What would be the effects of allowing dual Pact Weapons?

I have been considering a Hexblade Warlock with a houserule to allow two Pact Weapons, so that they could dual-wield. What would the effects of such a houserule be? It is an extra option for Pact of the Blade, but is it stronger than things they can already do? It doesn’t seem like it to me, except maybe with the Improved Pact Weapon invocation giving two +1 weapons. But even that doesn’t seem too bad considering Polearm Master could basically do the same thing.

Do pact archetype wizards have full curse progression?

I’m pretty sure that I can’t be reading this right, but the pact wizard archetype from 5th level says you gain an oracle curse and you count your oracle level as half your wizard level. Looking up the oracle’s curses it says that the curse has a level equal to your oracle level plus 1/2 your level in any other classes. To me this means that at say 10th level you count your oracle level as 5th, no problem there, but the description under the curse suggests that you have 10 class levels which would give an additional 5 curse levels. Did they really mean for the pact wizard to get full curse progression? I can’t find anything about it.

Curses do apparently progress without level of oracle, was this just supposed to indicate a more serious advance than just a 1 level dip in oracle could expect?

Are the Hex Warrior weapon & Pact of Blade weapon the same or different?

The Hexblade Warlock has me in a bind. Hex Warrior explains:

…whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch one weapon that you are proficient with that lacks the two handed property. When you attack with that weapon use your charisma modifier…

Pact of the Blade says:

you can use your action to create a pact weapon in your empty hand. You can choose the form that this melee weapon takes each time you create it. You are proficient with it while you wield it. This weapon counts as magical for the purpose of overcoming Resistance and immunity to nonmagical attacks and damage.

Are these two different weapons you can use or just one? If so can I use my improved pact weapon on both?

Warlock Pact of the Blade – Proficiency

The Pact of the Blade feature of the Warlock reads (emphasis mine):

You can use your action to create a pact weapon in your empty hand. […] You are proficient with it while you wield it. […]

It goes on to say:

You can transform one magic weapon into your pact weapon by performing a special ritual while you hold the weapon. […] …it appears whenever you create your pact weapon thereafter. […]

Suppose my human warlock got her hands on a nice +1 warhammer. Normally, she is not proficient with warhammers. If she uses this feature to transform the +1 warhammer into her pact weapon, she can later summon it at will. Am I correct in interpreting that as long as she wields the +1 warhammer as her pact weapon, she is proficient with it? Or does that clause only apply to the “default” pact weapon?

Will anything break if I allow the Warlock pact weapon to be called with a bonus action instead of an action?

I have a Warlock in my group that rarely ever gets his pact blade out, since it takes an action to summon it. Given that drawing a regular weapon doesn’t even take a bonus action, is there anything in the rules that could break if I allow the weapon to be summoned using a bonus action instead?

The use case is to seem as harmless as possible – none of the Warlocks features are openly visible or rely on bulky equipment. But if there is a fight, time is of the essence and wasting a round’s action on calling the weapon seems too ineffective.

At what level is the Pact of the Chain spell, Find Familiar, cast by a Warlock?

In a detail that came up as I asked this question I’d like to know how find familiar works for a Warlock who casts spells at levels above first level.

Pact of the Chain

You learn the find familiar spell {a first level spell} and can cast it as a ritual. The spell doesn’t count against your number of spells known.

A Warlock at level 4 knows 5 spells, has two spell slots and all spell slots are at level 2. (PHB table “The Warlock”). The Pact of the Chain find familiar does not count against spells known.

  1. The Warlock gets this spell at third level after choosing Pact of the Chain. Is it a second level spell(per the table) or — since it doesn’t count against spells known and is cast as a ritual — does it remain a first level spell?

The Warlock table shows how many spell slots you have. The table also shows what the level of those slots is; all of your spell slots are the same level. {snip} … 5th level, you have two 3rd‑level spell slots. To cast the 1st-level spell Thunderwave, you must spend one of those slots, and you cast it as a 3rd‑level spell.

Is this Pact Boon outside of the limitations of the spells on the table?

Rules for spell casting, Rituals, includes this text:

The ritual version of a spell takes 10 minutes longer to cast than normal. *It also doesn’t expend a spell slot, which means *the ritual version of a spell can’t be cast at a higher level**.

This makes great sense for spells that have “at higher level.” Find familiar doesn’t have that feature, so I am not sure if this applies.

Since it doesn’t cost a spell slot, and is a ritual (not eligible to be cast at a higher level) would that Pact of the Chain boon remain a first level spell (regardless Warlock’s level who casts it), or does the Warlock table drive the spell level up?

The answer helps a question about how to fill up all of the spell slots in a Ring of Spell Storing. (If it stays at first level, this represents an exception to the general requirement that Warlock spell are always cast at the same level).

Is the Pact of the chain is as bad as it look? or did I just missed something?

The warlock’s pact of the chain look really bad in comparison with other pacts options. You just can have better familiar than other peoples.

One the other hand, you have pact of the blade (aka I litteraly have a subclass based one me pact, and almost all my invocations are at least super usefull), and the pact of the tome (aka pact of the chain that come later but less good with an invocation + all rituals of the game + 3 cantrips – with Book of ancient secrets). Unless you are the group tank and you want the “An healing spell always make me full life” invocation – Gift of the Ever-living Ones – it’s look like an always bad choice.

Am I missing the point, or did this pact option is just a bad option?

What named creatures or beings would fit thematically as patrons of a Dark Pact warlock?

What named creatures or beings would fit thematically as patrons of a Dark Pact warlock? By “named”, I mean a being that exists in some lore (primarily but not necessarily limited to Forgotten Realms lore).

The only example I have seen is in the Dragon Magazine #381, where it lists (on page 48) a creature called Yorgrix, Weaver of the Poison Web, which is a demonweb spider living in the Underdark.

Before almost an entire page about that patron, it more broadly references this (also on page 48):

Whether drow, dark spirit, or creatures of terror, dark patrons lurk in the hidden places of the world.
    Common Patrons: Demons (especially servants to Lolth), purple dragons, and legendary dark spirits of the Underdark such as Yorgrix

So possible named patrons would presumably include any known Demon Lord (or any named demon), and any named purple dragon, but “legendary dark spirits” is a bit more vague…

The sentence above that mentions “drow, dark spirit, or creature of terror”, so does that mean a drow mage would make an appropriate patron, kind of like a Sorcerer-King Pact (as I understand it)? This is more of a secondary question, though; my main question is about named beings that would work as patrons for a Dark Pact warlock.

Are there any other named examples throughout 4e source material? These “legendary dark spirits” are of primary interest to me, I’m not really interested in gathering lists of named demons or purple dragons (that sounds easier to simply Google, but expanding on what these “dark spirits” are is something I feel would benefit from 4e expertise; note that I only have knowledge of 5e).


Related: What books cover Star Pact Warlocks and their awful masters?
Related: What books cover Fey Pact Warlocks and their awesome masters?

Would moving Hex Warrior’s benefits for pact weapons to Pact of the Blade itself improve balance?

As described in my answer to another question, the Hex Warrior feature offered by the warlock’s Hexblade patron offers a kind-of-counter-intuitive upgrade to Pact of the Blade:

If you later gain the Pact of the Blade feature, this benefit [using Charisma instead of Strength or Dexterity for attack and damage rolls] extends to every pact weapon you conjure with that feature, no matter the weapon’s type.

(Xanathar’s Guide to Everything description of the Hex Warrior feature, p. 55)

I’ve often heard it said that Hexblade is a bit overpowered, but Pact of the Blade is a bit underpowered. It therefore occurs to me that we might be able to smooth things out a bit:

Would it improve matters to remove this feature from Hex Warrior, and add it to Pact of the Blade? Specifically, imagine Hex Warrior and Pact of the Blade are changed to read as follows:

Hex Warrior

[…] The influence of your patron also allows you to mystically channel your will through a particular weapon. Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch one weapon that you are proficient with and that lacks the two-handed property. When you attack with that weapon, you can use your Charisma modifier, instead of Strength or Dexterity, for the attack and damage rolls. This benefit lasts until you finish a long rest. If you later gain the Pact of the Blade feature, this benefit extends to every pact weapon you conjure with that feature, no matter the weapon’s type.

(Xanathar’s Guide to Everything with removed sentence struck out)1

Pact of the Blade

You can use your action to create a pact weapon […] You are proficient with it while you wield it, and you can use your Charisma modifier, instead of Strength or Dexterity, for the attack and damage rolls with this weapon. This weapon counts as magical for […]

(Player’s Handbook description of Pact of the Blade with my addition in bold)

Answers to this question should consider this question from two angles:

  1. Does this make Hexblade more balanced with other patron options for Pact of the Blade warlocks? The goal is that Hexblade be less quasi-mandatory, and more of an equally-powerful option.

  2. Does this make Pact of the Blade more balanced with other Pact Boon options? The goal is that Pact of the Blade be on more-equal footing than it was before.

In both cases, answers should address both whether the change is moving in the correct direction, and whether the change overcompensates and goes too far (e.g. that Hexblade becomes an underpowered option, or Pact of the Blade becomes an overpowered one).

  1. Note that Hex Warrior retains the ability to use Charisma on attack and damage with the chosen weapon. Note that the chosen weapon is not a pact weapon, and that gaining Charisma to attack and damage with pact weapons is a separate ability—one I am moving to Pact of the Blade. Note that this means that warlocks with the Hexblade patron but not the Pact of the Blade feature see no change from this.

Can other party members wield a warlock’s pact weapon?

Lets say the group’s Great Weapon Fighter and Bladelock have their weapons confiscated. Can the Warlock call his pact weapon and, assuming it is the type of weapon the Fighter uses mostly, give it to the Fighter for the Fighter to use in combat?

The rules say the pact weapon disappears if it is more than 5 feet away from the summoner for more than 1 minute. During this time can the Fighter use it?