Is there a method to change damage from psionic powers to nonlethal?
I am looking for answers in the 3.x/d20 material from Official WotC sources (published by WotC or by authorized ‘official’ sources such as Athas.org and similar. By this metric, Pathfinder and Dreamscarred don’t count.)
Final Sacrifice (https://2e.aonprd.com/Spells.aspx?ID=689) targets one minion, slains it and does damage to everyone close to it.
Nonlethal Spell (https://2e.aonprd.com/Feats.aspx?ID=1835) can make a spell nonlethal, which means it "knock creatures unconscious instead of kill them".
What would happen to my minion if i cast a nonlethal final sacrifice on it? Would it die or not?
In plotting out low-level encounters at the start of a campaign (especially with new players) I prefer to create opponents who don’t want to kill the PCs right away. Instead, I generally have them use nonlethal force and capture the PCs if they lose a fight. Then I provide the PCs with a potential out to escape captivity later.
I’m aware that some GMs strongly advocate against capturing PCs on the basis that players hate the feeling of helplessness that capture provides, but I haven’t had bad luck with it in the past, and its useful in generating challenging encounters with much less risk of total party kill, especially at low levels where margins for error are small (I’m talking about D&D 3.5, but this generally holds true of most tactical system RPGs as well).
In the past I’ve used as a pretext for this opposition consisting of slavers (the PCs will bring a fine price if captured alive) and evil cultists (the Blood God demands living sacrifices on the night of the Blood Moon!) But the truth is my imagination could use some fresh input. What other generic reasons can you think of that the opposition would use nonlethal force on the PCs?
The rules for nonlethal damage state:
You can use a melee weapon that deals lethal damage to deal nonlethal damage instead, but you take a –4 penalty on your attack roll.
Does this allow for a spellcaster wielding a weapon-like touch spell to deal nonlethal damage with that spell’s effect without needing to take a metamagic nonlethal substitution feat?
Relates to this question, but this specific question seems to be unanswered.
I’m looking for ways to ensure an enemy dies on the exact blow I want them to, and one of the solutions I came up with was to drop them with nonlethal damage, then convert it to lethal.
Is there any kind of effect that does this?
This is a direct follow-up to this other question of mine and assumes that, indeed, one may wield a Talisman of (Pure Good/Ultimate Evil) as an improvised weapon and apply both the regular melee damage from an improvised weapon plus the Talisman’s radiant/necrotic damage if the creature is not of the right alignment.
The Player’s Handbook states the following about Knocking a Creature Out :
Sometimes an attacker wants to incapacitate a foe, rather than deal a killing blow. When an attacker reduces a creature to 0 hit points with a melee attack, the attacker can knock the creature out. The attacker can make this choice the instant the damage is dealt. The creature falls unconscious and is stable.
Can one decide to strike a maligned foe non-lethally (and therefore knock them out instead of killing them) with a Talisman of (Pure Good/Ultimate Evil) ?
My hesitation relies on the fact that the radiant/necrotic damage from the Talisman does not directly come from the melee attack, but rather from the item. I think it might still work, but I am unsure.
This question already has an answer here:
- Can spells or spell-like abilities do non-lethal damage? 4 answers
So the rules, to my knowledge, say that a melee attack can be non-lethal. Does this mean that a spell like Inflict Wounds or Primal Savagery can be non-lethal? As for ranged spells, I imagine a volatile spell like Fireball or Lightning Bolt that can hit multiple enemies couldn’t be restrained to non-lethal, but what about a single target spell like Chromatic Orb or Eldritch Blast?