Is a Dexterity-based paladin build competitive with a Strength-based paladin as a front-line fighter?

After the release of Volo’s Guide to Monsters, I was bantering with some friends about character concepts with the new races. One that came up was a Kobold Paladin—and once that seed was planted, the character idea has developed personality and backstory and wants to become a real PC.

My question: Is a Dexterity-based paladin build competitive with a Strength-based paladin as a front-line fighter?

The stereotype for paladin that’s presented is a burly, heavy-armour-wearing, heavy-weapon-swinging pillar of righteous wrath. If we challenge the stereotype and make a high-dex, lightly-armoured finesse paladin, what effects would it have on the class’s combat effectiveness (which seems to be tied primarily to damage output and survivability) in filling the role of a front-line fighter?

  • AC: Low STR means no access to heavy armour. Full plate is a fixed AC 18 but studded leather (AC 12 + DEX mod) will give AC 17 by Lv8 and without spending ridiculous wads of cash (which would probably put the full plate out-of-reach until about this level anyways).

  • Damage The best finesse weapon deals d8 damage (average roll: 4.5), heavier weapons usually deal d10 (average roll: 5.5). That’s only 1 point of damage difference (on average), which shouldn’t be make-or-break territory?

None of the other Paladin features that I saw seemed to use STR as an attribute—so as far as I can see the only hits to making this holy kobold avenger are -1 to max AC, -1(average) to damage output.

Am I missing anything? Alternatively, are these seemingly-small disadvantages actually much larger than they appear?

In case it helps, feats are allowed, as are any rules from official supplements from WotC

If a paladin becomes Large, at what point does the paladin’s aura originate?

If you enlarge a paladin (so that they take up 2×2 squares on a grid), what point does their aura’s radius start at?

For Medium/Small creatures (who take up a 1×1 square on a grid), it radiates from one of the corners of the square. For Large creatures, is it still at one of the corners of the 2×2 square, at the intersection at the center of one of the sides of the creature’s space, or at the intersection at the center of the creature’s space?

Additional info:

  • According to the designers, the point of origin of a spherical area of effect is at the intersection of squares on a grid.
  • According to Mike Mearls, paladin auras work the same way.

Can the Oath of Vengeance paladin cast Vow of Enmity on invisible target

I was reading the Channel Divinity abilities of the Oath of Vengeance of the paladin and under Vow of Enmity, it says

As a bonus action, you can use your Channel Divinity to choose a creature within 10 ft. and gain advantage on attack rolls against it for 1 minute or until it drops to 0 HP or falls unconscious.

My question is can this spell be cast on an invisible creature, since it is not written that I need to see it ?

For reference, Channel Divinity: Abjure Enemy says the following:

As an action, you can choose one creature within 60 ft. of you that you can see to make a WIS saving throw (14). Fiends and undead have disadvantage on this saving throw. On failure, the creature is frightened and its speed is reduced to 0 (and it can’t benefit from bonuses to speed) for 1 minute or until it takes any damage. On success, the creature’s speed is halved for 1 minute or until the creature takes any damage.

Here is proof that I’m reading it in DnDBeyond, on my character’s page enter image description here

Can a paladin use the Divine Smite feature with a thrown weapon?

A paladin’s divine smite says (PHB. 85), “…when you hit a creature with a melee weapon attack…”, which I’m seeing two ways to interpret.

  1. “A melee attack with a weapon”, so as long as it’s a melee attack and you’re using a weapon smite away.

  2. “An attack with a melee weapon”, is where things get odd. Under (PHB. 149), “Simple Melee Weapons”, includes spears which have the Thrown property. Thrown states (PHB. 147), “…you can throw the weapon to make a ranged attack. If the weapon is a melee weapon…”, so even while being thrown it is still a, “melee weapon”

Since it would be easy to house rule this (Rule of Cool: Smiting with a spear sounds neat) I’d like an answer that either references word of god or provides a convincing argument that this type of reading applied to other parts of the rules results in absurdities.

Would a Minimus Imprisoned Paladin still provide aura benefits to nearby allies?

If you cast imprisonment with the option Minimus Containment on a high-level paladin, can you wear the gem as a necklace and continue to gain paladin buffs? This is assuming that the paladin continues to view you as an ally.

I assume that the paladin is considered to be conscious since the spell does not say otherwise and it mentions that it is possible for the creature trapped inside the gem to view what is going on outside.

Suitable deities for a drow paladin from the Underdark in 3rd edition dnd?

I want to make a drow paladin in 3.5 edition from the forgotten realms, however I am having some trouble picking a deity.

My DM has already told me that I cannot make a paladin of Elistraee because (1) she does not have any paladins in 3rd edition, and (2) she is a chaotic good deity who does not support order. In 3rd edition Paladins must be lawful good, so they should not worship a chaotic diety.

Are there any other Underdark deities that are neutral good, lawful good, or lawful neutral, that an outcast drow paladin might follow in 3rd edition?

Lawful good oathbreaker paladin

One of my players has come up with a really interesting backstory, basically he was brought up in a cult worshipping an evil god as a paladin of that god, due to an event that happened he realised that the path he had been led down from birth was the wrong one and decided to break his oath and instead works to thwart that god.

To my mind this would be a perfect for the oathbreaker paladin class but the description for that indicates that the oathbreaker must be evil for they have done horrific things.

Now this was a character who was evil but is becoming good trying to atone for the bad his family have done, stop his god and his agents and try and live a good life. He is actually talking about writing his own treaties down which will be the opposite of everything his god believes. Therefore I think the oathbreaker class in this case should be allowed to be on the good end of the spectrum, we have said that the player will be neutral when the campaign starts and still having to consciously not slip back, there is a clear arc here where he can then find his own redemption and become good.

Is this an acceptable change to the oathbreaker class or should I be looking at pointing him to something different for the same storyline?

Could a Paladin use the Divine Smite ability on a disarm attack?

The Oath of Redemption Paladin that I DM for has asked me for clarification on disarming rules. I’ve decided to use the optional rules from page 271 of the DMG, which state:

Disarm
A creature can use a weapon attack to knock a weapon or another item from a target’s grasp. The attacker makes an attack roll contested by the target’s Athletics or Acrobatics check. If the attacker wins the contest the attack causes no damage or other ill effect, but the defender drops the item.

However, I am wondering if he would be able to activate his Divine Smite on that disarm.

Divine Smite
When you hit a creature with a melee weapon attack, you can expend one spell slot to deal radiant damage to the target, in addition to the weapon’s damage.

Technically the Paladin has hit the target with a melee weapon attack which leads me to want to rule yes. The disarm rules do state that the attack causes no damage or other ill effects, but the Divine Smite wouldn’t be strictly part of that attack. I feel like I am leaning towards allowing Divine Smite to work after a successful Disarm, but wanted to see if there is any precedent for something like this as I have found no specific rulings to this question anywhere.

Can I use magic gifted by a deity if I’m not a paladin, warlock, or cleric of that deity?

So, I’m wanting to create this homebrewed God called "The Crow Lord" (basically a less depressing and edgy version of the Raven Queen) and I’m fairly new to D&D and I’m a bit confused. My little-to-no experience in D&D has told me one thing (mainly my DM saying it): that you can’t be a servant/follower of a deity unless you’re a warlock, paladin, or cleric of that deity. Is that correct?

Can I still use the magic gifted by the deity if I’m not a paladin, warlock, or cleric belonging to it? Or can you only worship a god and have your spells centered around that god (i.e. get in-game benefits like spells or buffs from that deity) if you’re a cleric, paladin, or warlock?

Is a Medium-sized Paladin allowed to use a summoned Mastiff as their mount?

The Paladin spells Find Steed (Player’s Handbook pg.240) and Find Greater Steed (Xanathar’s Guide to Everything pg.156) list the following creatures that are valid targets to be summoned as mounts:

Find Steed

  • a warhorse
  • a pony
  • a camel
  • an elk
  • or a mastiff

Find Greater Steed

  • a griffon
  • a pegasus
  • a peryton
  • a dire wolf
  • a rhinoceros
  • or a saber-toothed tiger

However, of these options, the Pony, Mastiff, and Peryton creatures are classified as "Medium" creatures. And per the Mounted Combat rules found in the Player’s Handbook (pg.198), a valid mount must be a size bigger than its rider:

A willing creature that is at least one size larger than you and that has an appropriate anatomy can serve as a mount, using the following rules.

The description for Find Steed stipulates that the summoned creature serves as a mount for the creature that summons them:

Your steed serves you as a mount, both in combat and out, and you have an instinctive bond with it that allows you to fight as a seamless unit.

Is this a case of Specific Beats General, where a medium-sized creature very well could ride on these magically-conjured medium steeds, or is such a creature still bound to obey the restrictions placed on them by the Mounted Combat rules?

A related question about Perytons being summoned by Find Greater Steed touches on this issue, but is scoped around questioning whether the statistics of a summoned Peryton are different from a normal Peryton. As a result, I don’t think it’s a duplicate of this question: What happens if I summon a Peryton with Find Greater Steed?