How does multiclassing affect the damage scaling of Hexblade’s curse? [duplicate]

So,I am playing a multiclass character with level 14 in fighter and level 1 in Warlock. Now Hexblade’s curse damage depends on player’s proficiency bonus.My level 15 character’s proficiency bonus is +5 but a level1 warlock’s proficiency bonus is +2. So, which proficiency bonus should I add as hexblade’s curse damage?

Can multi-classing improve a sorcerer’s solo-potential?


Can multi-classing improve a sorcerer’s solo-potential?

And how should I do this?

My friend has started a new series of 3.5 D&D sessions where I have been leveling my half-elf sorceress.

Due to in-game events and elaborate RP, my character has been forced to solo a lot, and will probably keep doing so with only occasionally teaming up with others. She is currently level 6, and the rest of the PC’s are level 4. In order to tome her XP-gain down, she has Craft Wondrous Items.

Now, I have been considering multi-classing in order to improve my solo-potential. I can dish out enough damage already as a sorcerer, but I can barely take any hits. I wonder if multi-classing could improve my survivability. For example, taking a level in a healing-class for some self-healing.

However, I have done my research and everyone says NOT to multi-class a caster-class, in order to prevent falling behind. However, because the party has fallen behind instead, would that make multi-classing more viable? If so, what class could successfully fulfill my needs?

Beyond this point, I will explain some details about the situation for those that are interested.

We only use the PHB, the rest is done custom. (I.E. monsters, magic items, etc.)

The setting is custom, just like the bosses. They are no normal monsters, instead customly created creatures that either have a specific way to get beaten or have special abilities that can be countered in a smart way. Their health almost always exceeds 100 HP, but up until now none of them have turned out to be too difficult or easy for us, due to the mechanics.

It is also not sure if we will quit this series of sessions either very soon or far beyond level 20, but we do not plan on stopping at level 20 itself, so it’s not like I will lose sorcerer-levels with this decision. I also won’t fall behind, because I have two more levels than the rest of the party.

The sessions mainly consist of RP and boss-battles, with surprisingly less dungeon-crawling.


Character: (extremely narrowed down)

Level 6 half-elf sorcerer, chaotic neutral.
STR 8; DEX 18; CON 14; INT 14; WIS 13; CHA 18

Feats can be changed.

Spells:
Level 0

  • Detect Magic
  • Dancing Lights
  • Touch of Fatigue
  • Mending
  • Message
  • Prestidigitation
  • Resistance
  • Detect Poison

Level 1

  • Shield (I have armour that gives no ASF, hence why I choose Shield.)
  • Charm Person
  • Shocking Grasp
  • Feather Fall
  • Grease
  • Identify

Level 2

  • Command Undead (I have a corpse-holding cloak.)
  • Spectral Hand
  • See Invisibility

Level 3

  • Fireball
  • Vampiric Touch

Besides spells, has several daggers at her disposal.


If you need more information, let me know.

Is 5e character advancement commutative across multiclassing?

Is 5e character development commutative across multiclassing? I’m talking about the mathematical property where given two operands and an operation, $ x \circ y = y \circ x$ . That is, regardless of the order of the operands, the result of a commutative operation remain the same.

We can rule out character creation, because that is not commutative. A fighter 1 / wizard 1 will have different game statistics than a wizard 1 / fighter 1 (saving throws and other proficiencies, for example).

Also, let’s disregard the randomness of hit point rolls. Assume all characters take the average of the dice.

So, for two characters with the same 1st level class and the same features, who reach the same levels in the same classes but different advancement paths (i.e., the order in which these features were gained was different), do they have the same game statistics?

Exempli Gratia:

Assume two 1st level Rogues, Alice and Beatrice.

Alice gained 3 levels of Rogue and on her 4th level of Rogue, instead of an ability score increase she picked up the Martial Adept feat. She later gained 3 levels in Fighter, and chose the Battle Master archetype.

Beatrice gained 3 levels of Fighter, and chose the Battle Master archetype. She then gained 3 levels of Rogue, and instead of an ability score increase she picked up the Martial Adept feat.

Alice and Beatrice each now total four Rogue levels and three Fighter levels, obtained via different paths. Is the superiority dice gained from the Martial Adept the same dice for both Alice and Beatrice?

Meta: I know the issue above could sit in its own post, but then it would weaken the broader question.

Casting a cantrip on a higher level when multiclassing [duplicate]

Some cantrips such as ‘Thunderclap’ says in higher level(not in higher spell slot), we can give more damage.

Thunderclap

Casting Time: 1 action Range: Self (5-foot radius) Components: S Duration: Instantaneous

You create a burst of thunderous sound, which can be heard 100 feet away. Each creature other than you within 5 feet of you must make a Constitution saving throw. On a failed save, the creature takes 1d6 thunder damage.

At Higher Levels. The spell’s damage increases by 1d6 when you reach 5th level (2d6), 11th level (3d6), and 17th level (4d6).

When we are multiclassing, does the overall level of the character effect this, or is it about the individual level of the class that is used to cast this spell?

Are there any spell level restrictions, above 3rd, for an Arcane Trickster Rogue without multi-classing?

When leveling a pure bread (non-multi-classed) Rogue, at 3rd level you can chose the Arcane Trickster Archetype; and you are only allowed to choose 1st level wizard spells.

You know three 1st-level wizard spells of your choice, two of which you must choose from the enchantment and illusion spells on the wizard spell list. The Spells Known column of the Arcane Trickster Spell casting table shows when you learn more wizard spells ‘of 1st level or higher’. Each of these spells must be an enchantment or illusion spell of your choice, and must be of a level for which you have spell slots. For instance, when you reach 7th level in this class, you can learn one new spell of 1st or 2nd level.

Per the PHB at 7th level you can only choose a 1st or 2nd level spell. There is no mention of being able to choose a 4th (or higher) level spell. The confusion I am having is in the wording much like this question:

What spells can an Arcane Trickster Rogue choose from when gaining levels?

"Higher Levels" is mentioned multiple times however it is not clear if they are referring to higher character levels or higher spell levels.

It states here:

Whenever you gain a level in this class, you can replace one of the wizard spells you know with another spell of your choice from the wizard spell list. The new spell must be of a level for which you have spell slots, and it must be an enchantment or illusion spell, unless you’re replacing the spell you gained at 3rd, 8th, 14th, or 20th level from any school of magic.

With no restrictions as to what spell level as long as it’s a Wizard spell.

My Question: What is the highest spell level I can choose at each level for a Rogue Arcane Trickster?

What would be the balance implications of allowing multiclassing with the same class (e.g. for access to multiple subclasses)?

The rules for Multiclassing on page 163 of the PHB state:

With this rule, you have the option of gaining a level in a new class whenever you advance in level, instead of gaining a level in your current class.

By RAW, it seems clear you cannot start out at level 1 again in your current class in order to achieve something like a Sorcerer (Draconic Bloodline) 1 / Sorcerer (Divine Soul) 1.

Would it be balanced to allow this anyway? Which problems would occur?

Assume that all other rules for multiclassing remain intact, such as the spell slot calculation or the limitation of multiple instances of Extra Attack.

Related: the same question for Pathfinder, clarification that this is not allowed by RAW

Multi-classing doesn’t generalize Single-class spellcasting?

I am aware of our go to question about spellcasting and multiclassing, and I am aware of the rules. I am nonetheless confused about something:

If we use the multi-class rules, in particular

You determine your available spell slots by adding together all your levels in the bard, cleric, druid, sorcerer, and wizard classes, half your levels (rounded down) in the paladin and ranger classes […]

So, a 5th level paladin contributes as a 2nd level caster (5/2 = 2.5, rounded down 2). A 2nd level caster would have 3 first level spell slots, and that’s all. However, a 5th level Paladin has a spell slot table that clearly reflects a 3rd level spellcaster. In general, it looks like the Paladin level is being rounded up when defining the class’ spellcasting table. The same can be said to the Ranger and to the "1/3 casters" (Arcane Trickster and Fighter).

So, when you multiclass, the half-casters and 1/3 casters contribute less to the spellcasting levels than their own progression suggests. This means, for example, a 3rd level Paladin and 2nd level Ranger, although "jointly" count as a 5th level "half-caster" (you sum them before dividing and rounding), when multi-classing the character is only a 2nd level multi-class caster and doesn’t have 2nd level spell slots, even though a single-class 5th level ranger or a 5th level paladin would both have 2nd level spell slots.

This is weird to me, so, to start with, is the math right? Am I missing something? Or multiclassing is, in fact, inherently harming the spell progression provided by the not-full-spellcasters, in a way that 5 levels of different half-casters is simply worse than 5 levels of the same half-caster?

How do I determine multiclassing stats for an Artificer

I am making a character for a campaign that is starting soon. The character is going to start out as a Cleric (War Domain) and will multiclass with a Artificer (Battlesmith).

I have looked at multiclassing rules, but I am having trouble making heads or tails of it for a multi-class involving a 2/3 caster (the Artificer) and a full caster (the Cleric).

That leads me to my question: what would a lvl 15 War Cleric/lvl 5 Battlesmith Artificer look like? How many spells per level? How many cantrips? Does the artificers ability to replace cantrips still apply?

Does multiclassing suddenly allow you to cast spells from Magic Initiate (or other similar features/feats) using more spell slots?

The following question already exists and explains that you can cast spells gained from the Magic Initiate feat if and only if the class you choose is the same as one of your own:

  • Can you cast a spell learned from the Magic Initiate feat using spell slots?

So let’s assume a Wizard take the Magic Initiate feat and learns the healing word spell with the Bard option of the feat. It is established already that they cannot cast this spell using their own spell slots, for some more supporting evidence classes received errata and the Wizard class now states the following under “Spellcasting” (the bolded word “Wizard” was added):

[…] The Wizard table shows how many spell slots you have to cast your wizard spells of 1st level and higher. […]


With that established, I’m a bit confused what happens when this Wizard decides to multiclass into Bard; the multiclassing spellcasting rules state:

[…] You determine your available spell slots by adding together all your levels in the bard, cleric, druid, sorcerer, and wizard classes, and half your levels (rounded down) in the paladin and ranger classes. Use this total to determine your spell slots by consulting the Multiclass Spellcaster table. […]

There is not longer a way to distinguish between Wizard spell slots and Bard spell slots. To me this implies the following:

Before multiclassing the Wizard could not use any of their spell slots to cast healing word, but by gaining one level of Bard they can now use all of them. Is this truly the case or have I missed a rule somewhere?