Does Quickness work in the midst of battle without Skill Mastery?

The description of Quickness indicates that it only works with Routine actions.

You can perform routine tasks—anything that can be done as a routine check (see Routine Checks in The Basics)—fast, perhaps very fast. Subtract your effect rank from the normal time rank to perform a task to determine how long it takes you. So, for example, if you have Quickness 7, a routine task normally taking an hour (time rank 9) takes you (9 – 7 = time rank 2) 30 seconds. Non-routine checks are not affected by Quickness, nor is movement speed.

Without Skill Mastery, which allows routine checks in non-routine situations for a skill, does that mean that, under pressure, the person with Quickness can’t employ their skills? That when The Flash is being shot at, his ability to quickly perform normally routine tasks goes away? That seems counter to the source material, and also counter to the Time Stop ability in the Time Powers Power Profile, which includes Quickness with a Quirk that only routine actions can be performed.

Time Stop: Quickness (Subtle 2), Speed (Subtle 2), Quirk: Limited to routine actions while active (–4 points) • 2 points per rank

The 2E version instead used a version of routine tasks based on the "Take 20" mechanic which applied to skills where there was no penalty for failure and included on the chart which skills that could be used for.

You can perform routine tasks quickly. For purposes of this power a “routine task” is one where you can take 20 on the check. At rank 1 you perform such tasks at twice normal speed (x2). Each additional rank moves your speed one step up the Time and Value Progression Table (x5, x10, x25, and so forth). At rank 20, you perform routine tasks at 5 million times normal speed! Tasks where you cannot take 20 (including combat actions) are unaffected by Quickness, nor is movement speed

Can the spell Illusory Script be of use as a heuristic for spell learning or mastery? [closed]


Learning Magic: The Problem

In Advanced Dungeons & Dragons (1st & 2nd editions) the rules required that all ‘magic-users’ have Read Magic as a basic requirement to do any wizarding (so-called in later editions) whatsoever.

Down through the editions this tradition was lost. Moreover, there is not a single spell that: allows a wizard to teach a student, assist fellow wizard in understanding their personal works, nor some magical process whereby a magic-scroll writer might assist a friendly caster to make use of enchanted-scribed works.

With this interpretation of Illusory Script it may be possible to solve these three lore-issues at once. Yet how much is sacrificed in the RAW & RAI for RAF & ‘rules of cools‘. The question:

Can Illusory Script be a heuristic / learning device for the training of one’s first cantrips, the learning of a friendly wizard’s spells and/or assistance on casting a friendly caster’s scroll?

Here we provide both logic for why it might work (and why it would be great role-playing if it did).


The RAW Spell: Conveys A Specific Meaning That A Caster Intends.

The spell Illusory Script gives any written work two levels or layers of use &/or meaning. The foundation-layer gains this power:

To you and any creatures you designate when you cast the spell, the writing appears normal, written in your hand, and conveys whatever meaning you intended when you wrote the text. To all others, the writing appears as if it were written in an unknown or magical script that is unintelligible. Alternatively, you can cause the writing to appear to be an entirely different Message, written in a different hand and language, though the language must be one you know.(emphasis added by writer)

What This Means: Uses For Meanings Conveyed

  • Spell books are for a purpose or meaning (i.e. ‘how to memorize/prepare spells’). After a long rest a wizard reviews their own written works, then they gain choices to apply on these freshly regained spells (or ‘slots’). Understanding and scribing new spells from another book takes considerable time & effort.

If one could gain this implied intended meaning directly from an original caster, they could learn the spell as if the book were their own. Thus, reading an alien spell book with Illusory Script (and permission-access) renders spells ready for use. Once a spell is in mind (‘memorized’ or ‘prepared’), actual scribing in one’s own book is faster, easier and cheaper (less than half the time & price).

  • Casting spells from a magic-scroll of a higher spell-slot has serious risk involved. Given the conveyed meaning listed above may give either: automatic success, advantage – or even some kind of proficiency bonus.

The underlying mechanics

A 3rd level+ person (from any class) must train up a ‘zero-level’ non-magical peasant-peon to first level ‘apprentice’ stage, i.e. able to use at least one cantrip. Clerics and Druids are inspired via various celestial, fae &/or fiendish sources, miraculously empowered for appropriate supplicants. Sorcerers are just born that way. For bards, wizards and some warlocks such easy pathways are not available. Using a cantrip-scroll written by a 3rd lvl+ bard, wizard or warlock combined with Illusory Script allows the writer-‘master’ to pass on deep magical understandings with intentional meanings – directly into the student. This heuristic allows any apprentice, no matter how thick, to gain their first cantrip… breaking otherwise impossible barriers.

The Illusion As A Heuristic: Koans & Riddles

  • Breaking Down Mental Barriers: An illusory message as a riddle that grants passage to the ‘real’ message is brilliant lore-wise. Imagine: upon a bard’s mastery of a ballad’s score the music sheets reveal Vicious Mockery; upon signing soul-binding documents with blood, the scale lifts, or; the researching apprentice would see through the illusion to find yet another illusion. This re-skinning of Illusory Script transforms this minimally used spell to a pivotal plot point.

  • Time pressure for ambitious students: After ten days this spell’s magic fades, leaving the otherwise incomprehensible scribed-spell or magic-scroll behind. Sure the knowledge &/or magic remains but the bridge of understanding is gone. Imagine the frantic apprentice bard, warlock &/or wizard on day nine just feeling the pressure of their search or study.

Exemplary Precedent: Mind-Altering Illusions

Though the illusion-spells Phantasmal Force, Dream and Weird all modify minds, only Illusory Script specifically conveys a caster’s meaning.

Author’s note: I am looking for a general understanding here. Please don’t answer with ‘I don’t understand the question’ or ‘you answered this yourself!’ or ‘moved to discussion’ or ‘let the DM decide!’ –

Bottom Line: I just want to know if (and why) this would work RAW / RAI.

Wizard’s Spell Mastery & Arcane Ward Synergy?

At 18th Level, Wizards of all Schools gain the “Spell Mastery” feature:

At 18th level, you have achieved such mastery over certain Spells that you can cast them at will. Choose a 1st-level wizard spell and a 2nd-level wizard spell that are in your Spellbook. You can cast those Spells at their lowest level without expending a spell slot when you have them prepared.

Meanwhile, at 2nd level, an Abjuration Wizard gains the “Arcane Ward” feature:

When you cast an abjuration spell of 1st level or higher, you can simultaneously use a strand of the spell’s magic to create a magical ward on yourself that lasts until you finish a long rest. The ward has hit points equal to twice your w izard level + your Intelligence modifier. Whenever you take damage, the ward takes the damage instead. If this damage reduces the ward to 0 hit points, you take any remaining damage. While the ward has 0 hit points, it can’t absorb damage, but its magic remains. Whenever you cast an abjuration spell of 1st level or higher, the ward regains a number of hit points equal to twice the level of the spell.

Provided a player character picked the Wizard as his class and the Abjuration School of Magic: If he was to select Shield (1st-level abjuration) as the 1st-level spell for his Spell Mastery feature, could that Wizard in theory recharge the ward with 2HP/Turn for free, all day? Also, would this imply that, provided he had the time between fights (At most 2.3 minutes, 23 rounds with Lv20 and +5 INT) he could heal the ward up to full by casting shield at the start of every round out of combat?

Spear mastery or Polearm master feat for a Barbarian?

First off so no one branches too far out, the character I am making will be a human variant totem barbarian (bear all the way through). Also I will not take any more feats after the one I pick to start with so no polearm/ sentinel comboing. This are character choices that are set in stone for me.

I will either do spear mastery and switch between dual wielding spears and throwing one and then using two hands with the other spear, or I’ll go polearm master and flavor a glaive as a great spear but it will stay a glaive in all but name so no throwing range, no Versatile.

Which one, given these restrictions, is the better choice for damage and battle field control?

Strip Club Mastery

Why are you selling this site?
IMPORTANT! ASSET FOR SALE; HTTP://WWW.STRIP-CLUB-MASTERY.COM/HOME

FRESH HIGH RESOLUTION IMAGES AND COPY TWEAKS BEING CODED.

I am selling the complete digital asset, together with licence to sell the product (50% JV);

Pre-landing page with 30 sec VSL
Sales Page (sales letter alone value $ 10K)
Email capture exit pop-up with lead magnet
10 part email sequence
Affiliate marketing tools…

Strip Club Mastery

Can you reload two crossbows with Aegis Greater Extra Arms or having multiple arms and Crossbow Mastery feat in the same round?

Can you reload two crossbows with Aegis Greater Extra Arms or having multiple arms and Crossbow Mastery feat in the same round?

Extra Arms, Greater: The extra arms on the aegis’s astral suit function at nearly the same capacity as his normal arms. Each arm can now wield or use a light or one-handed weapon, shield, or any other item that he could normally use. Alternatively, the aegis can use one or both arms when wielding a two-handed weapon, possibly allowing him to wield a pair of two-handed weapons. The circumstance bonus on Climb checks and CMD against grapple attempts increases to +3 per extra arm that is not holding anything. The aegis must be 8th level and have the Extra Arms and Lesser Extra Arms customizations before selecting this customization.

and

Crossbow Mastery

Does the feat “Splash Weapon Mastery” work with the alchemist discovery “Healing Bomb”?

The feat Splash Weapon Mastery gives alchemists the following effect:

When you hit with a splash weapon, select one additional square adjacent to the splash area; creatures in this area also take splash damage.

When an alchemist with the Healing Bomb discovery hits his target with a healing bomb, would that part of the feat work?

Since a healing bomb is supposedly a splash weapon, and this feat seems to affect the splash range of splash weapons, I would assume the healing bomb could also use this effect.

But the feat specifically notes that the creatures in the area take the splash damage, and the feat doesn’t seem to have any information concerning the subject of healing bombs.

Is there any official statement made on this subject or will this just be up to the GM’s interpretation?

Advance Weapon Training (Weapon Master + Brawler + Item Mastery combo) question

For the people that doesnt know the combo heres the link to Cartmanbeck’s Guide, all credits to him. (https://docs.google.com/document/d/1G1oa8hQif08qqRdEyMnDVVFAoBN_53uhNcJc4wArQxs/edit). The scenario is this: the weapon master archetype gains weapon training at lvl 3, and he has this benefit:

Special: Fighters that have the weapon master archetype can select this feat beginning at 4th level. The benefits of a weapon master’s advanced weapon training options apply only to his selected weapon rather than all weapons in the same fighter weapon group, and he can’t select the weapon specialist advanced weapon training option. A weapon master can select this feat as a bonus feat; if he does so, it doesn’t count for the purpose of the requirement that it can be taken at most once per 5 fighter levels.

in lvl 4 he picks the Advanced Weapon Training as a bonus feat, and at lvl 5 take a dip into brawler and gain Martial Flexibility.

The question is if with Martial Flex. one can take again an advanced weapon training feat ignoring the clause of the 5 lvls, despite the fact that it doesnt gains it from the fighter bonus feat as this implies

[…] A weapon master can select this feat as a bonus feat; if he does so, it doesn’t count for the purpose of the requirement that it can be taken at most once per 5 fighter levels.

A player of mine is using this and im inclined to, if proves illegal, let him play it anyways. But I need to know if it is indeed legal. Thanks in advance!

How does the UA Lore Mastery Wizard’s Alchemical Casting feature interact with the Spell Sniper feat and the Sorcerer’s Distant Spell Metamagic?

This question comes from recent discussion in the question “What is the maximum distance you can cause damage from?”


The Unearthed Arcana Lore Mastery Wizard gets the Alchemical Casting feature which states:

[…] When you cast a spell with a spell slot, you can expend one additional spell slot to augment its effects for this casting […]

An additional 2nd-level spell slot can increase the spell’s range. If the spell’s range is at least 30 feet, it becomes 1 mile […]

I’m wondering how (if at all) this feature works with both the Spell Sniper feat and the Sorcerer’s Distans Spell Metamagic:

When you cast a spell that requires you to make an attack roll, the spell’s range is doubled.

When you cast a spell that has a range of 5 feet or greater, you can spend 1 sorcery point to double the range of the spell.

Do these allow you to make spell have a range of 4 miles, 2 miles, or still only 1 mile total?


Note that I am already aware that ordinarily the Spell Sniper feat and Distant Spell Metamagic work together, this is supported in the question “Does Spell Sniper and Distant Spell quadruple your range on attack spells?”