What’s the correct way to apply Thorn Whip pull effect on a mounted target?

The thorn whip cantrip description is:

You create a long, vine-like whip covered in thorns that lashes out at your command toward a creature in range. Make a melee spell attack against the target. If the attack hits, the creature takes 1d6 piercing damage, and if the creature is Large or smaller, you pull the creature up to 10 feet closer to you.

If the cantrip is directed to a target riding a mount and hits, should both mount and rider be pulled?

What happens when you are knocked prone while mounted and make the saving throw?

The rules for mounted combat include a special effect for falling prone (emphasis added):

If an effect moves your mount against its will while you’re on it, you must succeed on a DC 10 Dexterity saving throw or fall off the mount, landing prone in a space within 5 feet of it. If you’re knocked prone while mounted, you must make the same saving throw.

If you are on a mount and you are knocked prone but make the DC 10 Dexterity saving throw, what exactly happens? Are you prone but still mounted? What practical effect does this have, compared to being mounted and not prone?

(Assume the mount is not knocked prone, only you are, for example if you fail the Strength saving throw against a wolf’s bite attack.)

How do the Mounted Combatant and Mobile feats interact with opportunity attacks?

In short, when a Mounted Combatant & Mobile feat user redirects an attack from their mount, does that attack fail?

Obviously, all the conditions that allow a mobile user to avoid opportunity attacks would need to be met.

One of the benefits of the Mounted Combatant feat (PHB, p. 168) is:

You can force an attack targeted at your mount to target you instead.

One of the benefits of the Mobile feat (PHB, p. 168) is:

When you make a melee attack against a creature, you don’t provoke opportunity attacks from that creature for the rest of the turn, whether you hit or not.

Example:
Our rogue horseman name C.C. (who has Mounted Combatant & Mobile Feats) rides up on the belligerent troll and horsewhips it across the face, then rides off. The last 3 times the troll tried to retaliate from CC’s ride-by whipping, it was stopped because of the Mobile feat. Since this is an above-average-Intelligence troll, this time it decides to attack CC’s horse. But oops, when the troll does that, CC says that he will just redirect the attack against the horse to him instead.

Now what happens?

Since CC nobly threw himself into danger to defend his horse, does he take the hit?

Or is CC so dodgy that redirecting the attack allows him to use the Mobile feat benefit to avoid the redirected attack?

Does it matter if CC is controlling the horse, and does that mean that CC provoked the opportunity attack?


Related: Who gets hit by a melee attack when you have Sanctuary and Mounted Combatant?

Does an Iron Defender mounted by an artificer still get its actions, if commanded?

Playing a human artificer battle smith with the spell Enlarge/Reduce, I want to use the Steel Defender as a mount. It is a medium size construct that becomes large size under the effects of the spell.

You may design the Steel Defender as you like, given that:

You determine the creatures appearance and whether it has two legs or four; your choice has no effect on its game statistics. (Eberron – Rising From the Last War, pg.61)

Even though it has “no effect on game statistics,” we can assume we care enough to design it in such a way it may act as a suitable mount.

The PHB rules for a mount in combat state, on pg.198:

…and it has only three action options: Dash, Disengage, and Dodge.

But also says, shortly after:

An independent mount retains its place in the initiative order. Bearing a rider puts no restrictions on the actions the mount can take, and it moves and acts as it wishes. (emphasis mine)

The Steel Defender has an intelligence of 4, meaning it does not automatically (and always) act as an independent mount (it is not sufficiently intelligent). Yet, according to this question and accepted/upvoted answer all mounts may act independently.

Yet in the rules-text for the Steel Defender (pg.61 of Eberron – Rising From the Last War) it says:

It can move and use its reaction on its own, but the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it…

One more relevant rule:

…the Steel Defender shares your initiative count, but it takes its turn directly after yours.

Which is the same as the PHB rules for a mounted creature.

If I use my bonus action on my turn to command it while mounted, may it still use its Force-Empowered Rend or Repair action on its turn?


Related Questions

What are the benefits of having a mount?

How does a Gnome Battle Smith artificer (UA) riding his iron defender control it?

How do I determine if a creature is too intelligent to be a controlled mount?

Does a controlled mount share its rider’s turn?

Can a controlled mount make an Opportunity Attack?


Essentially what I’m going for (Image from Final Fantasy Brave Exvius):

Power Armour

Not that the rules care what it looks like. It could just as easily be a mechanical horse.

Is a player on a motorcycle-like vehicle considered “mounted”? What about a larger vehicle?

Could a player using a Devil’s Ride, the motorcycle-like vehicle from BG:DiA count as “mounted” for the purposes of using a lance or the mounted combatant feat? If so, what about a larger vehicle; would a player be able to hang off the side of a Scavenger with his lance, or poke it from the gunwale of a galleon? Must a player be mounted astride a creature, RAW? A creature a size larger than its rider and with the proper anatomy “can” serve as a mount, but are mounts exclusively creatures? How is “mounted” defined in 5e terminology, as it is not a condition?

Is a player on a motorcycle-like vehicle considered “mounted”? What about a larger vehicle?

Could a player using a Devil’s Ride, the motorcycle-like vehicle from BG:DiA count as “mounted” for the purposes of using a lance or the mounted combatant feat? If so, what about a larger vehicle; would a player be able to hang off the side of a Scavenger with his lance, or poke it from the gunwale of a galleon? Must a player be mounted astride a creature, RAW? A creature a size larger than its rider and with the proper anatomy “can” serve as a mount, but are mounts exclusively creatures? How is “mounted” defined in 5e terminology, as it is not a condition?

Storage HD can’t be mounted at booting

Ubuntu 16.04 desktop

Hi

I have 2 WD HDs solely for storage.

WD HD1-4TB

WD HD2-2TB

About 1 day before both of them could be mounted automatically at booting and their icons appeared on the left vertical menu. I just found that only WD HD2-2TH could be mounted at booting and WD HD1-4TB unable to be mounted for unknown reason.

⟫ sudo fdisk -l

Disk /dev/sdc: 3.7 TiB, 4000787030016 bytes, 7814037168 sectors Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 4096 bytes I/O size (minimum/optimal): 4096 bytes / 4096 bytes Disklabel type: gpt Disk identifier: 75CD82BD-3AF3-44B0-A04D-B4C97B6A381C

Device Start End Sectors Size Type /dev/sdc1 34
1987 1954 977K Linux filesystem /dev/sdc2 1988 7814037118 7814035131 3.7T Linux LVM

Partition 1 does not start on physical sector boundary. (in red color) Partition 2 does not start on physical sector boundary. (in red color)

Please advise how to fix the problem. Thanks in advance.

16.04 not booting. Mounted it on 18.04, data seems fine. Repaired Grub

Been raked over the coals with this one.

16.04 crashed while running. Could not even get grub to come up. It is not a dual boot system. Only 16.04. Just screen flashing. No command line access with no ability to read log files. No ability to go back to run level 3 (systemctl in ubuntu). Nothing.

At first, I reinstalled grub from an 18.04 trial install. After that I Was able to select “ubuntu recovery” on boot but with no effect. Same flashing of the screen with no command line access.

I’m sure that it is not a physical problem with the disk. A few weeks ago this same thing happened on another drive. I cloned the drive with DDrescue to another drive. Data was ok. The problem followed the new drive, implying that the problem was in the operating system. Somehow, not sure how, I was able to boot the new drive.

Now I am “in” the new drive and the same thing happened.

Loaded 18.04 on top of 16.04 and I can mount 16.04 and see programs, data.

Is there a way back from this? I don’t want to have to download 300G on another drive at this point (downloading that much data is expensive).

Thank You Tom

USB stick mounted as read-only CD-ROM

I have a kingston encryptable USB stick, that when plugged into my laptop gets mounted as read-only.

I have followed the advice given here, but it does not work for me.

I have tried the following:

df -Th /dev/sr0                    iso9660    13M   13M     0 100% /media/user/DTVP 

(note that the drive is actually 4GB)

sudo chown user /dev/sr0 sudo chgrp user /dev/sr0 

do not yield any output, same if I apply them to /media/user/DTVP

dosfsck /dev/sr0 fsck.fat 4.1 (2017-01-24) open: Read-only file system 

I also tried

getfacl /media/user getfacl: Removing leading '/' from absolute path names # file: media/user # owner: root # group: root user::rwx user:user:r-x group::--- mask::r-x other::--- 

and then try to correct in

sudo setfacl -m u:user:rwx /media/user 

but still, the stick stays read-only. Curiously, on Nautilus it appears as a CD rom rather than a USB stick, and, I guess for the same reason, on GParted is not listed and cannot be reformatted.

Any pointers?