Change Shape: what happens if you try to meld an item containing a creature?

So fun question that came up in another one of my games.

A player (me) is currently an adult gold dragon via True Polymorph; duration is currently "until dispelled".

The Change Shape ability says that items being worn/carried can be chosen to meld into the new form. Now if I am carrying a coffin with a living creature in it, what happens to the creature if I try and meld the coffin into me?

The creature in question is alive but is in no way concious or able to object in anyway.

A ruling in the case of a normal coffin and another with a magically closed coffin would be greatly appreciated.

What happens to the caster of the Meld into Stone spell when the spell ends naturally?

The 3rd-level spell Meld into Stone has a duration of 8 hours.

But what happens at the end of the 8 hours if the target does not (or can not) leave willingly?

Here are some relevant details:

  • The spell is listed of having a Range of “Touch” but is not clear if you touch a subject on whom to cast the spell or the caster touches the stone to enter. Since the description always uses the pronoun of “you”, not “The target”, I will assume it is the caster.
  • The spell doesn’t require concentration. So in theory it is designed for a caster to use it for a long rest inside of a pillar for safety.

Per the spell description:

You can use your movement to leave the stone where you entered it, which ends the spell. You otherwise can’t move.

[…] a change in its shape (to the extent that you no longer fit within it) expels you […] The stone’s complete destruction (or transmutation into a different substance) expels you…

As stated, a character could take a long rest and over sleep. Or a character is suffering from a previous entanglement and is rendered unconscious (not dead, not 0 hp, just unconscious), restrained ,or paralyzed.

There doesn’t seem to be an ejection when the spell ends clause, nor a “you become part of the stone” statement.

If you cast meld into stone and are in the stone at the end of the spell duration, do you just stay trapped forever?

Can the Meld Into Stone spell be cast on someone else?

I’ve been puzzled by the usefulness of the spell Meld Into Stone, to a point where I’ve wondered if it can be cast on someone else other than the caster. The description for the spell seems to conflict with its range. The description states:

You step into a stone object or surface large enough to fully contain your body, melding yourself and all the equipment you carry with the stone for the duration. Using your movement, you step into the stone at a point you can touch. Nothing of your presence remains visible or otherwise detectable by nonmagical senses. (my emphasis)

So on one hand, given all the references to “you” and “your“, it seems that the spell is only for the caster. But on the other hand, spells that only affect the caster typically have a range of “Self” whereas Meld into Stone has a range of “Touch“. It could be argued that the touch refers to the stone being touched, but could it also mean a target we touch? Can Meld into Stone be cast on someone else other than the caster?

Can Moonbeam Negate Meld into Stone?

I was playing a druid in a free-for-all with other players. In a moment of near death and desperation, I cast meld into stone to escape from a paladin to try and heal a bit. Because it was a Battle Royale, the DM had earlier decided that I could only stay in the wall for 1d6 rounds. I rolled a 4, so I could be in there up to 4 rounds.

However, the paladin cast moonbeam on the area I entered from. He argued that as a druid I classified as a shapeshifter and would have a harder time with the spell save. I said that since I was in total cover, I would be unaffected. In the end it was two against one in reasoning, and they decided that I was considered a shapeshifter. So I rolled the save, I failed it, and was expelled from the wall. The DM said I didn’t have to take the 6d6 damage from the wall but I took radiant damage from moonbeam.

Maybe I’m just salty, but the way I have always understood these spells says that should have never worked. Can someone help me to make sure I am corrected if I misunderstand?

Do other powers that mention “ground” have the same restrictions as Earth Meld (Protean)?

I see several powers in V20 Dark Ages that mention “ground” or “soil” in their description (though not always in the System portion of the description).

Protean 4 – Earth Meld (or Inferred in the Earth) requires a Kindred to touch the ground to activate the power (specifically not a stone or wood floor).

I’m thinking of powers like Koldunic Sorcery 2 – Rouse the Molten Rock which causes lava to “boil up through the ground”.