Does Shades/Shadow Conjuration/Evocation requires material components?

I’m pretty sure the answer is no, but I just wanted to be sure I didn’t miss a rule somewhere, after all it is an illusion.

Let’s say I use Shadow Conjuration, Greater to duplicate Acid Storm that normally requires A flask of acid (10 gp) since Shadow Conjuration states:

You use material from the Plane of Shadow

The Material components are not necessary Am-I right? If there’s such a spell that would require a focus/exp component is it ok to apply the same logic as well?

What official material describes Baldur’s Gate in 5e canon?

Obviously, there’s been an incredible amount of information published about the city of Baldur’s Gate (in the Forgotten Realms setting) across the editions and various media like books, sourcebooks, video games, websites, and so on.

What I’d like to know is the list of official 5e material dealing with Baldur’s Gate.

Or, to paraphrase the question, if we’d like to avoid lists:

I’d like to know how I could and should start a new campaign based in Baldur’s Gate if I wanted to keep things as close to 5e canon as possible.

By “official” I mean everything explicitly reviewed and approved by WotC as part of the official FR canon. (Note, please, that DM’s Guild material does not fit the bill, unless it’s explicitly approved.)

When Contingency is cast, what are the contingent spell’s material requirements?

I thought of this looking at this question, where contingency is used to cast revivify (which consumes 300 gp worth of diamonds). A more common example would be stoneskin, which consumes 100 gp worth of diamond dust.

The spell contingency reads, in part:

Choose a spell of 5th level or lower that you can cast, that has a casting time of 1 action, and that can target you. You cast that spell—called the contingent spell—as part of casting contingency, expending spell slots for both, but the contingent spell doesn’t come into effect. Instead, it takes effect when a certain circumstance occurs…

The contingent spell takes effect immediately after the circumstance is met for the first time, whether or not you want it to, and then contingency ends…

If you cast this spell again, the effect of another contingency spell on you ends. Also, contingency ends on you if its material component is ever not on your person.

Contingency says that you cast the contingent spell. Full stop. As long as you satisfy the listed requirements, the spell gets cast, and the contingency is set. The listed requirements are: it’s a level 5 or lower spell; you can cast it; it has a casting time of 1 action; it can target you.

How is the material requirement for revivify handled? Is the 300 gp worth of diamonds consumed when the contingency spell is cast? What happens if someone swipes your 300 gp worth of diamonds part way into the casting of contingency?

Is the general idea that you have to burn a material component every time you set the contingency, whether it’s triggered or not?

What happens when you banish an elemental creature that was formed/born on the Material Plane?

Background: In one of our campaigns we have quite a few Elementals that are forming in the material plane, as opposed to forming on an elemental plane. The elementals are otherwise identical to the ones appearing in the Monster Manual.

We are coming up to the levels where some of us can choose the 4th-level spell Banishment as a spell. I was wondering if casting Banishment on an elemental formed on the material plane would a) banish it to an elemental plane and not return or b) be only temporarily banished to a demiplane and appear back onto the material plane when the spell ends.

The way I see it is that it would have to do with the interpretation of what is “native to the plane” and “home plane” in this case.

The description of the Banishment spell (PHB, p. 217) says:

You attempt to send one creature that you can see within range to another plane of existence. The target must succeed on a Charisma saving throw or be banished.

If the target is native to the plane of existence you’re on, you banish the target to a harmless demiplane. While there, the target is incapacitated. The target remains there until the spell ends, at which point the target reappears in the space it left or in the nearest unoccupied space if that space is occupied.

If the target is native to a different plane of existence than the one you’re on, the target is banished with a faint popping noise, returning to its home plane. […]

I suspect it would banish these home-grown elemental creatures to a demiplane in the case of our campaign; unless we were on another plane, in which case it would be banished to the material plane as this is its “home plane”.

There is this question which gives an answer of sorts: What determines a creature's native plane for the Banishment spell?, but I would like a more concrete answer if possible to the scenario I present above.

Does using material components in spells make D&D 5e more challenging?

In my campaigns we typically don’t rely on material components, allowing casters to use any spells as long as they have the right spell slots available. My impression is that using components would be more challenging, since players’ spells would be limited by gold, component availability, and carry weight. Is it significantly more challenging or cumbersome to include this feature? How do others incorporate components?

Is material from Adventures of Middle-Earth adaptable for Rolemaster?

I am currently running a Rolemaster campaign set in Middle Earth, TA 1640. I have source material for Rhudaur (where the group is right now), Rivendell, and Angmar.

I have come across this book bundle which features a lot of interesting regions, but the system is not Rolemaster or MERP; it is “Adventures in Middle-Earth”.

Is it going to be easy to use this material for Rolemaster, or are they very different systems? What age is it set in?

Are there any examples in published D&D material of how to destroy a lich’s phylactery?

According to the D&D 5e Monster Manual, regarding destroying a phylactery, it says:

Destroying a lich’s phylactery is no easy task and often requires a special ritual, item, or weapon. Every phylactery is unique, and discovering the key to its destruction is a quest in and of itself.

— p. 203, Death and Restoration

However, no further information is given on how this is typically done, or what is involved specifically.

I get that this is meant as a plot hook for the DM, and that the DM is meant to fill in the blanks as befits their story/campaign, and that the intention here is that different lich’s phylacteries must be destroyed in different ways, rather than a one-size-fits-all method for destroying any phylactery.

However, it would be easier for me to come up with something if I had some examples to work with from existing adventures or additional lore on liches not included in the D&D 5e Monster Manual. Is there anything published in any edition of D&D that describes how to destroy a (specific) lich’s phylactery?