Does a warlock require material components for a Mystic Arcanum spell?

The description in the Warlock class says only:

At 11th level, your patron bestows upon you a magical secret called an arcanum. Choose one 6th-level spell from the warlock spell list as this arcanum. You can cast your arcanum spell once without expending a spell slot. You must finish a long rest before you can do so again.

It says nothing about having or needing the material components for the Mystic Arcanum spells. This becomes very important for spells such as Forcecage or Plane Shift.

Is there any build that claims to substantially benefit in versatility from the Mystic Theurge’s extra spell slots?

Conventional wisdom is that more spell levels are better than more spell slots of lower level. For example, this argument has been used to argue in favor of playing a Focused Specialist Wizard. From this principle, it is often inferred that even an early-entry Mystic Theurge is inferior to its single-classed parent classes. It is claimed that even though having both arcane and divine spellcasting on one character ought to be more versatile than only having one of those (but at a higher level), it almost always isn’t because the extra spell levels really do add that much versatility.

Taking the above as true, my question is this: Does there exist any Mystic Theurge build that claims to gain more versatility from mixing two spellcasting progressions than it would from only sticking to one progression? As an example, I’m pretty sure that divine and arcane necromancy can be mixed to give results that could not be gained from just one progression.

Rainbow Savant builds can be ignored. Answers do not need to prove that the build in question actually does what it claims to do – they only need to say why it claims that.

How does the Savant interact with the Mystic Theurge?

A character in a game I am running wants to use the prestige class mystic theurge (Dungeon Master’s Guide) to advance the caster level of his savant.

The savant base class (Dragon Compendium) gains a kind of spellcasting progression starting at 5th level – the character gains arcane spells – and by level 10 acquires the ability to cast divine spells as well.

By 12th level, the savant would have access to 3rd level arcane spells and 2nd level divine spells.

At this level, the savant possesses the necessary skill ranks and the spellcasting requirements for the mystic theurge prestige class.

However, can a savant even benefit from the mystic theurge? The player of the savant claims that the mystic theurge progression will elevate his caster level; since savants have a caster level equal to one-half their savant level, a character who progresses savant 12/mystic theurge 8 will have a caster level of 14 (instead of the caster level 10 that a savant 20 would have).

… I am less sure that the mystic theurge interacts this way with the savant – indeed, I am unsure if the mystic theurge can even interact with the savant at all! The savant has no "spellcasting" class feature for the theurge to advance…

More controversially, the player also claims that the mystic theurge progression would double advance his savant spellcasting progression. Since the savant is both the arcane and divine spellcasting class, each level of mystic theurge would give him two levels of progression with his spellcasting in the savant class – which would rapidly run him out of spell progression, if the theurge can in fact do such.

My questions are:

  1. Can the savant base class benefit from the mystic theurge in any way? Either by increasing the caster level or advancing the spellcasting progression of the savant, or, in some other way the player or myself haven’t thought of?

  2. Does the savant truly qualify for the mystic theurge? While I am confident that the answer to this second question is probably a yes, I’d prefer it if there were a valid reason to disqualify the savant from the mystic theurge other than just GM fiat.

How does the ring of mystic fire interact with scorching ray?

In my D&D 3.5 campaign, one PC just got a ring of mystic fire, and I’m trying to figure out how the ring works with the spell scorching ray.

The Magical Item Compendium says

A ring of mystic fire provides a boost to your fire-based spells. When casting spells with the fire descriptor, you gain a +1 competence bonus to caster level. This is a continuous effect and requires no activation. The ring has 3 charges, renewed daily at dawn. Spending 1 or more charges grants a bonus to the amount of damage you deal with the next fire spell you cast before the end of your turn. (If the spell doesn’t normally deal fire damage, this expenditure has no effect).

  • 1 charge: +2d6 fire damage
  • 2 charges: +3d6 fire damage
  • 3 charges: +4d6 fire damage

My player intends to use all 3 charges for +4d6 fire damage with the scorching ray spell, which says

You blast your enemies with fiery rays. You may fire one ray, plus one additional ray for every four levels beyond 3rd (to a maximum of three rays at 11th level). Each ray requires a ranged touch attack to hit and deals 4d6 points of fire damage.

The rays may be fired at the same or different targets, but all bolts must be aimed at targets within 30 feet of each other and fired simultaneously.

My question is this: Does the ring of mystic fire grant the character a +4d6 fire damage per ray? I’m inclined to rule that the ring does add its damage to each ray, but that risks making the spell overpowered, even though it is only once per day. And, even if overpowered, I prefer to rule in favor of what makes sense.

Is there a way to start leveling Mystic Theurge at level 4 without alternative source or Mad Faith?

For backstory I was making a Grey Elf for a upcoming game. We’re starting at level 3 and the GM basically gave us a blank check of "No Dragon magazine, no Third Party, no Pun Pun". In this case No Pun Pun just meaning no memeibly stupid characters that crash the universe. The only other rules are nothing like flaws for feats or the like, but all feats, classes, and races are allowed more or less. Dragon rules out the normal cheese of alternate source, which arguably doesn’t work anyway. This leaves me with the only remaining option of Mad Faith. For anyone not aware its basically a divine version of precocious apprentice, gives you a 1st, 2nd, or 3rd (depending on a factor I’ll ask about later) divine spell. So I would meet all requirements as early as level 3. But there’s a problem. The feat requires a whole variant rule system from Hero’s of Horror, funnily enough the same book that gave us my divine class Archivist.

My plan was to go Grey Elf Wizard (UA transmutation Domain if that maters) 1st level for Precocious Apprentice, then two levels of Archivist, taking Mad Faith at 3rd level to get my 2nd level spell. But here comes the rub, I need Moderate Depravity (again a condition from HoH) to qualify and get the feat. Moderate Depravity isn’t something you can normally get from character creation, its something that just happens to you like CoC insanity. Running around with hallucinations that give me -6 to initiative and a excuse to act like i just drank cactus juice once in a while isn’t a problem for me but it means I’ll have to ask my GM for permission before the game to have madness from backstory reasons. I have a good feeling that he’ll say yes but i’d like to find a alternative if possible.

Race isn’t really flexible here because I was planning on taking a level in wildrunner for trackless step to qualify for Arcane Hirophant later. Though anything with a regional restriction is allowed and Alignments don’t matter unless you’re getting powers from a patron like a cleric. The plan on this is a character that eventually has 17/18 Wizard Archivist casting. Character concept is basically a magic obsessed Elf that wants to eventually learn everything, thus why he’s taking levels in the two classes with the most arbitrarily expansive spell access.

Things I’ve also considered: Bamboo Spiritfolk arguably works though trackless step as a racial instead of a class feature is a bit shaky for my taste, I’m not sure how that works by Raw, though it would let me skip Wildrunner and thus skip the feat and enter MT at level 5 for a end result of 17/19 Wizard Archivist. I also considered a Illumian Wizard/Rogue/Loredelver/Ur-Priest/Fochlucan Lyrist for a similar 9th level Arcane/Divine outcome but Druidic is a annoying requirement and the build doesn’t hit its stride until level 15 or so. Even if a level 20 character with 3 attacks and 9th level spells from two sources sounds fun.

Can a Warlock use Mystic Arcanum to cast a spell using the At Higher Levels option a spell? [duplicate]

Can a Warlock use Mystic Arcanum to cast a spell using the At Higher Levels option a spell?

I just wanted to check if this is possible or not.

I realise that Mystic Arcanum allows me as a Warlock to cast a 6th-level spell, such as Mass Suggestion, but what if I want to cast a spell that I know using the At Higher Levels option of that spell?

For example, with a spell like Thunderwave if a Wizard casts it as a 6th-level spell it would be able to do 2d8 + 5d8 fire damage.

In our campaign our DM has allowed us to use the expanded spell lists from the recent Class Feature Variants which appeared as an Unearthed Arcana supplement.

Would I be able to use my Mystic Arcanum to cast Thunderwave at 6th level and do the 2d8 + 5d8 fire damage?

Thanks for your advice with this.

Can a mystic sense nearby creatures using telepathy?

This question was raised by one of my players who is playing a third version mystic from unearthed arcana (released on 13/03/2017).

To provide a couple of example scenarios:

  • He has tried to use this on an animated armor (before it moved) to sense if there was a mind present.
  • On a corpse to see if it was actually dead or just pretending to be.

He argues that according to the description of the telepathy feat, a telepathic connection is made between him and his target. And that he should be able to sense if there is a mind present to make this connection.

At 2nd level, your mind awakens to the ability to communicate via telepathy. You can telepathically speak to any creature you can see within 120 feet of you in this manner. You don’t need to share a language with the creature for it to understand your telepathic messages, but the creature must be able to understand at least one language or be telepathic itself.

This argument is seems backed by the description of the telepathy spell, which also mentions a telepathic link.

You create a telepathic link between yourself and a willing creature with which you are familiar. […]

From a story/roleplaying perspective, this makes sense to me and I sort of agree.

Mechanically speaking it seems pretty overpowered for a second level feature. I know unearthed arcana isn’t supposed to be perfectly balanced and imbalances are possible when using playtest content. But I’m more concerned with how to interpret the wording than with actual player power.

So far I’ve established that talking telepathically with a creature is like regular talking but instead of using sound waves you’re using telepathic signals. And instead of targeting everyone within earshot, you’re targeting one specific person. But I would be happy to change this if any literature was more specific.

I would prefer an answer with 5th literature sources but if these don’t exist, I would be happy with an answer from previous editions as well.