When I’m mounted, can I use the Bait and Switch maneuver exchanging the mount and my ally’s position?

Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything added one of my favourite maneuvers (Bait and Switch) so in my game as a player I used it while mounted and the DM was like "Nice, like in chess (The king and rook maneuver)". But I was thinking, is possible, rules as written, that me and my mount both change places with my ally?

Bait and Switch: When you’re with in 5 feet of a creature on your turn, you can expend one superiority die and switch places with that creature, provided you spend at least 5ft of movement and the creature is willing and isn’t incapacitated. This movement doesn’t provoke opportunity attacks. (…)

Is it up to the DM? Because it doesn’t specify.

How does the Hunter ranger’s Horde Breaker feature interact with the Mounted Combatant feat’s ability to redirect an attack to the rider?

Roger is a Hunter ranger that has chosen the Horde Breaker option for the Hunter’s Prey class feature (Player’s Handbook, p. 93):

Once on each of your turns when you make a weapon attack, you can make another attack with the same weapon against a different creature that is within 5 feet of the original target and within range of your weapon.

Roger fires an arrow at Michael, a creature with the Mounted Combatant feat who is currently astride a horse. Roger then uses the Horde Breaker feature to fire a second arrow at Michael’s mount. Michael uses the second bullet point of the Mounted Combatant feat (Player’s Handbook, p. 168) to change the target of Roger’s attack:

You can force an attack targeted at your mount to target you instead.

Does Michael get targeted by two attacks? Or is the second attack no longer permitted, because Michael is not a valid target for Roger’s Horde Breaker attack?

Shielded Stride while Mounted


Pathfinder 2E

I’m building a Human Fighter into a sort of Knight character. I was curious about the 4th-level Class Feat Shielded Stride. The feat reads

When your shield is up, your enemies’ blows can’t touch you. When you have your shield raised, you can Stride to move half your Speed without triggering reactions that are triggered by your movement (such as Attacks of Opportunity). You can use Shielded Stride while Flying or Swimming instead of Striding if you have the corresponding movement type.

This feat is a feature and not a feat that requires an action in order to use it. So my question is, if I

  • Mount a horse (1 action)
  • Raise Shield (2nd action),
  • Command Animal (3rd action, my part)
    • Move/Stride (3rd action, horses part) (only moving half of it’s speed as the feat requires)

Would the horse’s movement trigger any reactions, such as Attacks of Opportunity or would it not because I have taken the Shielded Stride feat?

A similar, but opposing question: can a horse’s movement be used within Combat Feats like Sudden Charge? I would hope so, but if my understanding is correct the horse’s movement has the prerequisite of me using Command Animal to make it move, while Sudden Charge’s movement is included within it’s 2 actions.

Does mounted combat require a willing rider as well as mount?

A party is traveling on a path through a woods when they are simultaneously attacked by a group of orcs and a single, overly-clever ogre. The ogre grabs the party’s fighter (successful grapple attack) and announces his intention to move 20 feet (speed halved) among the orcs, subjecting the fighter to multiple opportunity attacks as she leaves their reaches.

"Wait!" protests the fighter. "The opportunity attacks rule says…

You can make an opportunity Attack when a Hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach…[but you] don’t provoke an opportunity Attack when you Teleport or when someone or something moves you without using your Movement, action, or Reaction.

"Since you are moving me, the orcs cannot attack me as you drag me past them."

"Hmmm…" considers the ogre. Knowing full well that specific beats general, he tries to think of a case in which something can explicitly provoke opportunity attacks even if it is being moved. "Aha!" he says brightly. "The grapple rules say…

When you move, you can drag or carry the Grappled creature with you

The ogre easily flips the fighter across his shoulders. "Now I am carrying you."

"That doesn’t matter."

"If I am carrying you, I can be your mount. And the mounted combat rules say…"

if the mount provokes an opportunity attack while you’re on it, the attacker can target you or the mount.

"That’s ridiculous," says the fighter indignantly. "First of all, you can’t provoke an attack of opportunity from the orcs unless you and they are Hostile, and clearly you are allies."

"You don’t know that," says the ogre. "We are actually from different tribes, and it was a coincidence that we both ambushed your party at the same time. If we win, I expect we will fall to fighting one another over your loot." The orcs nod in agreement. "Besides, the DMG definition of Hostile is…

A hostile creature opposes the adventurers and their goals but doesn’t necessarily attack them on sight.

"Setting aside the adventurer-centric language, as NPC’s these orcs and I oppose one another’s goals. As I move around, they could certainly choose to attack me rather than you."

"Point taken – but you still can’t be my mount."

"Why not? The Mounted Combat rules say…

A willing creature that is at least one size larger than you and that has an appropriate anatomy can serve as a mount, using the following rules…"

"I am a willing creature," says the ogre, "I am at least one size larger than you, and, as you will note from your position atop my shoulders, I have appropriate anatomy. It is still my combat turn, and I say that I am your mount."

"That’s not for you to decide! I mean, you can’t be my mount against my will! It says a creature can serve as a mount, and you are most definitely not serving me."

"There’s no game definition of serve."

"Right, so we go with the common English meaning of ‘being in service to’, ‘following commands’."

"I rather prefer the English meaning of ‘able to be used as’; like after the orcs kill you, your helmet will serve as my chamber pot."

The rules make it clear that to be a mount, the creature has to be willing. But does the rider have to be willing as well?

And if the rider does have to be willing, does that mean a rider that has been rendered unconscious no longer counts as a rider for the purposes of mounted combat? (an unconscious person on a moving horse could not receive opportunity attacks because they could no longer consent to be a rider?)

What happens when I redirect an attack with mounted combatant but I am outside the reach of their weapon on a grid?

The mounted combatant feat (PHB 168) allows someone to "force an attack targeted at your mount to target you instead."

Suppose I am playing on a grid. Let E be enemies without reach/ranged weapons. M be the spaces a large mount occupies. And R be the space I occupy while riding the mount.

$ \begin{array}{|l|l|r|} \hline \text{E} & \ \hline \text{E} & \text{M} & \text{R}\ \hline \text{E} & \text{M} & \text{M} \ \hline \end{array} $

What happens when I redirect an attack with mounted combatant but I am outside the reach of their weapon on a grid?

Mounted Combatant: How does reach of attack interact with the feat’s deflection?

I was playing a campaign, and my DM attacked the mount. Imagine this is the battlefield (seen from above); I was on the C, my mount is large (A), and the monster is M:

# # # # # # # # # # A C # # # # # A A # # # # M # # # # # # # # # # # 

When I said “I deflect the attack to me,” the DM said “But the foe does not reach you, which means you can’t pull the attack to yourself.” That got me thinking. I’m wanting to know how this works in this situation.

Mounted combat, movement, free actions, dismounting, then free attack. Am I doing it right?

I have lvl 6 Half Orc Paladin with the shield master feat riding a worg. The paladin is Spd 30 the Worg is speed 50. I move forward speed x and spear a human with the lance 1d12+str+smite. I move forward 5 feet(reach) then as a bonus action I use shield master to knock the human prone. After that I dismount, and use my extra attack to stab my long sword 1d8+str+smite into a the prone human. Can I do this?

If so how far away from the human can I start and complete the action?
2(dash)*30(Ork speed)=x-5(closing 5 feet)- 1/2*30(ork speed used for dismount) 60=x-5-1/2*30 60=x-20=40 X=40 feet? Or am I doing it all wrong?

Customized Oil Immersed Pole Mounted Transformador

Our History
PINGCHAO Electric Co., Ltd is located in Yueqing ,Wenzhou City, Zhejiang,China. It is founded in 2016 year which integrates industrial manufacturing and exporting, mainly specialized in various kinds of components of switchgears, such as electric earthing switch, SF6 Load switch,RMU Break switch,GIS disconnector switch,MV Switchgear vacumm circuit breaker,electric chassis for VCB, high voltage valve device, guide rail, insulators and sensor with more than 10 series, 500 kinds of specifications, annual output of 100000 units.
Our Factory
It covers an area of 5000 square meters, 60 existing staff, 2 technicians, and total assets of RMB 100 million. We adhere to high starting point, high quality, high level of “three high” strategy and excellent management system, which help us to develop steadily.
Passed ISO9001:2000, with good quality, best price and on-time delivery, Pingchao gained praise in both domestic and international market.
For the future, Pingchao will never stop to pursue innovation and refinement as to create values for customers and the society at large, and strives to make it into a world-famous enterprise with modeled operation, scientific management and internationalized brand.
Our Product
RMU SF6 Load Switch and component,Vacumm Circuit Breaker ,SF6 GIS complete Set,VCB conductive parts,Earthing switch control Module,Earthing Switch,GIS disconnector switch,shuttle device,Auxiliary Switch,Contact box,Static contact,Heating device and charged Display
Product Application
We are specialized in spares of 12KV,24Kv,40.5KVSwitchgear and vacumm circiut breaker,which can fit with ABB,Schneider and siemens switchgear.
Production Market
Russia,Pakistan,Vietnam,bangladesh and middle east
Our service
Foucus on the quality before deliver,check the quality in each step when processing and Sever customer in 24 hours under working.                                Customized Oil Immersed Pole Mounted Transformador
website:http://www.switchgearfitting.com/
website2:http://www.mvswitchgearfitting.com/