Can a Kensei monk spend a bonus action to use the Kensei’s Shot feature after they make an attack roll, and still do the extra damage on that attack?

The Way of the Kensei monk’s Path of the Kensei feature grants several benefits, including Kensei’s Shot. The wording of Kensei’s Shot is as follows (Xanathar’s Guide to Everything, p. 34):

You can use a bonus action on your turn to make your ranged attacks with a kensei weapon more deadly. When you do so, any target you hit with a ranged attack using a kensei weapon takes an extra 1d4 damage of the weapon’s type. You retain this benefit until the end of the current turn.

Can you choose to spend the bonus action to use Kensei’s Shot after rolling to hit, and still gain the extra damage on the attack you just made? Or do you have to declare that you’re using Kensei’s Shot before you make the attack roll?

Can a Way of the Astral Self monk grapple with its Arms of the Astral Self?

In the Unearthed Arcana version of the Way of the Astral Self, the monk’s Astral Arms were treated as monk weapons.

Under that wording, the monk probably couldn’t grapple/shove with them because weapon reach and the reach of the character’s hand that could make the grapple/shove are different things.

That is, it’s hard to see how you could grapple with the end of a polearm, for example (through a lenient DM might allow a shove).

However, in the official release, the wording was changed then from monk weapons to unarmed strikes:

  • You can use the spectral arms to make unarmed strikes.

  • When you make an unarmed strike with the arms on your turn, your reach for it is 5 feet greater than normal.

Under this revised wording, it seems like the monk could grapple/shove with its Astral Arms.

But can it?

Pathfinder 2e – Monk Mountain Stance and Trip

The Monk’s Mountain Stance has the following requirement:

You are unarmored and touching the ground.

The trait Stance says as follow:

A stance is a general combat strategy that you enter by using an action with the stance trait, and that you remain in for some time. A stance lasts until you get knocked out, until its requirements (if any) are violated, until the encounter ends, or until you enter a new stance, whichever comes first. After you use an action with the stance trait, you can’t use another one for 1 round. You can enter or be in a stance only in encounter mode.

Because of this, the question I have is: Does the Trip action breaks the "touching the ground" requirement of Mountain Stance?

Can a monk using empty body deal full damage to incorporal creatures?


Empty Body (Su): A monk with this ki power gains the ability to assume an ethereal state for 1 minute as though using the spell etherealness, using his monk level as his caster level. Using this ability is a move action that consumes 3 points from the monk’s ki pool. This ability affects only the monk and cannot be used to make other creatures ethereal.

Can a monk using empty body deal full damage to incorporal creatures like shadows (undead incorporeal) ?

Does having natural weapons prevent a wild-shaped monk from using Martial Arts?

The monk’s Martial Arts feature’s benefits all require a monk to be “unarmed or only wielding monk weapons”. Even if you’re a Way of the Kensei monk, that only lets you add a couple of new simple or martial weapons to your monk weapon list.

The druid’s Wild Shape forms all come wielding natural weapon attacks. Natural attacks are not unarmed attacks, nor are they monk weapons, nor are they simple or martial weapons that can possibly be chosen by a kensei.

Therefore, a beast is never “unarmed”, and thus can never use a druid/monk’s martial arts benefits even if it wanted to choose to use unarmed strikes instead of its natural attacks.

Is this accurate? Or, can a beast choose not to “wield” it’s teeth and claws?

This blanket prohibition on Martial Arts when one has natural weapons seems overly-restrictive; it would mean, for example, that a Minotaur can never be a monk, since they are “never unarmed.”

I am explicitly not answering the (already answered and very obvious) question of whether animals can make unarmed attacks. I am asking whether they can ever choose not to “wield” their own natural weapons, so as to be able to use martial arts in the first place.

Can a Monk use multiple Ki points to get more unarmed strikes from Flurry of Blows in a single turn?

In a recent session of 5e, our monk (4th lvl, way of Drunken Master) was using unarmed strikes, and the DM claimed that she could use any number of available Ki points to increase the amount of unarmed strikes granted by Flurry of Blows by an equal amount(spend 1 point to make 2 strikes, spend 2 points to make 3 strikes, etc.). I argued that since the Furry of Blows text says you can make two unarmed strikes as a bonus action, only one Ki point could be spent on this specific feature per turn. By RAW, how many strikes can be made in a single turn using this particular feature?

Can a wereraven shadow monk cast darkness in raven form?

In my ongoing Curse of Strahd game,

The question has arisen about what spells a wood elf Way of the Shadow Monk would have access to in the various wereraven forms.

In the humanoid (wood elf) form, all spell casting would be available as normal.

In the hybrid form, most spell casting would still be available, as the hybrid has hands (S), voice (V), and Ki (M). She would just need to remember to bring her fleece after all her gear drops to the ground when changing forms in order to cast minor illusion.

In the raven form, however, most spellcasting would be lost, as the bird does not have hands (S). However, one possible spell retained is darkness, which does not have a Somatic component and which instead is just V, M. The Material components are replaced with Ki, as described in the subclass’ abilities. But can the wereraven’s ability to Mimic serve as the Verbal component?

Mimicry. The wereraven can mimic simple sounds it has heard, such as a person whispering, a baby crying, or an animal chittering. A creature that hears the sounds can tell they are imitations with a successful DC 10 Wisdom (Insight) check.

Is this mimicry close enough to actual sounds that it could serve as the verbal component of the spell? Or is it just imitation sound, not actual ‘sounds of power, and insufficient?

Note that the ‘verbal’ component of spells derives its power not from the words themselves but because the words sound like powerful magical sounds

Most spells require the chanting of mystic words. The words themselves aren’t the source of the spell’s power; rather, the particular combination of sounds, with specific pitch and resonance, sets the threads of magic in motion.

This related question asks whether a wild shaped druid can speak in raven form. On the one hand, actual speaking would require far more verbal repertoire than casting a single action spell. On the other hand, perhaps the ‘sounds of power’ in a spell need to actually really spoken rather than just imitation sounds.

This related question concludes that Kenku can cast spells with verbal components, but it is primarily supported by a Crawford tweet that says "Kenku speak" and ravens seem more limited to me. At the level of mechanics, raven mimicry is detected by a DC-limited Insight check, while Kenku mimicry is detected by a contested Insight vs. Deception check, hinting that the Kenku is more personally in control of their ‘speech’ and some are better than others.

Unarmored Defense (Barbarian plus sorcerer plus monk) [duplicate]

If there is a level 3 Draconic Bloodline Sorcerer, with a level in Barbarian for Unarmored Defense, and another level in Monk, for a 5th level character in total, would their total AC be 13 + CON + DEX + WIS? What if this character was also a warforged, with +1 to AC, +2 to Constitution, and +1 to Intelligence, Strength, or Dexterity?

Could a 5th level character do that in the first place? If so, does Unarmored Defense stack in that way?

Does Martial Arts Damage Apply to Ranged Attacks with Monk Weapons?

Inspired by an answer to What is the Attack Roll for Deflect Missile?.

The Monk’s Martial Arts feature states that monk weapons are, “…short swords and any simple melee weapons that don’t have the two-handed or heavy property.” (emphasis mine)

For the purposes of my question, I am assuming a 17th level Monk, so that the Martial Arts damage die is 1d10.

My question is that when making a damage roll with a weapon that can be either melee or ranged, like a dagger, which damage die do I roll on a hit for a ranged attack? I am assuming this uses 1d4 because this isn’t a simple melee weapon anymore, but a simple ranged weapon based on the definitions for melee and ranged weapons as defined on page 146 of the PHB:

“A melee weapon is used to attack a target within 5 feet of you, whereas a ranged weapon is used to attack a target at a distance.” (emphasis from the PHB)