Which metamagic options increase the potency of a spell?

The "game features with the same name" rule from the DMG errata says:

Different game features can affect a target at the same time. But when two or more game features have the same name, only the effects of one of them—the most potent one—apply while the durations of the effects overlap. For example, if a target is ignited by a fire elemental’s Fire Form trait, the ongoing fire damage doesn’t increase if the burning target is subjected to that trait again. Game features include spells, class features, feats, racial traits, monster abilities, and magic items. See the related rule in the “Combining Magical Effects” section of chapter 10 in the Player’s Handbook.

The use of "for example", indicates that damage is one game feature effect – but there are others that are left unspecified. Similarly, in the corresponding PHB entry, the use of "such as" indicates that bonuses to hit and to saves are also game effects, but others are possible.

Unfortunately, we are not given much guidance in terms of what constitutes a more potent effect, other than by referencing the Fire Form trait (and the Bless spell in the PHB) it is clear that ‘points’ themselves (actual resultant points of damage or bonuses to saves or to hit) are not a measure of potency, but their base dice are.

When considering two overlapping spells of the same name, one that has been altered by a sorcerer’s Metamagic feature and one that has not, which Metamagic features result in a spell of greater potency?

I am posting my current thoughts on this as an answer below, but am interested in seeing contrasting arguments and reasoning. Also, a better answer than mine would include official Metamagic options available beyond the PHB.

Can metamagic feats be applied to Apocalypse from the Sky?

Apocalypse from the Sky is a 9th level spell from the Book of Vile Darkness. Epic level rules allow for spell slots higher than 9th level, so assuming one had access to those, could such feats be applied? This would make an already powerful spell even more dangerous (example: widen spell). But I can’t see a rule that would forbid this.

14th level Artificer (Magic Item Savant) + Metamagic Adept items to regain sorcery points

Considering a 14th level artificer with the Metamagic Adept feat in D&D 5e:

  • I’m assuming that the feat does not grant the ability to restore sorcery points by expending spell slots (since it doesn’t grant the Flexible Casting feature)
  • It seems to me that an artificer could use the Bloodwell Vial to regain the sorcery points when they roll a Hit Dice, but they would only regain 2 (since that’s their maximum amount)
  • Are there other items/ways to regain expended points?

Thanks!

Does the Seeking Spell Metamagic work on a weapon attack caused by a spell?

The Seeking Spell Metamagic from Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything reads:

Seeking Spell
If you make an attack roll for a spell and miss, you can spend 2 sorcery points to reroll the d20, and you must use the new roll.

My question is, what exactly counts as "an attack roll for a spell"? Obviously something like Inflict Wounds does, but does the weapon attack roll generated by a spell like Booming Blade count? What about a weapon attack roll for a weapon buffed by Magic Weapon?

D&D5e Warlock Spell slot level with the feat Metamagic Adept from Tasha’s Cauldren of Everything

I have a warlock tiefling for which I am considering to choose the feat Metamagic Adept from Tasha’s Cauldren of Everything. This will get me 2 sorcery points to spend.

  1. Looking at the sorcery point system I believe I could spend these 2 sorcery points to regain one 1st-level spell slot, since a warlock only has a few this. I imagine this would be helpful. However this is not stated in the feat specifically, only to use two Metamagic options. Is there a source that mentions something about the feat that one could exchange the 2 sorcery points into spell slots as well? Or would someone rule it as possible?

  2. If I understand correctly, as a warlock I could only cast spells at a certain level. The reason I am asking is related to the question above. If I am returning 2 sorcery points and get a 1st-level spell back. That would be great at lower levels I think. Since a warlock as of 3rd level could only cast spells from level 2, a warlock starting from level 5 casting level 3 spells, etc. Meaning I (most likely) wouldn’t prepare a 1st level spell at higher levels. Could I exchange 2 sorcery points for a 1st level spell, but then cast it at a higher level spell since I am a warlock, or is that the reason why the answer to question 1 would be no?

Below the information on sorcery points (flexible casting) and the feat metamagic adept.

Feat Metamagic Adept:

You’ve learned how to exert your will on your spells to alter how they function. You gain the following benefits:

  • You learn two Metamagic options of your choice from the sorcerer class. You can use only one Metamagic option on a spell when you cast it, unless the option says otherwise. Whenever you gain a level, you can replace one of your Metamagic options with another one from the sorcerer class.
  • You gain 2 sorcery points to spend on Metamagic (these points are added to any sorcery points you have from another source but can be used only on Metamagic). You regain all spent sorcery points when you finish a long rest.

Flexible Casting:

You can use your sorcery points to gain additional Spell Slots, or sacrifice Spell Slots to gain additional sorcery points. Creating Spell Slots. You can transform unexpended sorcery points into one spell slot as a Bonus Action on Your Turn. The created Spell Slots Vanish at the end of a Long Rest. The Creating Spell Slots table shows the cost of Creating a Spell slot of a given level. You can create Spell Slots no higher in level than 5th. Any spell slot you create with this feature vanishes when you finish a Long Rest.

Can a Sorcerer multiclass use Metamagic on a Ritual Casting?

I have a character who multiclassed from a Sorcerer into a Druid. She has the Subtle Spell metamagic, and has prepared the Purify Food and Drink spell via her druid spellcasting feature – this spell has the ritual tag. She is a guest at a feast, but some nefarious individuals are also present there. For a number of reasons* she wants to cast purify food and drink as a ritual, and spend 1 sorcery point to use subtle spell on this casting – can she do this?

To be more general, Can sorcerer-multiclass characters use Metamagic options on ritual castings from other spellcasting classes? I see nothing that would prohibit this**, but I want to make sure.

Relevant excerpts:

Subtle Spell: When you cast a spell, you can spend 1 sorcery point to cast it without any somatic or verbal components.

Druid Ritual Casting: You can cast a druid spell as a ritual if that spell has the ritual tag and you have the spell prepared.

* Wanting to avoid being poisoned, save her spell slots for a possible fight, and simultaneously not offend the hosts by insinuating that they would allow anyone being poisoned at their feast by noticeably checking.

** Apart from the awkward 10 minute pause before eating, but that can be done before the meal if the exact time of serving is known or controlled.

How does the Transmuted Spell metamagic work with Flames of Phlegethos?

In Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything there’s a new meta magic option that reads

Transmuted Spell
When you cast a spell that deals a type of damage from the following list, you can spend 1 sorcery point to change that damage type to one of the other listed types: acid, cold, fire, lightning, poison, thunder.

and I’m wondering how this would interact with the secondary part of Flames of Phlegethos

Whenever you cast a spell that deals fire damage, you can cause flames to wreathe you until the end of your next turn. The flames don’t harm you or your possessions, and they shed bright light out to 30 feet and dim light for an additional 30 feet. While the flames are present, any creature within 5 feet of you that hits you with a melee attack takes 1d4 fire damage.

If I cast green flame blade, a spell that deals fire damage, then transmute the type to say acid, would the flames still trigger? If not would that mean that casting Booming Blade and changing its type to fire would trigger the flames?

For clarity, the part I’m unsure on is that they both say "when(ever) you cast a spell…", which doesn’t really offer any clarity on which would actually take effect first.

Why metamagic feats for spell-like abilities that Warlocks use are so much stronger than regular metamagic feats at early levels?

Warlock is able to stack maximize and empower spell like abilities as early as level 6 without increasing effective caster level, which is not true for maximize/empower spell feat (for Sorcerers and Wizards)

Warlock is able to maximize and empower their magic items with that boost their eldritch blast such as gloves of eldritch admixture, which adds 4d6 to their total damage, but it doesn’t hold true for regular metamagic feats.

How come there is such a power gap between metamagic feats for spell vs spell like abilities?

How does metamagic adept interact with flexible casting and the sorcery points cap?


You gain 2 sorcery points to spend on Metamagic (these points are added to any sorcery points you have from another source but can be used only on Metamagic). You regain all spent sorcery points when you finish a long rest.

Assume a level 3 variant human sorcerer has 3 sorcery points from their class and 2 from metamagic adept.

They spend 2 sorcery points from their class to make a 1rst level slot with flexible casting. Now they have 1 from their class and 2 from metamagic adept.

Are they able to convert a spell slot to sorcery points? Or can they not go over 3 sorcery points because they are level 3? In effect forcing them to spend the points from the feat before they can make more.

How does metamagic adept interact with flexible casting and the sorcery points cap?

lesser metamagic rods on metamagiced spells

There was information somewhere that a lesser metamagic rod could be used on up to 3rd level spells that are under regular metamagic effects from the caster. Can anyone show me where this information is? I cant remember if it was a question, answer, form post. I just remember having read it. Came up in todays game and wanted to provide the information to the group.

So for example, a wizard could use a lesser metamagic rod of empower on a maximized fireball.