I noticed how D&D 5e’s Hexblade Warlock subclass feature Armor of Hexes imposes a chance to miss regardless of the attacker’s roll. That chance is based on a d6: if it’s a 4 or higher it misses, and anything else it hits if the attack should have hit. To my understanding, this is simply a 50/50 roll on the d6 (success on 4, 5, 6, failure on 1, 2 and 3).
Out of curiousity, does it matter if the dice is a d4, d8, or even d100, as long as it’s an even-sided die and that it’s still 50/50? (On a d4 it would be a success on a 3 and 4, on a d10 it’s 6 and up, and so on.)
The PHB on p. 195 (or the corresponding section of the basic rules) says:
When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you’re holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different light melee weapon that you’re holding in the other hand. You don’t add your ability modifier to the damage of the bonus attack, unless that modifier is negative.
The rules do not make a distinction between “main-hand” and “off-hand” weapons.
My character dual wields a shortsword with her right hand and a dagger with her left hand.
Could my character attack with her left hand dagger first, doing 1d4 + STR/DEX mod damage, then attack with her right hand shortsword, doing 1d6 damage?
Does it matter which weapon I attack with first when two-weapon fighting?
Clara the Fighter finds herself facing a huge undead, the Frost Giant Skeleton. She attacks twice with her scimitar, and again with her light hammer! The undead reels back as it takes bludgeoning damage, which it is vulnerable to!
On her next turn, can Clara make the Attack Action using her light hammer instead of her scimitar without switching hands?
Here’s the breakdown (assuming all attacks hit):
Action: Attack (scimitar, right hand) = 2 x (1d6 + Str) slashing
Bonus: Off-hand attack (light hammer, left hand) = 1d4 bludgeoning, x2 because of vunlerability
Action: Attack (light hammer, left hand) = 2 x (1d4 + Str) bludgeoning, x2 because of vulnerability
Bonus: Off-hand attack (scimitar, right hand) = 1d6 slashing
Is the above allowed?
Let’s say an Inquisitive is in a fog cloud. By my understanding, advantage and disadvantage cancels out if you are fighting someone else in that cloud. But if you were able to make a bonus perception check (and succeed) before attacking, could that negate your disadvantage?
As far as I can tell, there are no direct rule applications but I just wondered if someone had any thoughts on it. I guess in my head, using your action to search for someone when you can’t see due to environmental conditions them isn’t that useful for attacking purposes. But if you were to use a bonus action (in effect searching and attacking near simultaneously) would that change anything?
Same question for attacking from outside said hazard. I search, find, and shoot arrow – negate disadvantage?
I’m 6 feet 3 and I wanted to know if being tall is a disadvantage when red teaming. Does it make it easier to get spotted?
When by definition All Lives Matter includes black lives. It also includes The 80% of people killed by police who are not black. Why is it a problem to acknowledge the 80% of non black lives lost as well as black lives?
Other races don’t matter?
NYC is cutting Police [budget] by ONE BILLION DOLLARS, and yet the [Mayor] is going to paint a big, expensive yellow Black Lives Matter sign on Fifth Avenue, denigrating this luxury avenue,” the President objected. “Maybe our GREAT Police, who have been neutralized and scorned by a mayor who hates [and] disrespects them, won’t let this symbol of hate be affixed to New York’s greatest street,” he continued. “Spend this money fighting crime instead!” That is one thing Black Lives Matter and de Blasio have in common – their hatred of the police.
‘It was only a matter of time before the DC protests turned anti-Semitic’ Black Lives Matter protesters marching through Washington, D.C., on Wednesday were captured on video chanting, “Israel we know you, you murder children too.” wake up America–democrats want to burn your country down.,
Or are they just pretending to think that in order to manufacture a fake grievance?