Flying movement: does minimum forward speed still apply when ascending?

I’ve worded the question in two ways, before and after context, both bolded text below.

Let’s say you have some fly speed with average maneuverability. Speed is not important. You have a minimum forward speed (MFS) of half, an up angle of 60 degrees, and an up speed of half. Imagine you begin ascending. Aside from beginning your ascent (where you have to fly steady for half maximum distance before ascending), does MFS still apply if you continue ascending the next round? If minimum forward speed applies when ascending (moving at your “up speed”), then implicitly you need a full double move to ascend at the full 60 degrees, and in general you cannot ascend at 60 degrees (math below).

For 60 degrees, the standard trig triangle has a hypotenuse of 2 and a base of 1. In D&D terms, however far you fly at 60 degrees, you fly half that distance forward. Therefore, if your up speed is half, flying half your speed at 60 degrees means you fly only one-quarter your speed forward, which doesn’t meet the minimum forward speed of half requirement.

It’s not hard to see that flying at 60 degrees under this logic requires a double move, and you must use all your movement to achieve the minimum forward speed (a double move at half speed is full speed along 60 degrees, which means you moved half speed forward).

Otherwise for a single move action, you’re capped at much smaller angles of ascension, if that’s even technically possible within the rules. For example, with a fly speed of 60 and average maneuverability, you could still move foward 30 and up 15. Again, it doesn’t really say whether or not you can ascend at lower angles, but I wouldn’t see why not.

So, is this implicit logic correct, or is ascension supposed to be a different mode of movement whereby minimum forward speed shouldn’t apply?

What is the movement distance to the Ethereal Plane?

How much movement does it count as to go to the Ethereal Plane?

The genesis of this question is that a Glyph of Warding dissipates if it is moved more than 10 feet. My intent is to cast a Glyph of Warding on a Leomund’s Secret Chest. I need to know if the Glyph will remain active when I send the chest to the Ethereal Plane, and when I retrieve it later.

Does falling count as movement?

So, the question I have is I’m planning to play a Sun Soul Arrakocra monk. With the flight of the Arrakocra I can essentially hit someone, fly up and repeat. So what I want to ask is let’s say I fly up 50 feet and I just decide to drop to the ground. Do the 50 feet drop count against my movement or no? Is there any rules that specify that so I can justify it to my DM. Thanks and regards, Ichmkami

Is Shadow Pin intended to be prevented by Freedom of Movement?

I know, Rules-as-Intended questions are hard, but it has been estabilished that Freedom of Movement RAW is a mess and we don’t know what it stops exactly (relevant 3.5e question, but applicable to Pathfinder 1e as far as I know).

Moreover, maneuvers do not exist in regular Pathfinder 1e and it’s understandable that a core PF spell makes no special note about them.

I think the only possible way to know how they interact is to ask for author intent. Luckily, one of the authors often answers questions here on RPG.SE


Shadow Pin is a really good counter, it stops melee characters from charging and getting near in general, it stops recurring NPCs from teleporting away. No wonder one of my players took it.

The Freedom of Movement spell is meant to counter movement-blocking effects, but it only explicitly mentions making the recipient immune to mundane and magic impediments (emphasis mine):

This spell enables you or a creature you touch to move […] normally for the duration of the spell, even under the influence of magic that usually impedes movement

Food for thought: It’s magic, not “spells”. Is “supernatural” magical enough to be included, given that it goes away in an antimagic field?

Was Shadow Pin intended to bypass Freedom of Movement effects, or to be stopped by it?

(Since, as it is usually assumed, Freedom of Movement only helps with physical movement impairments, is the answer different for the teleportation part?)

How much movement does it take to stand up from prone when my speed is modified?

Suppose my speed is normally 30 feet. I get hit with a Slow spell, reducing my speed to 15 feet, and then I get knocked prone. How many feet of movement do I need to spend in order to stand back up from prone? How many feet of movement do I have left over once I’ve stood up?

What if I am also hit with a Ray of Frost spell while slowed, reducing my speed to 5 feet for 1 round? Am I able to stand up at all?

Is Freedom of Movement hampered from actually working to escape a grapple?

The 5e D&D spell Freedom of Movement says:

The target can also spend 5 feet of movement to automatically escape from nonmagical restraints, such as manacles or a creature that has it grappled.

But, the grappled condition sets a grappled creature’s speed to 0. therefore, by the rules as written, doesn’t she or he have no movement to spend?

Is there some rule where you can “spend” from your normal base speed even when it is temporarily reduced? Or is this just one of those cases where we all shrug and go “eh, it is obvious what was meant”?

Does Freedom of Movement allow one to use their Fly speed Underwater?

Our party is about to have a water battle next session and we plan to cast Fly and Freedom of Movement on a few of our party members to deal with a Blue Dragon attacking the ship.

My question is whether someone affected by both spells is able to use their Fly speed Underwater since the effects of Freedom of Movement states that swimming imposes no penalties to movement and attacks while benefiting from the spell.

I can’t find anything that says I can or can’t so I’m wondering which way to lean on this. Any advice is appreciated.

Can a player split up attacks like they can movement?

I didn’t think so, but I’ve read a couple postings elsewhere that make me think otherwise.

Ex. A fighter with ‘Extra Attack’ from the PHB:

Beginning at 5th level, you can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn.

To me, both attacks would be during the same attack action, so the fighter could move 10′, attack twice, then keep moving, since you can split up movement.

But, could they move, attack once, let’s say the opponent goes down, then move to another opponent and use their second attack?