Using pools outside of combat

Rules for Shadowrun 3e on page 43 states that:

Dice pools initially become available for use at full value as the first step of the first Combat Turn of any encounter.

I interpret it as pools being available only during combat. However, I find it very strange that i.e. casting spells is much easier during combat than outside of initiative.

Is there any other part of rules that allows usage of pools outside of combat? I not, does anybody have some coherent set of house rules governing usage of pools outside of initiative?

Should a PC get XP for assisting outside of combat?

Related, but about a PC not participating at all in a combat: Do people get XP for battles they weren't in?

Generally, experience points for a combat encounter are divided equally among the participants.

If a PC does not participate directly in a combat, but significantly contributes to the success of the party in another way, should they count as part of the combat party for the purposes of awarding XP?

For example:

  • A PC scouts out the party that the PC’s are planning to attack and relays back essential intelligence that allows the rest of the PC’s to win the combat, but then the scout PC goes on another scouting mission or does something else rather than join the actual fight.
  • A PC provides equipment, buffs, money, logistical support, diversionary tactics, or other resources to those who end up participating in the combat, but withdraws before the first round of “combat” begins. For example, a PC turns themselves in to the Town Guard and confesses to an offense. While the Town Guard is occupied in processing the PC into jail, the rest of his party attacks Town Hall.

Are these kinds of PC’s actually considered participants in the combat, even though they did not actually swing a weapon, cast an offensive spell, etc.? That is, these are PC’s that contributed, but did not specifically have any “combat rounds” where they had opportunities to take combat actions, roll dice, be wounded, etc.

If whether these roles count for XP is dependent on criteria, what differentiates an XP-worthy support role versus a non-XP-worthy support role? Could it, as @NautArch alluded to, involve whether the support PC risks their life or endures a substantial risk of being drawn into a literal round of combat (even though they successfully avoid it)? It would be more plausible, I think, to award XP to a PC who pilots a scout balloon over enemy territory and risks being shot at (even though he ends up not being shot at because the enemy does not see him as a sufficient threat because reasons), than it would be to award it to a PC who stays at home and casts buff spells on those going out.

The real life equivalents of the characters that I’m talking about here are essential elements of any real-life military, militia, or law-enforcement group – they are the drivers, transport pilots, dispatchers, mechanics, radio operators, cargo loaders, intelligence analysts, scouts, code breakers, etc. who enable the literal people on the ground with the weapons to accomplish their job.

Problem with “does not evaluate to a numeric scalar at the coordinate {2.75,3/2}, but it is outside domain

enter image description here

Problem with "does not evaluate to a numeric scalar at the coordinate {2.75,3/2}, but that point is outside domain. How can I fix it??

Remove["Global`*"] ; Needs["NDSolve`FEM`"] HeatTransferModelAxisymmetric[T_, {r_, z_}, k_, ρ_, Cp_,Velocity_, Source_] := Module[{V, Q}, V = If[Velocity === "NoFlow", 0, Velocity.Inactive[Grad][T, {r, z}]]; Q = If[Source === "NoSource", 0, Source];(1 - (r)^2 - ((1 - 0.5^2)/(Log[1/0.5]))*Log[1/r])*D[T, z] +1/r*D[-k*r*D[T, r], r] + D[-k*D[T, z], z] + V - Q] op = HeatTransferModelAxisymmetric[T[r, z], {r, z}, k, ρ, Cp,"NoFlow", "NoSource"] parameters = {k -> 10, d -> 10}; Subscript[Γ, flux] = NeumannValue[40*(500 - T[r, z]), r == 2.5]; Subscript[Γ, temp] = DirichletCondition[T[r, z] == 1200, r == 1]; Subscript[Γ, enter] = DirichletCondition[T[r, z] == 800, z == 0]; Ω = Rectangle[{1, 0}, {2.5, 3}]; pde = {op == Subscript[Γ, flux],Subscript[Γ, temp],Subscript[Γ, enter]} /. parameters; Tfun =NDSolveValue[pde, T, {r, z} ∈ Ω]; MassTransferModelAxisymmetric[c_, {r_, z_}, d_, Velocity_, Source_] :=Module[{V, Q},V = If[Velocity === "NoFlow", 0, Velocity.Inactive[Grad][c, {r, z}]];Q = If[Source === "NoSource", 0, Source];(1 - (r)^2 - ((1 - 0.5^2)/(Log[1/0.5]))*Log[1/r])*D[c, z] + 1/r*D[-d*r*D[c, r], r] + D[-d*D[c, z], z] + 4.67`*^14*Exp[-36635/(Tfun[r, z])]*c + V - Q] op2 = MassTransferModelAxisymmetric[c[r, z], {r, z}, d, "NoFlow","NoSource"] Subscript[Γ, enter] = DirichletCondition[c[r, z] == 800, z == 0]; pde2 = {op2 == Subscript[Γ, enter]} /.parameters;cfun=NDSolveValue[pde2, c, {r, z} ∈ Ω]; 

Can the area of the additional spell effect of Druid Grove extend outside the area of Druid Grove?

The spell druid grove (XGtE, pg. 154) lists several effects that the caster may impose on the spell’s area (30-90 ft. cube). The spell also comes with an "Additional Spell Effect"; this reads:

You can place your choice of one of the following magical effects within the warded area:

  • A constant gust of wind in two locations of your choice
  • Spike growth in one location of your choice
  • Wind wall in two locations of your choice

So you select one of these spell effects and choose the location of its point of origin within the druid grove area.

The each spell’s listed area of effect can easily extend beyond the boundaries of the druid grove, especially if you only create a 30 foot cube grove.

Can the area of effect of the additional spell effect extend beyond the boundaries of the grove, or does the grove restrict the spell’s listed area?

As an example see this diagram. Here we have a 30 by 30 foot druid grove, and a 20 foot radius spike growth centered at the center of the grove:

enter image description here

Does such an arrangement work? Or must the spike growth be confined to the 30 x 30 foot area of the grove?

What happens when I redirect an attack with mounted combatant but I am outside the reach of their weapon on a grid?

The mounted combatant feat (PHB 168) allows someone to "force an attack targeted at your mount to target you instead."

Suppose I am playing on a grid. Let E be enemies without reach/ranged weapons. M be the spaces a large mount occupies. And R be the space I occupy while riding the mount.

$ \begin{array}{|l|l|r|} \hline \text{E} & \ \hline \text{E} & \text{M} & \text{R}\ \hline \text{E} & \text{M} & \text{M} \ \hline \end{array} $

What happens when I redirect an attack with mounted combatant but I am outside the reach of their weapon on a grid?

Can Encode thoughts be acquired outside of the Dimir Background?

Encode thoughts is only, normally available to characters with the Dimir background.

Is it available to other characters who might get cantrips outside of traditional methods? Like Pact of the Tome or Magical secrets? My intuition is no, because they let you get cantrips off of class spell lists, but this cantrip is not on a class spell list.

Index was outside the bounds of the array [closed]

int[] damageNumbers = new int[4] { 5, 10, 15, 20 }; int rand = UnityEngine.Random.Range(0, 5); enemyDamage = damageNumbers[rand]; 

The Unity documentation and the code explanation in the code editor states that the max value is exclusive, so if I want the random value to be from 0 to 4, I put int (0, 5).

For some reason Unity is getting an IndexOutOfRangeException and it says it is the 3rd line in my code, why is that? Thanks in advance. 🙂

Does going outside of range or line of sight after casting a spell have any effect?

Does going outside the range of the spell or breaking line of sight between the caster and target break concentration or otherwise affect control over the spell?

For example, a Heat Metal spell has a range of 60 ft. If I cast the Heat Metal spell on a an armored foe, and that foe runs outside the range of the spell (60 ft), or around the corner, does that break concentration and end the spell? Heat Metal also allows you to use a bonus action to cause the 2d8 of damage — would exercising that option be prevented by being out of range or line of sight?

add_action works outside condition but not inside it

I am developing a theme framework for my own purposes.

So this time i am facing a problem, that is add_action works out side conditional.

add_action( 'meanz_before_main_wrap', 'meanz_entry_header_structure_open', 5 ); add_action( 'meanz_before_main_wrap', function(){echo "<div class='title_cat'>";}, 6 ); add_action( 'meanz_before_main_wrap', function(){echo meanz_post_cats();}, 7 ); add_action( 'meanz_before_main_wrap', 'meanz_do_title', 25 ); add_action( 'meanz_before_main_wrap', function(){echo "</div>";}, 49 ); add_action( 'meanz_before_main_wrap', 'meanz_do_thumbnail', 50 ); add_action( 'meanz_before_main_wrap', 'meanz_entry_header_structure_close', 100 ); 

Otherwise if is use a conditional like this, it doesn’t work

if(is_single()){ add_action( 'meanz_before_main_wrap', 'meanz_entry_header_structure_open', 5 ); add_action( 'meanz_before_main_wrap', function(){echo "<div class='title_cat'>";}, 6 ); add_action( 'meanz_before_main_wrap', function(){echo meanz_post_cats();}, 7 ); add_action( 'meanz_before_main_wrap', 'meanz_do_title', 25 ); add_action( 'meanz_before_main_wrap', function(){echo "</div>";}, 49 ); add_action( 'meanz_before_main_wrap', 'meanz_do_thumbnail', 50 ); add_action( 'meanz_before_main_wrap', 'meanz_entry_header_structure_close', 100 ); } 

Don’t know why it doesn’t work. Any comments?

Sorry for wrong code. Updated the question.