Can you move during your reaction in a ready action?

So let’s say that the party or the baddies want to dive a target all at once, but they are far apart on the turn order. Can the divers all do a ready action and then all jump in at once?

Example:

Turn order is:

  1. PC1
  2. PC2
  3. NPC1
  4. PC3
  5. PC4
  6. NPC2

Can NPC1 do a ready action of “when NPC2 moves in to attack a PC, I move in to attack the same PC” and then move and attack as the reaction?

Can an Echo Knight move its echo image vertically or though walls?

The Echo Knight archetype of the fighter class has the ability to manifest an echo of the knight. This ability includes the following:

You can use a bonus action to magically manifest an echo of yourself in an unoccupied space you can see within 15 feet of you. This echo is a magical, translucent, gray image of you […]

On your turn, you can mentally command the echo to move up to 30 feet in any direction (no action required).

No limitations seem to be specified so does this mean that the echo can translate vertically (I hesitate to use the word fly or levitate) and/or though walls?

How should we define the behavior of a Turing machine where the head tries to move left from the leftmost tape position?

If we have a Turing machine in a model with a tape that is infinite only to the right and assume at some point the head tries to move left from the leftmost position.

How should we define the behavior in such a case? Is a machine doing so for some input not a valid Turing machine? And if so, how can we make sure when we define a Turing machine that this situation can’t occur for any input?

I’ve read some sources about Turing machines though couldn’t find the answer to this specific case, and I see no reason why this case won’t happen for an arbitrary Turing machine and some input.

How to proof that Turing machine that can move right only a limit number of steps is not equal to normal Turing machine

I need to prove that a Turing machine that can move only k steps on the tape after the last latter of the input word is not equal to a normal Turning machine.

My idea is that given a finite input with a finite alphabet the limited machine can write only a finite number of “outputs” on the tape while a normal Turing machine has infinite tape so it can write infinite “outputs” but I have no idea how to make it a formal proof.

any help will be appreciated.

Charging as a move action?

So I’m very fond of quirky build even if the optimization is horrible. I’m working around a polearm charger (no mounts, mounts are lame) I’ve already found a couple of ways to turn and am looking for more (see my other post) during a charge so while I’m waiting for that I’m trying to reduce the action. Is there a way to charge as a move action or lower, (including ways that lower the actual distance)?

Can you move between the separate attacks of a spell?

Some spells (Eldritch Blast, Scorching Ray) involve making multiple attacks, in that they require multiple attack rolls. Under the movement section of the PHB, the “Moving Between Attacks” reads (PHB 190):

If you take an action that includes more than one weapon attack, you can break up your movement even further by moving between those attacks. For example, a fighter who can make two attacks with the Extra Attack feature and who has a speed of 25 feet could move 10 feet, make an attack, move 15 feet, and then attack again.

However, Eldritch Blast and Scorching Ray are not weapon attacks, so unlike a Twinned Booming Blade, they would not satisfy the wording of that particular rule.

The introduction to the “Movement and Position” section, however, reads (PHB, 190):

On your turn, you can move a distance up to your speed. You can use as much or as little of your speed as you like on your turn, following the rules here.

This provides the general notion of movement and does not give any restrictions on timing except that it must be on your turn. “Following the rules here” only explicitly applies to the amount of speed used.

“On your turn, you can move a distance up to your speed.” could be considered parallel to the description of bonus actions (PHB, 189) “You choose when to take a bonus action during your turn, unless the bonus action’s timing is specified” in which case, barring a more specific restriction, movement can be used at any time on your turn.

Is movement between a spell’s attacks not allowed because it was not expressly permitted under “Breaking Up Your Move”? Or is it allowed because movement was not said to be restricted while taking an action?


A related question of mine is similar, but asks whether a bonus action can be taken between the attacks of a spell.

How to physically move a rigid body up the stairs?

When an object is controlled by a CharacterController, it is easy to make it climb ramps with a certain slope, or climb steps with a certain height.

When the object is controlled by a RigidBody instead, it can still climb ramps naturally – I just use AddForce and it walks on ramps just like on any other surface. I do not have to add any special logic for a ramp. However, it does not climb stairs. Is there a natural “physical” way to make the RigidBody climb stairs, without explicitly checking that there are stairs ahead?

Can a creature grasped by Grasp of Hadar move with the Warlock?

As a follow up to this question on Grasp of Hadar, I present the following situation. The warlock, under the fly spell’s influence, sees the Dire Wolf knock the party’s Rogue prone. It is now the Warlock’s turn.
enter image description here The warlock intends to pick up the Dire Wolf with Grasp of Hadar at point B, and if possible drop it off of the cliff when finishing movement for the Warlock’s turn at point C. We know that we can move/attack/move in this edition per PHB Chapter 9. The other Q&A showed that Grasp can cause the Dire Wolf to fall once “moved 10′ closesr” (up) to the flying Warlock with a successful Eldritch Blast / Grasp of Hadar hit. This might be a reach, but as it all happens on the Warlock’s turn:

  1. Does the Dire Wolf stay “10 feet closer” to the Warlock until the Warlock finished movement at point C and begin to fall at point Z?
    or
  2. Can the Dire Wolf only begin its fall at point Y since Warlock picked it up at point B?

While I suspect that the answer is Case 2, something about how movement and attacks both happen during one’s turn make me suspect that Case 1 is possible. Is it?

(Attribution: pictures are jpg copies of Roll20 tokens of some humanoid, dire wolf, and commoner.
I believe that this constitutes fair use).

When rolling a 20 for a Death Saving Throw, can you move and take Actions that turn?

My intrepid adventuring character has been attacked, and the damage reduced him to 0 hit points and falls unconscious. On his next turn, he rolls a Death Saving Throw, and gets everybody’s favorite die roll: a natural 20! He regains 1 hit point, and thus regains consciousness.

Now that he’s conscious, can he still move and take an action for his turn? The rules say that you roll a Death Saving Throw “Whenever you start your turn with 0 hit points,” but it’s not clear to me if that’s replacing one’s normal turn, or if it’s just at the start of one’s turn, and the only reason one normally doesn’t follow it with a movement and action is because unconscious creatures are incapacitated and can’t move.

There’s some discussion in the comments of an answer to “Do you regain consciousness immediately on a 20?”, but it doesn’t seem to have an authoritative referenced resolution to the discussion, and it seems that if it’s worth talking about in comments it’s worth asking as a full-fledged question.