Protection from Evil cast on a player who’s already under a Charm Person spell?

I’m currently playing a D&D 3.5 campaign and in our last session our fighter has fallen under a Charm Person spell cast by an evil enemy spellcaster. My character is a Cleric and has access to both Protection from Evil and Magic Circle against Evil. If I cast the former upon the figher, or the other one so that the fighter is included in the affected area, what happens? I’m not sure how to interpret the spell’s description. From the PHB (emphasis mine):

The barrier blocks any attempt to possess the warded creature (by a magic jar attack, for example) or to exercise mental control over the creature (including enchantment (charm) effects and enchantment (compulsion) effects that grant the caster ongoing control over the subject, such as dominate person). The protection does not prevent such effects from targeting the protected creature, but it suppresses the effect for the duration of the protection from evil effect.

Therefore, it seems that once the spell is cast the target becomes immune to the mental influence of the evil entity. However, the spell description also says that (emphasis mine)

If the protection from evil effect ends before the effect granting mental control does, the would-be controller would then be able to mentally command the controlled creature. Likewise, the barrier keeps out a possessing life force but does not expel one if it is in place before the spell is cast.

It is clear that the spell does not nullify Charm Person, but the controller seems (at least) to be unable to give orders to the targeted creature. What about the order given before Protection from Evil is cast? There are three possible interpretations:

  1. Nothing happens, as the target was already Charmed before;
  2. The creature is still Charmed but the evil guy cannot give new orders (as Protection suppresses the effects of Charme);
  3. Charme Person is stopped for the duration of the Protection spell, and my fighter is free to act as he pleases.

Thank you for your input!

Does a person know who is on the other end of a sending stone?

At the end of the last session my players took out an enemy NPC who was using a sending stone while on the lookout for the rest of the gang they are sneaking up on.

I am fully expecting them to try and use the stone to pretend all is well, my gut feeling is to allow it, it is a clever use of a simple magical item to throw the enemy off track.

However I just wanted to make sure that mechanically this makes sense, I am pretty sure a sending stone is not like a radio, you don’t hear the other persons voice. But would a wielder know someone different is on the other end or is this a DM decision thing?

Can a Chwinga Grant a Given Person More Than one Charm?

So, within the Chwinga statblock, which can be found in Tomb of Annihilation and Icewind Dale: Rime of the Icemaiden, this ability appears:

Magical Gift (1/Day). The chwinga targets a humanoid it can see within 5 feet of it. The target gains a supernatural charm of the DM’s choice. See the Dungeon Master’s Guide for information on supernatural charms.

So, the question is how this interacts with the rule on simultaneous effects. Does Magical Gift linger along with the charm it bestows, or is it an instantaneous effect with the charm simply being bestowed, and thus able to be used an infinite amount of times on a given target without losing the effect of the blessings? (Yes, I am aware of the once per day limit, I’m asking if it could still be used every day to stack up effects, or possibly multiple Chwingas using it all at the same time for the same result)

How many things can a person hold and use at one time?

I’m learning to play / DM, and watching various videos on line and experimenting. One scenario came up on which I’d appreciate clarification:

The situation is a human wizard has descended some stairs into a dark room. They have taken a torch from the wall in the room above, and they’re carrying their staff in the other hand. They get down to the lower room, and find a handaxe on the floor. The character says: "I pick up the hand axe". My question is: does that imply that the player is now holding two things in one hand? I can’t imagine somehow stowing the staff in my robe… nor can I hold the torch in my teeth — sure I could probably manage to hold both a torch and an axe, or some other combination of two things at once, but I doubt I’d be very proficient… maybe the character switches the staff to the hand with the torch, and uses their dominant hand to use the axe?

How would you handle this as a DM? Just hand-wave it? Ask where the player is going to put either the torch or the staff? Or call out that they’re carrying the torch and the staff in one hand.. make a dexterity check to see if the torch is dropped? Or am I just over-thinking this?

As the action unfolds, the wizard then casts a spell with a somatic component, despite having three things in two hands… they then throw the axe (now just maybe they have two things in one hand) and cast another spell with a somatic component…

Am I just being pedantic here?

Is an unsuccessful attack on a creature under the effect of Charm Person “harmful” for purposes of ending the spell?

Consider the following elaborate scenario, which nevertheless actually occurred at our table.

Two PCs, Sophie Sorcerer and Roger Rogue, sneak into the hideout of hapless villain Tarley Target. While hidden, Sophie uses her Subtle Casting metamagic to silently cast sleep, rendering Tarley unconscious without ever alerting him to the intrusion. Sophie and Roger swiftly exfiltrate the sleeping Tarley from the hideout to their camp nearby, where Sophie successfully casts charm person on him. When the sleep spell ends and Tarley awakes, Sophie takes advantage of Tarley’s charmed condition: she dupes him into believing that someone else actually assaulted him, and that the PCs are in fact his saviors. Tarley, overcome with gratitude and having little cause to believe the PCs are really hostile, proceeds to spill his secrets. Once satisfied that she has squeezed every bit of useful information from Tarley, Sophie signals to Roger — who has been quietly, nonchalantly moving into striking position — to kill him. Initiative is rolled. Tarley is ruled surprised. Roger goes first, attacks, and misses.

Does Tarley’s charmed condition end?

The description of charm person says a target that fails its save "is charmed by you until the spell ends or until you or your companions do anything harmful to it." Does an unsuccessful attack count as "harmful" for purposes of charm person? Would it make a difference if Tarley remained unaware of the attack — e.g., because (as happened here) the DM ruled him distracted by Sophie’s riveting conversation?

Related questions:

  • This question asked what "harmful" means vis-à-vis charm person, but only in the context that the charmed condition restricts the charmed creature’s ability to "target the charmer with harmful abilities or magical effects."
  • This question asked whether the target of charm person has to know who damaged them in order for the spell to end, but that presumes damage was actually dealt.

Can you summon a spiritual weapon into the bubble created by Bead of Force? Can whoever is inside cast charm person on someone outside the bubble?

The wording for Bead of Force says "Only breathable air can pass through the sphere’s wall. No Attack or other Effect can." which obviously means that spells such as firebolt or ray of sickness could not harm a creature inside. However, what about spells that only require line of sight?

I’ve read the discourse on Wall of Force, which suggests that you would not be able to do such spells, and the wording is similar to Bead of Force.

What spell permits the caster to take on the alignment of a nearby person or object?

A Good character wants to infiltrate the headquarters of an Evil organization using a disguise. Said organization will cast Detect Good on all newcomers once upon entry. The character wants to pass that exam because Strategy (not avoid it).

Undetectable Alignment will raise eyebrows at the entry gate. "Everyone else submits to the scan. What have you got to hide, newcomer?" Nondetection will raise alarm bells for the same reason. Perhaps he could bluff his way past, but the objective here is to satisfy the test and get accepted by the gatekeepers.

I thought there was a Pathfinder spell which allowed the caster to pick something in close range, like nearby Chaotic Evil NPC Who Just Kicked A Puppy, and register as the alignment of that NPC: CE. Or you carry an unholy LE object in your backpack; under the spell, you register as Lawful Evil. Or you could pick up a pebble, cast the spell with the target as the pebble, and register as Neutral.

I have not found that in my Pathfinder 1e books so far.


Can an unconscious person drink a potion?

PHB 153 reads:

Potion of Healing. A character who drinks the magical red fluid in this vial regains 2d4 + 2 hit points. Drinking or administering a potion takes an action.

By my interpretation, this means that while the rules are flexible in regards to who has to spend the action, they are inflexible in that a character must still actually drink the potion. In other words, any character can administer a potion to save someone else’s action, but their target must be conscious and able to drink.

I know part of a DM’s job is to apply common sense to my rulings, and common sense tells me that an unconscious person is more likely to choke to death than to swallow 4oz of liquid.

A few of my players disagree. Who’s right in this situation?

How can I transfer this code (originally for FPS template) for use in a Third Person Template?

I learned how to create a blueprint for making a character be able to pick up and drop objects: code It did not work, and I believe the reason is because it was originally made to work for the FPS template that Unreal comes with. I decided to use the Third Person template, and I think that’s why it’s not working. Am I correct? What blueprint coding should I be looking at? What’s missing, or what’s preventing this from working? Thanks!