How can a character be able to Detect Thoughts on multiple people at once?

Since this video came out (timestamped to the important part), I have been puzzling over any spell I could find to understand what’s going on. While I know a DM can invent all they want for NPCs and enemies, I also know that Monty Martin (the DM of that game) finds pleasure in beating his players with enemies that conform to the same parameters that PCs have (thus making a RAW PC as his villain and outplaying the actual PCs). So I am sure that this demonstration of skill from the sallow-eyed man is an actual RAW spell or ability, though I have not been able to find such a trick since that episode first aired.

Does anyone know of a way that a character can be granted "mass detect thoughts"?

Rarity for an item that allows a reroll once per day

I had an idea for a homebrew magic item – at least, I think it’s homebrew as I can’t find anything similar online; but I was sure the Critical Role crew have something similar…

Stone of Luck

Once per day, you may activate this stone targeting one creature you can touch. For the next hour, that creature may reroll one Ability Check, Attack Roll or Saving Throw of their choice (they must use the new roll).

What rarity would you assign to this? I think (I’m hoping) it feels Uncommon, but I’m really not sure.

Can Cure Light Wounds Mass target the same creature more than once on its casting?

When you cast the mass version of the cure light wounds spell, its range changes from touch to close and from creature touched to creature touched/level with targets within 30 feet of each other. To this sounds like a ray spell as you would have to make an attack roll vs every creature (this is because you could target undead and living creatures with the same casting). Is it possible to have the same creature targeted by the spell more than once? I dont see any place which states you can only affect a creature once with the casting.

Update:

Since there has been debate over how the rules should be applied in this case, lets do a comparison with out multiple touch spells.

  • Cure Wounds mass spells “Target one creature/level, no two of which can be more than 30 ft. apart”
  • Chill Touch “Targets creature or creatures touched (up to one/level)”
  • Haste “Targets one creature/level, no two of which can be more than 30 ft. apart”
  • Bull’s Strength mass “Targets one creature/level, no two of which can be more than 30 ft. apart”
  • Cat’s Grace mass – “Targets one creature/level, no two of which can be more than 30 ft. apart”

Since I dont know of anyone who can successfully claim that Chill Touch cant be applied to the same target multiple times in a round assuming a sufficient bab or hasted. Someone can be affected by multiple haste spells, but only one has the effect, and is not helpful doubling up in this case because its part of the same spell so any effect that would dispel or counter one would get all instances of it. Same with Bulls and Cats. The most important difference is that the others except for Chill Touch say “One creature” but that can be thought of in two ways. The one likely intended being that a creature can only be selected once for the spell, or the creature can be selected multiple times each time taking up one of the creature targets.

Return once more to the Light Side

In my campaign a level 13 paladin PC is about battle a blackguard. Eventually, the paladin will realize the blackguard is a former colleague who fell from grace. I’m sure the player will want to turn the blackguard back to the side of good again after the blackguard is defeated.

Can a blackguard regain his good alignment? If the blackguard does become good, what happens?

Does Alchemist’s Fire damage get rolled once, or every turn?

Alchemist’s Fire does things quite differently from other items, being an improvised weapon that must always use ranged attacks, and deals its damage on subsequent turns, not when thrown. And Jeremy Crawford has tweeted a number of clarifications about how the damage works. But there’s one thing that I haven’t found any answers about, whether official, tweet, or even just accepted common practice. Does the damage get re-rolled every turn, or only the once?

On the one hand, only once would make sense with Crawford’s tweets; Dexterity gets added to the damage it deals, because that damage is the one roll made for the weapon’s damage, and the usual rule applies. Which feels more sensible than adding Dex to every roll, turn after turn.

On the other hand, there’s no rule to explicitly say that it’s rolled only once, and ongoing damage is usually re-rolled every time.

So, is the idea supposed to be that the improvised range weapon deals 1d4+dex damage, and the target takes that same damage every turn, or is it that they take a re-rolled 1d4+dex every turn?

For context: I DM, and a player with a Fast Hands-using Thief just brought this up. The whole Dex-to-ongoing-damage thing had always felt a bit off to both of us. He had an idea that his might be the intended interpretation, and I can’t actually find anything anywhere that actually definitively rules either way.

What algorithm would fit the use case of single resource multiple jobs at once?

I have a single resource that will need to shared for running multiple parallel jobs. Think of the resource as a straight line numbered from 1 to 100. The jobs occupy part of the line while they are running. Each job has a start and end unit associated with it and it can only be run between those ranges.

For example lets say we have 3 jobs waiting to run –

  • JOB-A is defined to run between 30 (start) to 70(end) units on the line
  • JOB-B between 40 to 90
  • JOB-C between 10 to 20 etc

We can run as many parallel jobs as we want but none of them should overlap with the other one thats running. So in this case we can only run either JOB-A and JOB-C or JOB-B and JOB-C at the same time as JOB-A and JOB-B overlap each other in their range.

The time taken by the job to finish running is based on its length. For example JOB-A runs for 40 seconds (70 minus 30). Once a job is done, it is removed and we get free space that we can allocate to other newer jobs.

So in the above example, if we were to pick JOB-A and JOB-C to run in parallel, we have to wait 40 seconds for JOB-A to complete before we can run JOB-B (since JOB-B’s range overlaps with JOB-A). We cannot break up the jobs into pieces.

Is there an algorithm that fits this problem? What do you think would be a good way to approach this?

Can a spell be prepared once and cast multiple times?

Our group had some confusion about preparing spells for a Wizard and Cleric. The rules say that you prepare a number of spells from your list and that you tick off spell slots when you cast a spell. In D&D 3.x, if you wanted to cast a spell multiple times you had to prepare it multiple times, but we couldn’t figure out from the rules whether or not this was the case in D&D 5e.

So can a spell be prepared once and then cast multiple times?

Query to check if column value appears more than once then apply condition

I have a PostgreSQL query:

SELECT DISTINCT ON ("contract"."contract_id") "contract"."id"  FROM "contract_versions" "contract"  WHERE "contract"."client_id" = 1  GROUP BY "contract"."contract_id", "contract"."id"  ORDER BY "contract"."contract_id", "contract"."change_effective_date" DESC 

I want to add something like if contract_id occurs more than once then change_effective_date >= now()

I tried using:

SELECT DISTINCT ON ("contract"."contract_id") "contract"."id",        COUNT("contract"."contract_id") AS cnt  FROM "contract_versions" "contract"  WHERE "contract"."client_id" = 1  AND CASE WHEN "cnt" > 1 THEN "contract"."change_effective_date" <= now() END  GROUP BY "contract"."contract_id", "contract"."id"  ORDER BY "contract"."contract_id", "contract"."change_effective_date" DESC 

but its throwing an error column “cnt” does not exist

Thanks

Can there be more than 67 kalashtar in existence at once?

Kalashtar were originally formed when 67 adaran monks fused their being with quori spirits from Dal Quor. All descriptions of the race, as well as their naming convention suggests a 1:1 ratio of human:quori, ie. that in one kalashtar there is exactly one quori and one human.

Combining these two statements could lead one to believe that the number of kalashtar is limited by the number of quori that escaped Dal Quor at that time. Is this so? I see no mention of such a cap.

If there can be more than 67 kalashtar at a time, where do the quori come from? Do they also reproduce? Do new ones escape Dal Quor?