Imra the wizard is cornered! Surrounded by multiple foes, she casts Thunderwave in an attempt to push her enemies back. One of them succeeds on the saving throw!
Knowing that moving out of their range might trigger an attack of opportunity, can she cast Misty Step in the same turn?
I’m asking this because the rules under Casting a Spell states that
A spell cast with a Bonus Action is especially swift. You must use a Bonus Action on Your Turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven’t already taken a Bonus Action this turn. You can’t cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a Casting Time of 1 action.
Does the order of spells casted matter? The wording makes it seem like you can’t cast a Bonus Action spell and then an Action spell, but you can do it the other way around.
In a game I play, my GM allows a lot of custom homebrew (with approval), including spells. A situation has come up where my sorcerer is trying to make a version of Misty Step pulling a nearby creature to you, instead of teleporting to a nearby space.
My GM doesn’t have much of an opinion on it yet, so I want advice for balancing it.
This is the spell text:
3rd level conjuration
Range: 30 feet
Choose one creature you can see within 30 feet of you. You teleport them to an unoccupied space of their choice within 5 feet of you. An unwilling creature can make a Wisdom save to avoid being teleported.
Is this balanced as a 3rd level spell, or should it be higher level?
Note: I’ve been talking about this in chat here, scroll down for the full discussion.
If I am on the ethereal plane and can the material plane, can I cast mistystep to telaport back?
The question is if placing bag of holding inside another bag of holding opens the gate to the Astral Plane (which was discussed here: Is it possible to stuff a Bag of Holding inside another Bag of Holding?), then – can I make misty step before the gate has opened? For example a character runs toward the monster, puts bag of holding inside bag of holding and makes misty step before being sucked through this gate?
I am an Eladrin elf who would like to be able to misty step into the bag of holding and back out of it. I was wondering if it’s at all possible to do and if the bag would need to be open for me to do so. The rules do not say anything about interdimensional stepping.
If I fall off a cliff – say, 1000 feet – can I wait (readied action?) until I am near enough to the ground (my understanding is you fall 500 ft/round) then misty step safely to the ground? Or, does the momentum from the fall carry over through the teleport and I still splatter across the rocks?
Wizards of the Coast recently released a new set of subclasses via Unearthed Arcana.
Described in this document is the 15th level Fey Wanderer Ranger feature, Misty Presence, which states the following (abridged for brevity):
You can magically remove yourself from one creature’s perception: you gain a bonus action that you can use to force [a creature] to make a Wisdom saving throw […]. On a failed save, the target can’t see or hear you for 24 hours.
If the creature cannot see or hear the Fey Wanderer Ranger (and, indeed, if they are completely “removed from the target’s senses”), then can they target or attack the Ranger at all? This, of course, is assuming that the target has the standard set of senses.
The document omits any mention the Invisible, Blinded, Deafened, and Hidden conditions, so it appears that the target of Misty Presence is afflicted by an entirely separate condition that isn’t covered by their respective rules.
From the feat description:
You learn the misty step spell and can cast it once without expending a spell slot. […] Intelligence is your spellcasting ability for this spell.
As far as I’ve been able to determine, spellcasting ability is only relevant when there’s an attack roll involved, there’s a saving throw, or the ability modifier augments damage. In the case of Misty Step, none of the three apply. There are similar cases with other magic racial feats (“Charisma is your spellcasting ability for all three spells,” where one of the spells is Detect Magic).
So what’s the significance of naming a spellcasting ability?
Can a character escape the Iron Bands of Bilarro (DMG p. 177, listed in the SRD as the Iron Bands of Binding) with the misty step spell? To clarify, I am not asking if the bands prevent teleportation. I am asking whether the bands are teleported with the character as he teleports using misty step.
This question already has an answer here:
- Misty stepping from the Iron Bands of Bilarro? 1 answer
Lets say a creature is attacked by an adventurer with a net.
Can the creature free themselves from the net with misty step?