Are monks only allowed to use non-unarmed weapons as off-hand when two-weapon fighting?

Do the special rules regarding monks’ unarmed strikes prevent monks from using unarmed strikes as off-hand weapons when using two-weapon fighting?

The monk class’ unarmed strike section states:

There is no such thing as an off-hand attack for a monk striking unarmed.

The context of this is dealing with 1x vs. 1/2x strength, but as a side effect, does it mean a monk must use a weapon rather than an unarmed strike when using two weapon fighting to generate more attacks per round?

Two-weapon fighting states:

If you wield a second weapon in your off hand, you can get one extra attack per round with that weapon.

It then states later on, confirming that unarmed strikes may normally be used:

(An unarmed strike is always considered light.)

Armorer Artificer Off-Hand with Power Armor?

OK, so the armorer artificer (UA) specialization states:

Lightning Launcher. A gemlike node appears on one of your armored fists or on the chest (your choice). It counts as a simple ranged weapon, with a normal range of 90 feet and a long range of 300 feet, and it deals 1d6 lightning damage on a hit. Once on each of your turns when you hit a creature with it, you can deal an extra 1d6 lightning damage to that target.

Page 195 of the PHB states:

TWO-WEAPON FIGHTING
When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you’re holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different light melee weapon that you’re holding in the other hand. You don’t add your ability modifier to the damage of the bonus attack, unless that modifier is negative. If either weapon has the thrown property, you can throw the weapon, instead of making a melee attack with it.

(emphasis mine)

This, to me, implies that the artificer can use a shield, have his gem-node on his chest attack, and still has a hand free for an off-hand thrown weapon attack (as long as it’s a simple weapon). The fact that one of his infusions can allow boomeranging thrown weapons make this viable if, you know, it’s viable.

Anyone have any insight?

What would using staff in main hand while using a light shield and rod in offhand entail?

Is it possible to use a Light Mithril shield +5 (I believe I can enhance shield?) in my offhand and a rod of (metamagic or absorption) in the same hand and still receive the AC bonus from the shield?

In my main hand I plan on having a staff or wand while rod and shield are in offhand. Would having these items in hand interrupt my casting of regular spells?

I’m playing an oracle/sorcerer, so components aren’t an issue.

Then if the rod of absorption/metamagic is used to block a spell or enhance spell would this disregard my shield bonus until next turn, similar to using the shield to shield bash?

Order of offhand attack and extra attack [duplicate]

This question already has an answer here:

  • Can you break up your Attack action for a bonus action? 4 answers
  • Does it matter which weapon I attack with first when two-weapon fighting? 1 answer

Both two weapon fighting and extra attack give additional attacks in a turn, but in what order do those three attacks take place? Is it up to the player, or must it be a specific order?

My initial assumption is that this would go: (action) attack – extra attack – (bonus action) offhand attack. But since a bonus action can take place at any time on your turn, is the offhand attack allowed to happen before the attack action, as long as you do take the attack action that turn? Or could it happen in the middle of the attack, between your attack and extra attack?

This obviously doesn’t normally matter, but when dealing with multiple enemies, movement, and different weapon enchantments, it could. And since that offhand attack doesn’t get your ability modifier, that could also affect the order one may want to make the attacks.

For instance, your off-hand flame-tongue might easily take down the fire-weak enemy in front of you, while your primary hand weapon could be used to attack an enemy 15 feet away – but you need to take care of this enemy before moving to avoid the opportunity attack.

When does using your off-hand confer a -20% penalty?

Having picked up WFRP 2nd edition again after (quite) a few years, I’m not sure how the off-hand penalty works, if it applies only to attacks or to any and all actions performed with it, including parrying etc.

The Ambidextrous talent (p.97) implies there’s a -20% WS/BS penalty for using a weapon in your off hand. It does not say this would affect attacks only.

The Balanced weapon quality (p.105) again implies there’s a normal -20% to your WS when wielding a weapon in your off hand. It does not specify attacks only.

The description of Main Gauche, that is, a left-handed dagger (listed on p.108, described on p.109) implies that it was designed for defense (parrying) and not attacking, and it has the abovementioned “Balanced” quality. This in turn implies that parrying with an off-hand weapon not designed for defense carries the -20% penalty.

However, Two Weapon Fighting tells us (p.130) that attacks from a secondary hand suffer a -20% penalty. There’s no mention of other actions (including parrying) carrying the same penalty. (This could be because the paragraph focuses on attacking, though.)

I haven’t found any other generic statement about a normal penalty to using your off-hand. Maybe I’ve missed it only, though.

My question is:

When does using your off-hand confer a -20% penalty in WFRP 2nd edition?

Is it just and exclusively for attacks, or for any and all actions including parrying with shields etc (unless there’s something like “Ambidextrous” or “Balanced” that offsets it)?

Can a kensei/swashbuckler use an offhand finesse weapon to trigger sneak attack, without using a bonus action?


Context

For a relatively new campaign I’ve built a kensei (monk). At level 7, 8 and 9 (we’re level 4 now) I’m planning on taking three levels in swashbuckler (rogue). Now I’m exploring my options for triggering Sneak Attack with this character, in melee.

My character’s Kensei Weapons are a longsword and longbow. So with this multiclass idea I won’t be able to trigger Sneak Attack with the trusty longsword, or with my Unarmed Strikes, because Sneak Attack states:

Once per turn, you can deal an extra 1d6 damage to one creature you hit with an attack if you have advantage on the attack roll. The attack must use a finesse or a ranged weapon.

You don’t need advantage on the attack roll if another enemy of the target is within 5 feet of it, that enemy isn’t incapacitated, and you don’t have disadvantage on the attack roll.

Combat situation

When engaged in melee combat, my game plan is to wield a longsword in my main hand and a finesse weapon (dagger) in my off-hand, while still having the rest of my body ready for making Unarmed Strikes (knees, elbows, kicks, headbutts, etc). When the circumstances are right for making a Sneak Attack, I would like to strike with the dagger, without the need for swapping weapons and without taking a bonus action.

Question

My goal is to use my usual attack and damage roll for the dagger when I declare the off-hand weapon attack during my Attack action or Reaction. I would be wielding my longsword too, but not necessarily attack with it on the same turn. Would this work by RAW? Or would I be needing to have the dagger in my main hand for this?

I’m new to the workings of Two Weapon Fighting, so I might be overlooking something here.


Related:

  • Rogue using Dual Wield and Sneak Attack