Does the grappled creature have to be the one that is moved in order to force the grapple to end, or can the grappler be the one that is moved? [duplicate]

The description of the grappled condition reads, in part:

The condition also ends if an effect removes the grappled creature from the reach of the grappler or grappling effect, such as when a creature is hurled away by the thunderwave spell.

For the grappled condition to end, does the grappled creature have to be the one that is moved, or can the grappling creature be the one that is moved?

For example, could a College of Swords bard’s Mobile Flourish* be used to push the grappling creature away, ending the grapple? Or would the bard have to attack the grappled creature with the Mobile Flourish in order to end the grapple in this way?

*Access to Xanathar’s Guide to Everything in D&D Beyond is required for this link to work.

How does lodestone lure work if the attacker’s moved away from the target?

The level 3 battlemind discipline lodestone lure, an at-will attack power, has the following entry:

Hit: Constitution modifier damage, and you must pull the target 1 square. Until the end of your next turn, the target can move only to squares that are adjacent to you. (Psionic Power 37 and updated by errata; q.v. here)

I don’t know to what degree that second sentence should limit the target. I use should limit rather than just limits because my research shows that opinions on how the power works are varied, controversial, and sometimes heated. And, as Wizards of the Coast itself is unlikely to clarify or issue further errata for the lodestone lure power at this point, I look to experienced users for help in determining a balanced reading of the power. Here balanced means here that the power’s impact on the game approximately equals the impact of the class’s other powers of the same level.

The Scenario

On her turn a level 3 battlemind takes a standard action to use the at-will discipline lodestone lure on a target 2 squares away. The battlemind pulls the target adjacent to her (as the power’s erratum now says that she must). Then, by whatever means, the battlemind travels 2 or more squares away from the target. On the target’s turn, what’s a balanced way for the target to behave? Here are some options:

  • Essentially immobilized. A typical target is immobilized in all but name. That is, no matter where the target’s movement would take it, its first square of movement won’t move it to a square adjacent to the battlemind so the target is stuck where it is unless either it can move without moving (e.g. by teleporting) or it is moved via forced movement. This reading is mentioned in a Penny Arcade forum thread here that contains strong language. Consensus there seems to be that this reading, while possibly being technically accurate, isn’t balanced (see above). Even as a new 4e player, I tend to agree, but I’m not 100% sure if that thread’s assessment is correct.
  • Like a charge but not. A typical target can move normally except that each square of the target’s movement must bring the target closer to the battlemind, much like a creature making a charge. This reading is mentioned in a RPG.Net thread here that gets heated. Note that a user in that thread says that Wizards of the Coast customer service agrees with this reading. I absolutely believe that that’s what the user was told, but I don’t know how much weight an anonymous Wizards of the Coast customer service representative’s ruling carries in the Dungeons & Dragons, Fourth Edition community. (To be clear, I’m used to the Third Edition community where that weight is 0 lbs.) This seems balanced enough to this new 4e player, but that isn’t what the power actually says that it does, and the disconnect makes me wary.

Those were the options that I found, but I’m certain that other readings of the power are possible. Users should feel free to have their answers address alternatives. In sum, what reading of the lodestone lure power is balanced? Further, how can the lodestone lure power’s Hit entries be rephrased to reflect a new balanced reading?

Note: When assessing that second bullet’s reading, please also consider what happens if a target is affected by multiple characters’ lodestone lure powers simultaneously.

Probabilistic Turing machine – Probability that the head has moved k steps to the right on the work tape

I have a PTM with following transition:

$ \delta(Z_0, \square , 0) = \delta(Z_0, \square , L, R)$ ,

$ \delta(Z_0, \square , 1) = \delta(Z_0, \square , R, R)$

Suppose that this PTM executes n steps. What is the probability that the head has moved k steps to the right on the work tape (in total, i.e., k is the difference between moves to the right and moves to the left) ?

If the initial target of the Hex spell is reduced to 0 HP, can the curse be moved to an unseen target or one out of range?

To originally cast the spell hex, you must target “a creature you can see within range”. The spell says that if the target drops to 0 hit points before the spell ends, the caster can use a bonus action on a subsequent turn to move the curse to a new creature. However, it does not say that the new creature being cursed has to be seen or within range.

If the initial target of hex is reduced to 0 HP, can the curse be moved to an unseen target or one out of range?

Rules as Written, it seems possible to do so, but that seems a bit overpowered.

Does the Hex spell require a Clear Path when moved to a second target?

The Hex spell reads

You place a curse on a creature that you can see within range. … If the target drops to 0 hit points before this spell ends, you can use a bonus action on a subsequent turn of yours to curse a new creature.

Hex still requires range and sight requirements to be satisfied when re-applying because of the first line of its description but I am uncertain whether the Targeting limitations apply when the spell is not being cast?

The precise situation I am thinking of is moving Hex to a target that is visible through a transparent window. I suspect the answer is no but would appreciate a deeper understanding. A related component of this question is whether moving Hex is considered to be moving the effect or having multiple targets.

Does reapplying Hex have any spell components?
Changing Hex to Unseen Targets out of Range

Can flaming sphere cast at 60ft then be moved 30ft next turn to be 90ft away from you?

I was wondering if the 60ft range on flaming sphere is the max range it can ever be from you or only the max range you can cast it at. Then on subsequent turns you can move it even farther away. Same for Moonbeam and other similar spells. I could not find a clear answer googling it, and asking my friends geoups returned a split decision.

While I’m mostly interested in answering this for D&D 5e, I’d also be curious for Pathfinder 2e if for some reason the rules were different.

Do all creatures moved by Fiery Teleportation have to move in the same direction?

The UA Wildfire druid’s wildfire spirit has an ability called Fiery Teleportation with the following description:

Fiery Teleportation (Recharges after a Short or Long Rest). The spirit and each willing creature of your choice within 5 feet of it teleport up to 30 feet to unoccupied spaces you can see. Each creature within 10 feet of the space that the spirit left must succeed on a Dexterity saving throw against your spell save DC or take 1d6 + 2 fire damage.

Does this move all the affected creatures as a single group, landing them all within 5 ft of the spirit’s new location, or can you move each one independently? For example, if you were surrounded by another group, could you teleport your group outward to be surrounding them, or could you only shift your entire group in the same direction?

Can spells with movable areas of effect be moved out of sight or behind obstacles?

With spells like Moonbeam or Flaming Sphere, how should we treat the movement of their areas-of-effect when it comes to passing them behind a thick pillar or around a blind corner?

Should we treat any movement of them as if they are being ‘re-cast’ (and so requiring a clear unobstructed view)? Or could a mage presumably will them somewhere out-of-sight?

When spells can be moved, must it be in a straight line?

Healing Spirit (XGtE) says:

As a bonus action on your turn, you can move the Spirit up to 30 feet to a space you can see.

Moonbeam (PHB) says:

On each of your turns after you cast this spell, you can use an action to move the beam 60 feet in any direction

Can I move these spells to several points? For example, if my targets are arranged in a triangle formation, 10ft from each other, and my spell is currently on top of one of those targets, can I move the spell over all 3 of them before ending in a space?

On one hand, Moonbeam specifies direction, so it can be interpreted as just choosing a direction, and the spell only moves in that line. However, the spell also mentions any direction, so that can also be interpreted as moving any way you like.

Healing Spirit moves to a specific space. Can I choose the path the Spirit takes? Or can I only choose a single space as the destination, and the Spirit will take the shortest path there?

The reason I want to do this is that it would allow me to, for example, heal multiple targets with Healing Spirit.

whenever you or a creature you can see moves into the spirit’s space for the first time on a turn or starts its turn there

And for the Moonbeam, I could damage multiple enemies.

When a creature enters the spell’s area for the first time on a turn or starts its turn there

The description does not say that the creatures has to move into the spirit’s space on its turn, just a turn. I’m also assuming that moving the spirit on top of the creature would have the same effect.

Moved site from primary domain of 1 cPanel, to add-on domain of 2nd cPanel, now site won’t load

I had a multisite WP install as the primary domain of a cPanel account. The website had the primary domain, plus a network site using a different domain.

I decided to move this website to become an add-on domain of a different cPanel account which had a totally unrelated primary domain.

I had to update the path, as was now an add-on domain, rather than the primary domain.

However, now redirects to and I see the message in Chrome:

This page isn’t working. redirected you too many times. Try clearing your cookies. ERR_TOO_MANY_REDIRECTS

I don’t have any cookies for this domain.

This is my wp-config.php:

define(‘WP_ALLOW_MULTISITE’, true); define(‘MULTISITE’, true); define(‘SUBDOMAIN_INSTALL’, true); define(‘DOMAIN_CURRENT_SITE’, ‘’); define(‘PATH_CURRENT_SITE’, ‘/’); define(‘SITE_ID_CURRENT_SITE’, 1); define(‘BLOG_ID_CURRENT_SITE’, 1); define(‘ADMIN_COOKIE_PATH’, ‘/’); define(‘COOKIEPATH’, ”); define(‘SITECOOKIEPATH’, ”); // define(‘COOKIE_DOMAIN’, $  _SERVER[ ‘HTTP_HOST’ ] ); // define(‘SUNRISE’, ‘on’); 

I’ve renamed .htaccess to .htaccess.temp and the issue remains.

I’ve checked wp_blogs and wp_options and the domains are correct.

Help appreciated. Steve