Can a multiclassed Wizard enchant an arcane bonded weapon by qualifying with a second casting class?

Suppose that I want to have a first-level wizard school ability, and that I took an arcane bond with a weapon. Say that for whatever reasons, I take the rest of my levels in a different casting class. Can I still magically enhance my Arcane Bond weapon without taking the Craft Magic Arms and Armor feat? Arcane Bond says:

A wizard can add additional magic abilities to his bonded object as if he has the required Item Creation Feats and if he meets the level prerequisites of the feat. For example, a wizard with a bonded dagger must be at least 5th level to add magic abilities to the dagger (see Craft Magic Arms and Armor feat).

Now, usually a wizard would do this by reaching CL5 as a wizard, but the Craft Magic Arms and Armor feat only specifies you have to be CL5 to use it. Certainly you can always magically enhance a weapon with the feat, then re-bond to it, but that’s not the question. If I am a wizard 1 / witch 5 (for example), am I able to magically enhance my arcane bonded weapon, e.g. to be a +1 weapon without having the Craft Magic Arms and Armor feat? If not, why not?

Note: This is not specific to the wizard/witch combo, I’m asking about all caster combos with wizard in general.

Does an Artificer’s Magic Item Savant and a multiclassed Thief Rogue’s Use Magic Device allow them to benefit from a Rod of the Pact Keeper?

The Artificer’s Magic Item Savant feature states the following:

At 14th level, your skill with magic items deepens more:
• You can attune to up to five magic items at once.
• You ignore all class, race, spell, and level requirements on attuning to or using a magic item.

The Thief Rogue’s Use Magic Device feature states the following:

By 13th level, you have learned enough about the workings of magic that you can improvise the use of items even when they are not intended for you. You ignore all class, race, and level requirements on the use of magic items.

Rod of the Pact Keeper states the following:

While holding this rod, you gain a +1 bonus to spell attack rolls and to the saving throw DCs of your warlock spells.

In addition, you can regain one warlock spell slot as an action while holding the rod. You can’t use this property again until you finish a long rest.

Since these features allow an Artificer or a multiclassed Thief Rogue to ignore “class” requirements when using a Rod of the Pact Keeper, would they ignore all instances of “Warlock” in the text and benefit from the general bonus to spell attack rolls and saving throw DCs, and be able to regain one spell slot?

Related questions:
1. What requirements does the Artificers Magic Item Savant feature ignore?
2. Does an Artificer's Magic Item Savant and a Thief Rogue's Use Magic Device allow them to benefit from a Holy Avenger's 30-foot aura?

Are NPCs who want to gain class levels considered multi-classed?

Consider an Apprentice Wizard from Volo’s Guide to Monsters: its spellcasting is the same as a 1st-level wizard, its skills are from the wizard list, and it’s proficient in a weapon from the wizard list. Its stat block doesn’t have arcane recovery, but that could just be because it’s not relevant to combat. Other than obviously having 2d8 instead of the full value from 1d6 for its hit points, and the lack of saving throws, it’s basically like a 1st-level wizard.

So if you had one join your party, and had it gain a level, would it gain a spell slot and an arcane tradition as a 2nd-level wizard, or would it gain two more skills and two saving throws as a 1st-level wizard?

By the same token, if you wanted to give it some martial ability by giving it a level in fighter, would it be looking at getting proficiency in all weapons/armor, two skills, and two saving throws, or would it only be looking at weapons and light/medium armor and shields (but in actuality not be able to gain fighter levels because it doesn’t meet the strength/dexterity requirement)?

What if you wanted to do both of the above, giving it a level in wizard and one in fighter? (or possibly the other way around: fighter first then wizard after, if ability score requirements only let you do that order)

Can a multiclassed Sorcerer/Tempest Cleric use Charisma instead of Wisdom to determine save DC for the Wrath of the Storm feature?

I have a question related to this one:
What is the DC of the Tempest Cleric's Wrath of the Storm feature?

Since the rules don’t specify how you calculate your DC for this ability, could a multiclass Sorcerer/Cleric use their Charisma instead of their Wisdom modifier?

Is 33 the minimum skill check result for a multiclassed 11 rogue/9 artificer using Reliable Talent, Expertise, Guidance, and Flash of Genius?

  1. Any proficient ability check d20 roll of lower than 10 is set to 10 with the Reliable Talent rogue feature.
  2. +17 from the Expertise rogue feature (12 + ability modifier of +5).
  3. +a minimum of 1 from the guidance cantrip.
  4. +5 from the Flash of Genius artificer feature with 20 Int:

    Flash of Genius

    Starting at 7th level, you gain the ability to come up with solutions under pressure. When you or another creature you can see within 30 feet of you makes an ability check or a saving throw, you can use your reaction to add your Intelligence modifier to the Roll.

    You can use this feature a number of times equal to your Intelligence modifier (minimum of once). You regain all expended uses when you finish a long rest.

= 33? Am I stacking these right?

How does the Ranger’s Primeval Awareness feature work when multiclassed into a Spellcasting class?

This is inspired by / a continuation on my previous question “Can the Sorcerer’s Flexible Casting feature make a Warlock spell slot?”.

The Ranger’s Primeval Awareness feature states:

Beginning at 3rd level, you can use your action and expend one ranger spell slot to focus your awareness on the region around you […]

However, the section on Multiclass Spellcasting states:

Spell slots You determine your available spell slots by adding together all your levels in the bard, cleric, druid, sorcerer, and wizard classes, and half your levels (rounded down) in the paladin and ranger classes. Use this total to determine your spell slots by consulting the Multiclass Spellcaster table […]

In this case how does one determine which of their spell slots count as a “ranger spell slot”?


There is a similar case with the Paladin’s Divine Smite feature which was cleared up by an errata: “If I multiclass into Paladin, can I use up any class's spell slots for Divine Smite?”

How does the Ranger’s Primeval Awareness feature work when multiclassed into a Spellcasting class?

This is inspired by / a continuation on my previous question “Can the Sorcerer’s Flexible Casting feature make a Warlock spell slot?”.

The Ranger’s Primeval Awareness feature states:

Beginning at 3rd level, you can use your action and expend one ranger spell slot to focus your awareness on the region around you […]

However, the section on Multiclass Spellcasting states:

Spell slots You determine your available spell slots by adding together all your levels in the bard, cleric, druid, sorcerer, and wizard classes, and half your levels (rounded down) in the paladin and ranger classes. Use this total to determine your spell slots by consulting the Multiclass Spellcaster table […]

In this case how does one determine which of their spell slots count as a “ranger spell slot”?


There is a similar case with the Paladin’s Divine Smite feature which was cleared up by an errata: “If I multiclass into Paladin, can I use up any class's spell slots for Divine Smite?”

Can a multiclassed Spell Sage (wizard archtype) use the ability Focused Spells with a different class’s spells?

Can a multiclassed Spell Sage (wizard archtype) use the ability Focused Spells with a different class’s spells?

The ability says:

once per day the spell sage’s understanding of spells allows him to increase his caster level by 4 for a single spell cast.

Can this be applied to a sorcerer’s magic missile?

How do prepared and known spells work for a multiclassed Eldritch Knight 7 / Wizard 2-3? [duplicate]

This question already has an answer here:

  • If I multiclass into 2 or more spellcasting classes, how do I determine my known/prepared spells? 1 answer

I generally understand the multiclassing spell rules, but multiclassing a 1/3rd-caster class with a wizard is making me scratch my head. I know I have 5 spells for EK at level 7, and 2 cantrips, both from the same list. I also have Level 2 spell slots at level 7 on EK, so I know I can cast a level 2 spell as an EK.

However, if I take only 2 levels of Wizard, can I learn any extra level 1 spells? Or am I stuck being unable to prepare level 2 spells I learn as a wizard?

I assume I can’t even choose level 2 spells for my known wizard spells, can I? Because I can’t prepare them. If I had, say, Wizard 3, and thus had the ability to prepare level 2 spells as a wizard, and I didn’t prepare them, could I then cast them unprepared using my Eldritch Knight spell slots?

EK 7 / Wizard 2 should look like: 8 level 1 spells chosen for the wizard levels, 4 level 1 spells and 1 level 2 spell chosen for the EK levels. There’s no way to learn level 2 spells as a wizard until I’ve taken level 3 in wizard; is that correct?

Can I cast unprepared wizard spells using my Eldritch Knight spell slots? Or can I only cast the spells learned specifically from my EK dips without them being prepared?