit looks like a transparent beast or fey (your choice).

Until the spell ends, whenever you or a creature you can see moves into the spirit’s space for the first time on a turn or starts its turn there, you can cause the spirit to restore 1d6 hit points to that creature (no action required). The spirit can’t heal constructs or undead.

As a bonus action on your turn, you can move the spirit up to 30 feet to a space you can see.

I’m wondering what the optimal way to maneuver into and out of the spell for maximized healing is. Note that the following questions already exists:

  • How does the spell Healing Spirit work?

Established there are some facts of how this sort of spell works:

  1. Creating the spell on top of a creature does not restore any hit points to them
  2. Moving the spell onto a creature with your bonus action does not restore any hit points to them
  3. You don’t need to end your turn in the healing spirit’s space, you only have to move through it.

For the purposes of this question I am not interested in class features that modify healing like the Life Domain Cleric’s Discipline of Life and Supreme Healing features or the Warlock’s Gift of the Ever-Living Ones Eldritch Invocation. I am only interested in ways to maneuver into and out of the space most effectively.

Another way to think of this is the following: What is the maximum number of times a creature can be healed by this spell per round?


Rules/Constraints:

  1. From the section on “Moving Around Other Creatures”:

    You can move through a nonhostile creature’s space. […] Remember that another creature’s space is difficult terrain for you.

    Whether a creature is a friend or an enemy, you can’t willingly end your move in its space.

  2. This is a party of four, and they do not have any mounts available unless they summon them.

  3. You only “move into the spirit’s space” when you use your own movement to enter said space; being grappled and dragged into the space, being hurled into it by thunderwave, and being carried into it on a mount do not count.

What happens when the UA Bait and Switch maneuver is used on a grappled ally when both the user and ally are still within the grappler’s range?

This question is based on this one: What happens when the UA Bait and Switch maneuver is used on a grappled ally when the maneuver-user is out of the grappling monster's reach?


The Unearthed Arcana Class Feature Variants includes the Bait and Switch fighter maneuver (page 5), which states:

When you’re within 5 feet of an ally on your turn, you can expend one superiority die and switch places with that ally, provided you spend at least 5 feet of movement. This movement doesn’t provoke opportunity attacks […]

What happens when the Bait and Switch maneuver is used on a grappled ally when both the maneuver-user and the ally are still within grapple range of the grappling creature?

I see two possible outcomes:

  1. The maneuver-user takes the ally’s place in being grappled, and can then attempt to break out of that grapple.

  2. The ally is still grappled, but has now been possibly moved to a more beneficial position.

I am not sure which of these would happen, as normally in a grapple the grappled creature cannot ever move. (And I might be confusing myself by trying to think of how this would even work IRL.)

What happens when the new UA Bait and Switch Maneuver is used on a grappled ally?

The recent Unearthed Arcana Class Feature Variants includes the Bait and Switch Fighter Maneuver (page 5) which states:

When you’re within 5 feet of an ally on your turn, you can expend one superiority die and switch places with that ally, provided you spend at least 5 feet of movement. This movement doesn’t provoke opportunity attacks […]

The grappled condition states:

The condition also ends if an effect removes the grappled creature from the reach of the grappler or grappling effect, such as when a creature is hurled away by the thunderwave spell.

Assume a monster with a 5-foot reach is grappling an ally and the Fighter is adjacent to the ally 10-feet away. What happens if the Fighter tries to use Bait and Switch on the grappled ally?

For a picture format, F is the fighter, A the ally, and M the monster

FAM