Defy Danger or Golden Opportunity

In Dungeon World, if the GM describes a hazard and a player disregards it should that trigger the Defy Danger move or be considered a Golden Opportunity that triggers a GM move?

For example:

GM: The swamp beast lurches out of the mist, a mass of grasping, strangling tentacles reaching out to towards anything within reach. What do you do?

Fighter: I run up and hit it with my sword.

Surely that isn’t a simple Hack & Slash. But should it trigger a GM move or a Defy Danger move?

Would it change the answer if the Swamp Beast had the Reach tag but the Fighter’s sword only had the Close tag?

Does moving behind full cover count as “leaving the opponent’s reach” for purposes of Attack of Opportunity?

Suppose I am fighting an enemy with the usual 5-foot reach. He is standing next to a wall beside an open doorway. I am in next to him in the room. Without leaving his 5-foot range, I move to the other side of the wall. Does he get an attack of opportunity?

                                                 M --------  -----    to  --------M -----  to--------  -----            EM                     E                  E 

Assume that the wall is only a foot thick and is halfway in E’s square and halfway in mine, so that E(nemy) and M(e) are in adjacent squares in the final diagram. But the enemy cannot reach me through the wall, so have I “left his reach” taking an attack of opportunity while in the doorway?

If there was no wall there, I could move to that position without provoking any opportunity attack. Does the wall being there make it easier for the foe to attack me somehow?

Does your analysis change in the 3-dimensional case where the creature potentially leaving reach is an incorporeal creature moving from the square next to an enemy to the square (cube) next to and below the enemy?

5e Can Specters move into the ground to avoid Attacks of Opportunity?

In 5e, Specters have Incorporeal Movement which says

The specter can move through other creatures and objects as if they were difficult terrain. It takes 5(1d10) force damage if it ends its turn inside an object.

Therefore, I assume Specters can move through ground as if it were difficult terrain.

Could a specter attack a creature, move into its space and then move straight down into the ground to avoid an Attack of Opportunity? Regardless if it would be intelligent enough to do so, would the AoO happen before it is fully submerged below ground or would the ground protect the Specter?

My guess would be the ground would protect it because once it leaves the 5ft reach of its target, it would be mostly submerged.

Can you grapple a creature as an opportunity attack?

This came up in a game I was in the other day, so I’m curious as to know what people think.

A gnome was attempting to flee past us up the stairs and I declared that I’d like to try and stop him, by using my reaction to make a grapple attack of opportunity. My DM declared that I wasn’t able to use grapple as an AoO (obviously what the DM says is fine, but I want to know what RAW/RAI says). Instead I had to “attack” the gnome with non-lethal force (which scared the gnome into running more).

Can you grapple as an attack of opportunity?

Grappling:

When you want to grab a creature or wrestle with it, you can use the Attack action to make a special melee attack, a grapple. If you’re able to make multiple attacks with the Attack action, this attack replaces one of them. (PHB pg.195)

Attacks of Opportunity:

You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach. To make the opportunity attack, you use your reaction to make one melee attack against the provoking creature. The attack interrupts the provoking creature’s movement, occurring right before the creature leaves your reach. (ibid)

My thoughts on this are that

  • RAW: You need to use the Attack action to make a grapple.
  • RAI: Grapple is an a melee attack and can be used as an opportunity attack.

Premium Domain Name Portfolio For SALE – Great Investment Opportunity

Selling my entire domain portfolio which includes 30 premium .com domain names and portfolio website, all for only $ 950

1. Seller Bio

Selling my domain portfolio of 30 premium .com domain names. This sale includes all 30 domain names and the portfolio website. Sale also inludes every custom logo on each domain. All for only $ 950

2. Executive Summary

For the new owners It will be easy to profit from these domains. You can easily make the money back by selling 1…

Premium Domain Name Portfolio For SALE – Great Investment Opportunity

Do the Tunnel Fighter UA fighting style and the Polearm Master feat combine to grant indefinite opportunity attacks?


Here’s the scenario:

The character in question has both the Tunnel Fighter fighting style from Unearthed Arcana: Light, Dark, Underdark!, which says:

You excel at defending narrow passages, doorways, and other tight spaces. As a bonus action, you can enter a defensive stance that lasts until the start of your next turn. While in your defensive stance, you can make opportunity attacks without using your reaction, and you can use your reaction to make a melee attack against a creature that moves more than 5ft while within your reach.

As well as the Polearm Master feat (PHB, p. 168), the second bullet point of which says:

While you are wielding a glaive, halberd, pike, or quarterstaff, other creatures provoke an opportunity attack from you when they enter your reach.

Assuming you hit every target that enters your reach (10 feet, unless you’re using a quarterstaff), could you essentially take out a stampede of kobolds who have no ranged weapons? (Or some other instance of lots of easy-to-hit targets rushing at the player.)

Am I correct in assuming this means all approaching targets are attacked once as they enter my reach? Am I missing something that says otherwise in this scenario?

This combination seems really good to protect the rest of the group from a swarm of enemies and to abuse choke points. It’s almost too good against weaker enemies.

Opportunity Attack, Ready Action, & Eldritch Blast/Repelling Blast


Scenario:

A druid ally is in melee range of an enemy berserker and decides to move away, provoking an attack of opportunity from the berserker.

My character has readied an action: Cast Eldritch Blast (with Repelling Blast invocation) on the berserker in question if he attacks the druid.

What I think happens

The druid’s movement is interrupted by the attack of opportunity which is in turn interrupted by the readied Eldritch Blast. Assuming the Eldritch Blast hits, I can push the berserker out of melee range of the druid, thereby negating the attack of opportunity.

Is this correct?

Similar situations

What if, rather, the trigger was the druid moving? What if the trigger was the berserker raising his weapon or rearing back in preparation for an attack?

When an invisible character leaves a blindsight creature’s reach, does the creature get an Opportunity Attack?

A character in the party cast Invisibility on herself, making her invisible. She then tried to move past a Giant Spider, which has Blindsight 10 ft. Per “Does Blindsight detect Invisibility?” the Spider can still tell that the character was there, since the rules for Blindsight say “A monster with blindsight can perceive its surroundings without relying on sight”

But, as she leaves the Spider’s reach, does the Spider get an Opportunity Attack? Per the rules, “You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach.”

Blindsight just says “can perceive”, but an Opportunity Attack requires “you can see”. Is the “perceiving” of Blindsight enough to be able to “see” for the purposes of the Opportunity Attack rule?

As the DM, I ruled “no” simply on the principle that “When in doubt, rule in favor of the players”, but I’m really not sure that’s right, as I may be taking things too literally.

Can the third benefit of the Mobile feat prevent multiple creatures you attack in a single turn from making opportunity attacks against you that turn?

I am playing a monk. I wanted to use the Mobile feat, specifically the third option that prevents opportunity attacks, to do the following:

  1. hit creature 1 with my attack, then move away from creature 1
  2. then use Flurry of Blows on creature 2, then move away
  3. then make an unarmed strike on creature 3

…all without provoking opportunity attacks from any of them, thanks to the Mobile feat.

However, I was told that I can not do that because it only works for one creature and only my action is a "melee attack" or some such reason.

Is my interpretation right according to "rules as written", or am I misunderstanding how it works? It seems quite vague.

Does moving a grappled foe through someone’s threatened area trigger an attack of opportunity?

If one has grappled a foe, and then succeeds on a check to maintain it, one of the options is:

You can move both yourself and your target up to half your speed. At the end of your movement, you can place your target in any square adjacent to you. If you attempt to place your foe in a hazardous location, such as in a wall of fire or over a pit, the target receives a free attempt to break your grapple with a +4 bonus.

The attack of opportunity (AoO) rules state that:

Moving out of a threatened square usually provokes attacks of opportunity from threatening opponents. There are two common methods of avoiding such an attack—the 5-foot step and the withdraw action.

  1. Does being moved out of a threatened square by someone else (in general, or while grappled) triggers an AoO?
  2. If it does, would that trigger the "if you attempt to to place your foe in a hazardous location" clause?