Does Mind whip prevent bonus actions if you take away an action?

The text for mind whip states

You psychically lash out at one creature you can see within range. The target must make an Intelligence saving throw. On a failed save, the target takes 3d6 psychic damage, and it can’t take a reaction until the end of its next turn. Moreover, on its next turn, it must choose whether it gets a move, an action, or a bonus action; it gets only one of the three. On a successful save, the target takes half as much damage and suffers none of the spell’s other effects

Meanwhile, the rules state

[…] anything that deprives you of your ability to take actions also prevents you from taking a bonus action.

If the target chooses a bonus action, it technically shouldn’t be able to do so, as it was deprived of its action. Or is this a case of specific beats general?

Can an Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul Sorcerer replace two spells at level up?

All sorcerers are allowed to replace one spell they known when they level up:

Additionally, when you gain a level in this class, you can choose one of the Sorcerer Spells you know and replace it with another spell from the Sorcerer spell list, which also must be of a level for which you have Spell Slots.

Moreover, the Clockwork Magic feature let the Clockwork Soul Sorcerer replace one of their spell known at level up:

Whenever you gain a sorcerer level, you can replace one spell you gained from this feature with another spell of the same level. The new spell must be an abjuration or a transmutation spell from the sorcerer, warlock, or wizard spell list.

Same for the Psionic Spells feature of the Aberrant Mind Sorcerer:

Whenever you gain a sorcerer level, you can replace one spell you gained from this feature with another spell of the same level. The new spell must be a divination or an enchantment spell from the sorcerer, warlock, or wizard spell list.

My question: can the Clockwork Soul Sorcerer and the Aberrant Mind Sorcerer swap two of their spells at level up, as long as one is from their "normal" list and one is from their origin?

Or, do these Sorcerers have to pick to either replace a single one of their Sorcerer spells using the general rule, or replace a single of their origin list using the special Clockwork Magic / Psionic Spells rules?

Bard with a mind focus multiclass question 5e

I will be making a level 20 character for a D&D 5e one shot that will have alot of roleplay and combat. I want to be a bard plus something else. Either a lore or whisper bard and then either an Aberrant Mind Sorcerer or a Great Old One Warlock. I want to have at least 17 lvls of bard so at a key moment I can use true polymorph and turn into an aboleth. With all that in Mind, pun intended, what is the best combo for dealing damage or Survivability in a fight of 17 lvls of bard (lore or whisper) and 3 lvls of Aberrant Mind Sorcerer or a Great Old One Warlock?

Thank you in Advance.

Item of Arrow Mind

I am looking to price out an item for one of my players. Basically, they would like an item that grants them continuous use Arrow Mind from the Spell Compendium. It is a 1st level sorcerer/wizard spell with a duration of 1 min/level. So, by standard item creation rules, it would be a 4,000gp item. It would grant them the ability to make attacks of opportunities with a bow and never provoke attacks of opportunity when firing within melee range. 4,000gp seems a bit low, as it provides a ton of versatility in combat. But, I am not sure of a good price point.

Does anyone have any suggestions for how I might evaluate what this is worth? I figure, it is granting a second level ability for a weak class (Order of the Bow Initiate) plus granting the potential for an extra attack per round (by granting attacks of opportunity with a bow). I am thinking the class ability alone is probably worth around 3-4,000gp. Add in the possible extra attack that occurs on average once a combat and you have something similar to a very limited haste effect. Maybe 10,000gp would be more appropriate for the item? Would it make sense for it to take the eyes slot given the fluff for the Arrow Mind spell affecting your vision?

Does a Ring of Mind Shielding affect the dream spell? [duplicate]

The party warlock recently acquired a ring of mind shielding in Tales from the Yawning Portal

The party patron is a spellcaster who is in a city distant from them. She is about to contact them via the spell Dream for an update on their progress in resolving the mission she has set them upon, and does not know about the ring. She wants a much longer conversation than sending would allow, but has not used dream before to contact them and they do not know that she is planning to do so.

Dream is a 5th level illusion spell, and will allow her to contact the party as follows:

If the target is asleep, the messenger appears in the target’s dreams and can converse with the target as long as it remains asleep, through the duration of the spell.

Note that the contact is automatic and there is no saving throw, so long as she does not use the spell to attack the target with a nightmare.

The ring says that

Creatures can telepathically communicate with you only if you allow it.

Will the ring protect against the automatic contact from the spell?

If the warlock can use the ring to decide whether or not to ‘receive the call’ while he sleeps, will he know who the sender is, or who the sender is purporting to be, before he makes this decision?

For me, the answer hinges on how I should understand "telepathically" in this description, as the natural English meaning of ‘communicating feeling at a distance’ which could include the Dream spell, or as a specific term that applies only to abilities specifically using the word telepathy, such as various feats, spells, and creature languages. Thus, an answer able to clarify this would be particularly helpful to me. However, any answer that resolves the question is welcome.

Related: Is the Telepathy rule in the Monster Manual only applicable to monster telepathy abilities?

Can an Order of Scribes wizard cast ‘touch’ spells through Manifest Mind?

If I wanted to cast bestow curse via the spectral mind from the Order of Scribes’ Manifest Mind ability on an enemy adjacent to it, would I be able to?

Manifest Mind lets you cast spells ‘as if you were in the spectral mind’s space’, but I’m not quite sure how that interacts with touch spells, given the mind itself is "intangible" (or if that even matters, since technically the spell isn’t saying the mind is the one casting it, and my wizard 50 feet away definitely can’t touch that creature).

(Note that the language of casting through Manifest Mind is not the same as the language used for find familiar, which explicitly specifies touch spells.)

Can Aberrant Mind Sorcerers upcast Psionic Spells using Sorcery points?

Aberrant Mind Sorcerers get Psionic Sorcery at L6:

When you cast any spell of 1st level or higher from your Psionic Spells feature, you can cast it by expending a spell slot as normal or by spending a number of sorcery points equal to the spell’s level. If you cast the spell using sorcery points, it requires no verbal or somatic components, and it requires no material components, unless they are consumed by the spell.

Can you cast these spells at a higher level, using more sorcery points? I.e., cast Arms of Hadar at L2 using 2 sorcery points?

Spell Mastery + Mind Spike + Expert Divination [closed]

So, I was planning on making a divination wizard build but something dawned on me. Could I technically cast infinite level 1 spells, by choosing Mind spike as a spell mastery and have Expert divination

Spell mastery: (Level 18) Choose a level 1 and Level 2 spell. I can cast this at the lowest level without expending a slot. This allows you to cast a level 1 spell and level 2 spells as many times as you want

This means i can just spam mind spike. But there’s more. If you read expert divination-

Expert divination: When you use a level 2 or above divination spell, you regain a spell slot of a spell lower than that level

With Mind Strike being a Divination spell, it works with Expert Divination. It also does a 3d8 damage (though it does require concentration which sucks)

So technically, couldn’t i just spam mind spike, while continuously regaining first level spells? I dont think i’ll do this in the campaign because if this technically works, it is pretty broken, as i’ll be able to spam a first level spell (like shield for example) or if i multiclass into Cleric, be able to spam Cure wounds forever if I use Mind spike each turn (which is crazy) or other spells using the first level spell slot. Though i do want to know if this is possible, and i haven’t been able to find a question / research based on this

Does Mind Sliver Stack with Bane?

The cantrip Mind Sliver from Tasha’s has a secondary effect applying negative 1D4 to a saving throw.

…subtract 1d4 from the next saving throw it makes before the end of your next turn.

The spell Bane from the Player’s Handbook has a similar effect.

…the target must roll a d4 and subtract the number rolled from the attack roll or saving throw.

Does the effect from Mind Sliver stack with the saving throw effect from Bane making it negative 2D4 to the next saving throw?

Does the Wizard Order of Scribes’ Manifest Mind fly?

According to the updated info in Tasha’s:

As a bonus action while the book is on your person, you can cause the mind to manifest as a Tiny spectral object, hovering in an unoccupied space of your choice within 60 feet of you.

Also,

As a bonus action, you can cause the spectral mind to hover up to 30 feet to an unoccupied space that you or it can see. It can pass through creatures but not objects.

At no point does it say the object can fly, but the only place I can find "hover" in the rules is in regards to Flying:

Fly A monster that has a flying speed can use all or part of its movement to fly. Some monsters have the ability to hover, which makes them hard to knock out of the air. Such a monster stops hovering when it dies.

…but again, the Manifest Mind is not given a fly speed. My thought is that the object hovers just above ground level, and does not have the ability to go above that. It’s also not affected by difficult terrain, etc. Any thoughts from the experts are appreciated.