Was Original D&D an Historical Wargame?

At the dawn of roleplaying, the Castle & Crusade Society and Lake Geneva Tactical Studies Association (LGTSA) focused on Medieval Britain, and produced the Chainmail tabletop wargame rules with a fantasy supplement, which in turn spawned the original Dungeons & Dragons game.

Design choices indicate that the focus was historical. Consider pole arms, extensively described in OD&D supplements and AD&D 1e, all of which inflict the same damage but which are individually specific to certain nationalities.

Was D&D originally intended to be an historical wargame with certain fantasy additions, roleplaying optional? (Bonus: Cite specific historical/wargame bits which were included.)

Mass update all cells in a column with a substring of it’s original value

I need to trim the last seven characters off of all the cells in a column.

This query returns the results that I need

SELECT test_date, SUBSTRING(test_date FROM 1 FOR CHAR_LENGTH(test_date) - 7) as test from results; 

I now need to take the computed result from the substring and replace the original values.

Here’s what the data looks like, if it helps.

Data Table

Can a Warlock research Original spells?

The Dungeon Master’s Guide (Page 198) details how to create your own custom spells by doing in-universe research. It states that “A spellcaster of any kind can create a new spell”. Whether a Warlock is even a spellcaster is already arguable. They don’t technically cast spells, they have invocations. However, they do have caster levels. Meaning that they are, perhaps, spellcasters without spells.

My question: Does a Warlock qualify for researching new spells? And if yes-… Can they actually learn their own spells as an invocation? Or have they made a ‘spell’ that they can therefore never use?

What was the original intent for the feature that StrandHogg uses?

The “Affinity” of Android tasks seems really complex to handle. The StrandHogg vulnerability uses tricks with “Affinity” to render itself inside an another app.

The information that I’ve found this far does not provide exact details of vulnerability but as far as I know there is not a technical vulnerability but a poorly designed API which allows for clever social engineering attacks.

Is there a real use case for the API behavior that StrandHogg uses?

If I have understood correctly, the API the vulnerability uses allow attacker to place its own Activity on the victim “Back stack”. From reading the API description and the provided example cases the main intent of this API is to allow embedded activities from other apps to be displayed within your own task. However, the StrandHogg vulnerability seems to the other way around: using API to push your own activity over another task’s “Back stack”.

My best guess is that the attack uses the weird behavior described on page 100 of presentation called “Manipulating Android tasks and back stack” from year 2011. However, I cannot imagine any sensible use case for the behavior described.

Is there any difference between original prints and PoD (Print on Demand) source books?

Regarding source books by Onyx Path/White Wolf (for the World of Darkness), is there any difference between original prints and PoD (Print on Demand) source books?

Basically, is there a way to know if a source book is an original print? Are there any differences in paper or print quality? Are there other ways to tell them apart?

Are Simic Hybrids no longer able to access the features of their original race?

I am creating a drow monk character who, to oversimplify things, was altered by an ex-member of the Simic Combine in order to put them in a sort of Witness Protection. For this question, the only two details that are important are that she’s a drow who still identifies as an elf, and she was enhanced with animal parts, because the more I thought about it, the more I realize this race is a D&D version of a classic philosophical question:

“How many enhancements do you need before you stop being human?”

In GGtR, P. 20, it states:

The Simic Combine uses magic to fuse different life forms together. In recent years, the Simic Combine has extended this research to humanoid subjects, magically transferring the traits of various animals into humans, elves, and vedalken. The goal of the Guardian Project is to build a Simic army of soldiers perfectly adapted to a variety of combat situations. These hyper-evolved specimens are called Simic hybrids, though they sometimes refer to themselves as guardians.

Also:

A hybrid’s biological enhancements can change its appearance drastically, though most hybrids retain their basic physical form. All are augmented with characteristics of animals, mostly aquatic, reptilian, or amphibian creatures.

And:

Animal Enhancement. Your body has been altered to incorporate certain animal characteristics. You choose one animal enhancement now and a second enhancement at 5th level.

So putting all this together, it seems like the being would still be fundamentally an elf, human or vedalkin, simply with additional parts they have control over (Kinda like Spiderman’s Doctor Octopus without the mind control)

If this is the case, then would my drow still be able to reach her racial feats, or has D&D determined that one enhancement process has no longer qualified her to identify as an elf?

Similarly, the Elf race has it’s players starting with one known cantrip under the idea that you’ve been so exposed to magic, you learned to do one party trick, but do it really well. Since you become a hybrid as an adult, does this mean the Simic Combine stole your ability?

Original French Recipe Website with 70K visitors in 2019

Why are you selling this site?

Not much time to develop it further.

How is it monetized?

I have added AdSense to a few pages, but nothing to speak of as I haven't given a great deal of thought on placement.

Does this site come with any social media accounts?

No.

How much time does this site take to run?

Articles haven't been added since 2016, though I recently have done website re-design which has made the website look a lot better and reduced bounces….

Original French Recipe Website with 70K visitors in 2019

Counterspell a Counterspell. Is then the original spell being able to cast?

Assume target A casts fireball.

Assume target B casts counterspell on A’s fireball using his reaction.

Now target A can use his reaction and also cast counterspell on target B’s counterspell.

Does this mean that A can finally cast fireball and B can do nothing about it?

Or does this mean that B can cast another counterspell to counter A’s counterspell attempt?

This gets out of hand so I described it as simple as I could. I hope I get an answer because I was on a dispute with one of my PCs for this mechanic.