Do my opponents get a penalty to see me if I sneak up from behind?

My friends and I started a Dragon Age Roleplay and in the situation “A rogue approaches a creature from behind,” we must test the creature’s sight against the rogue’s dexterity. An argument arose that the creature doesn’t receive a penalty for facing the other direction. The GM said that it’s not written in the rules, while I think that it’s only natural for a penalty in the opposing check.

Can someone help me with that argument? Does the creature get a penalty, or not?

Does a golem’s magic immunity bypass its opponent’s defensive spells?

What happens if, for instance, a Golem tries to grapple a foe that had freedom of movement cast on it?

Immunity to Magic (Ex) Golems have immunity to most magical and supernatural effects, except when otherwise noted.

An iron golem is immune to any spell or spell-like ability that allows spell resistance.

Freedom of movement allows spell resistance, therefore the Golem is immune to it. However, the spell isn’t on the golem, even though it is affecting the Golem. Is there a clear rule/precedent for which way this would go?

My gut instinct is to say "yes, the Golem ignores your defensive spells". They may not be being cast on the Golem, but they are still "magical effects", and thus covered by the blanket statement at the start of the Golems entry. Also, I dislike that freedom of movement completely shuts down grappling as a viable strategy for both PCs and enemies at higher levels; SR and magic immunity bypassing it seems like an elegant solution.

Does moving behind full cover count as “leaving the opponent’s reach” for purposes of Attack of Opportunity?

Suppose I am fighting an enemy with the usual 5-foot reach. He is standing next to a wall beside an open doorway. I am in next to him in the room. Without leaving his 5-foot range, I move to the other side of the wall. Does he get an attack of opportunity?

                                                 M --------  -----    to  --------M -----  to--------  -----            EM                     E                  E 

Assume that the wall is only a foot thick and is halfway in E’s square and halfway in mine, so that E(nemy) and M(e) are in adjacent squares in the final diagram. But the enemy cannot reach me through the wall, so have I “left his reach” taking an attack of opportunity while in the doorway?

If there was no wall there, I could move to that position without provoking any opportunity attack. Does the wall being there make it easier for the foe to attack me somehow?

Does your analysis change in the 3-dimensional case where the creature potentially leaving reach is an incorporeal creature moving from the square next to an enemy to the square (cube) next to and below the enemy?

Is there a class ability magic item, or spell that will allow me to telekinetically disarm one or more opponents?

Disarm action (DMG p271) Allows you to use a weapon attack to attempt to disarm a foe.
I would love to be able to do this to one or more opponents telekinetically, similar to Darth Vader in Rogue One.
Are there any class features, magic items, or spells that might let me accomplish this?

What mechanic would be used for taking an opponents weapon from it’s sheath on his belt in combat?

Here is the scenario.

I am attacking a fighter with a crossbow. I run out of bolts and am unnamed as he charges at me with a spear. My opponent has a short sword on his belt. He misses with his initial spear attack and its my turn.

I want to take his sword from it’s sheath and if possible attack him with it. What process or series of checks need to be made for this to work?

Can the Dispel Magic spell be Readied to counter an opponent’s spell?

When playing as a spellcaster, is it valid the use of the Ready action to prepare Dispel Magic to counter a spell cast by an opponent? In the same vein, when declaring said action, do I have to specify which spell slot I will use when Readying the Dispel Magic spell? If that is the case, does this tactic nullify an opponent’s spell?

I get the impression that this is basically turning Dispel Magic into a spell with a casting time of "1 reaction". Is my reading of the rules accurate?

Can a ranged rogue effectively stand back and sneak attack opponents every turn with a ranged weapon while their allies fight on the front line?

Rogues can use ranged weapons to make sneak attacks. Also, the rogue rules state that:

You don’t need advantage on the attack roll if another enemy of the target is within 5 feet of it, that enemy isn’t incapacitated, and you don’t have disadvantage on the attack roll.

Does this mean that basically a ranged rogue can stand back and sneak attack opponents every turn as his buddies are fighting with them on the front line? Did I miss some rule about shooting into melee or does that sound pretty mighty?

Can continual flame be cast on an opponents helmet to blind them?

The Spell Continual Flame(p227 of the Player’s handbook) Is a touch spell. It does not offer any parameters as to what qualifies as a target other than it has to be an object. In theory you could touch an opponents helmet and a flame would spring forth. Potentially blinding him. (With no save and no attack roll).

Where as the light cantrip (p255 of the Player’s handbook) Specifically states:

If you target an object held or worn by a hostile creature, that creature must succeed on a Dexterity saving throw to avoid the spell.

This leads me to believe the spell is working as intended.

Is there a rule or ruling that I am missing?

Do YOU need to touch your opponents with your power is mine?

This is a power question about insatiable of the Beast splat

The text itself goes: An Insatiable can steal an Atavism or Nightmare from a Beast by touching her opponent and spending a point of Satiety.

Now I’m wondering if a beast has grappled the insatiable can the insatiable then use this power without “moving” aka without making an attack roll? Or does it have to manage to get control of the grapple and then use the power via an active action?

Excuses for opponents using nonlethal force? [closed]

In plotting out low-level encounters at the start of a campaign (especially with new players) I prefer to create opponents who don’t want to kill the PCs right away. Instead, I generally have them use nonlethal force and capture the PCs if they lose a fight. Then I provide the PCs with a potential out to escape captivity later.

I’m aware that some GMs strongly advocate against capturing PCs on the basis that players hate the feeling of helplessness that capture provides, but I haven’t had bad luck with it in the past, and its useful in generating challenging encounters with much less risk of total party kill, especially at low levels where margins for error are small (I’m talking about D&D 3.5, but this generally holds true of most tactical system RPGs as well).

In the past I’ve used as a pretext for this opposition consisting of slavers (the PCs will bring a fine price if captured alive) and evil cultists (the Blood God demands living sacrifices on the night of the Blood Moon!) But the truth is my imagination could use some fresh input. What other generic reasons can you think of that the opposition would use nonlethal force on the PCs?