If the Phantom Steed spell ends because the steed takes damage, do you still have 1 minute to dismount?

The spell states:

When the spell ends, the steed gradually fades, giving the rider 1 minute to dismount. The spell ends if you use an action to dismiss it or if the steed takes any damage.

So, if the steed takes damage, does it still last for 1 minute, or does the spell end automatically if it takes damage?

What kind of creatures are subject to Phantom Rogue’s Tokens of the Departed?

This might get a little fiddly, but I was curious how people would rule on this aspect of Phantom Rogue’s level 13 feature, "Tokens of the Departed"

When a life ends in your presence, you’re able to snatch a token from the departing soul, a sliver of its life essence that takes physical form: as a reaction when a creature you can see dies within 30 feet of you, you can open your free hand and cause a Tiny trinket to appear there, a soul trinket. The DM determines the trinket’s form or has you roll on the Trinkets table in the Player’s Handbook to generate it.

Do you think that the creature necessarily needs a soul to be able to use this feature? IE, would this work on undead or constructs? Flavor text uses "soul" but RAW mechanic just says "when a creature dies" and "has soul" and "does not have soul" aren’t properties of a stat-block.

Thanks for your time.

Can another player benefit from the Phantom Rogue’s soul trinkets?

At level 9, the Rogue’s Phantom subclass (Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything) gets the ‘Tokens of the Departed’ feature, allowing them to create ‘soul trinkets’

When a life ends in your presence, you’re able to snatch a token from the departing soul, a sliver of its life essence that takes physical form: as a reaction when a creature you can see dies within 30 feet of you, you can open your free hand and cause a Tiny trinket to appear there, a soul trinket.

These trinkets have a couple of uses, one being:

While a soul trinket is on your person, you have advantage on death saving throws and Constitution saving throws, for your vitality is enhanced by the life essence within the object.

Given that you can have more than one soul trinket at a time (up to your proficiency bonus), it’s tempting to pass them around. It’s unclear whether the quoted soul trinket benefit is a property of the trinket or of the rogue, and hence unclear whether another character holding a trinket would gain advantage on death and Constitution saving throws.

How does a Rogue’s Expertise feature interact with the Phantom subclasses’s “Whispers of the Dead”?

The Phantom subclass from Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything has the following feature at 3rd level:

Whispers of the Dead
Whenever you finish a short or long rest, you can choose one skill or tool proficiency that you lack and gain it… You lose this proficiency when you use this feature to choose a different proficiency that you lack.

At 6th level, all Rogues get to choose two skills (or thieves’ tools) for expertise:

Expertise
…choose two of your skill proficiencies, or one of your skill proficiencies and your proficiency with thieves’ tools. Your proficiency bonus is doubled for any ability check you make that uses either of the chosen proficiencies.

Can you apply expertise to a skill gained from Whispers of the Dead, and what then happens if you choose to gain proficiency in a different skill after a rest?

Limits to appearance of a phantom steed

In a recent game session, a player wanted to become invisible and then use a phantom steed to quickly and stealthfully pass through the enemy camps surrounding a besieged city. This began a discussion of whether the phantom steed summoned could be transparent, or nearly so. The spell says:

A Large quasi-real, horselike creature appears on the ground in an unoccupied space of your choice within range. You decide the creature’s appearance…The creature uses the statistics for a riding horse

So what are the limits to the appearance of the steed? While "quasi-real", can it be made to appear so real that an observer would believe it to be a real horse? Can it be made to appear so unreal as to be seen through and receive a bonus on Stealth?

For the limit on how transparent it can be I thought the important restriction is that it has the stat block of a riding horse. Any permanent bonus to Stealth would be included within this block, and a riding horse does not have one. Thus, for me the mechanical limit to transparency would be that it could get a DM-assigned circumstantial bonus (advantage to Stealth checks depending on situation) but not a permanent bonus irrespective of circumstances (modification of stat block).

For the limit on how real it can appear, I looked to the spell Major Image, as an Illusion spell of equal level, whose illusions have the following property

A creature that uses its action to examine the image can determine that it is an illusion with a successful Intelligence (Investigation) check against your spell save DC.

Thus if the steed was summoned to appear real, it would fool any observer who was not explicitly trying to determine its nature, and even some of those depending on the roll. This approach of comparing the spell to same-school spells of equal level comes to me from 1e, with which I have more experience, and in which spells are much less clearly defined in terms of their limits. 5e, on the other hand, has the general principle that "spells do what they say they do". Is such a comparison to another spell then valid?

1. What are the limits to the appearance of a phantom steed? How real or unreal can it appear?

2. When deciding (1), is it useful to compare the spell to Major Image?

Can a mule benefit from a Phantom Steed?

The Phantom Steed spell creates a “Large quasi-real, horselike creature” that can be ridden by “you or a creature you choose”. “You decide the creature’s appearance” and it “uses the statistics for a riding horse.”

The rules for mounted combat state that “A willing creature that is at least one size larger than you and that has an appropriate anatomy can serve as a mount”

Can a mule ride on a phantom steed?

The conditions appear to be that (1) the Steed is willing (which I think we can assume from the nature of the spell), that (2) it is a size larger than the mule (Mules are Size Medium, Riding Horses are Size Large), and that it (3) has “appropriate anatomy”.

Now, obviously a real riding horse does not have an appropriate anatomy to be ridden by a mule.

But the phantom steed is not a riding horse. It is a “horselike creature”, whose appearance is decided by the spell’s caster.

So, RAW, does anything prevent the caster from stating that the steed created has its appearance including appropriate anatomy to be ridden by a mule, any other size medium or smaller quadruped, or other non-traditional riders?

Under what circumstances does a phantom steed take a minute to disappear


Phantom Steed
3rd level illusion
Casting Time: 1 minute
Range: 30 feet
Components: V S
Duration: 1 hour
Classes: Wizard
A Large quasi-real, horselike creature appears on the ground in an unoccupied space of your choice within range. You decide the creature’s appearance, but it is equipped with a saddle, bit, and bridle. Any of the equipment created by the spell vanishes in a puff of smoke if it is carried more than 10 feet away from the steed. For the duration, you or a creature you choose can ride the steed. The creature uses the statistics for a riding horse, except it has a speed of 100 feet and can travel 10 miles in an hour, or 13 miles at a fast pace. When the spell ends, the steed gradually fades, giving the rider 1 minute to dismount. The spell ends if you use an action to dismiss it or if the steed takes any damage.

Looking at the wording of this spell, it appears that because “when the spell ends, the steed gradually fades” and “the spell ends if you use an action to dismiss it or if the steed takes any damage,” is it correct to interpret this as meaning that even if a steed is attacked in combat, it is still a fully-functional mount for the next minute?

If so, to what extent does this apply? Would a steed targeted by Dispel Magic or one inside an Antimagic Field also take a minute to fade away as the spell ends? Is there any circumstance in which it would immediately disappear?

How does Phantom Steed behave in combat?

The description of the 3th level Wizard ritual spell Phantom Steed reads:

The creature uses the statistics for a riding horse, except it has a speed of 100 feet and can travel 10 miles in an hour, or 13 miles at a fast pace. When the spell ends, the steed gradually fades, giving the rider 1 minute to dismount. The spell ends if you use an action to dismiss it or if the steed takes any damage.

I’m unclear on how Phantom Steed behaves, especially in combat:

  1. If the steed takes enough damage to be killed, does it die immediately or does it continue existing for 1 minute?
  2. Can the steed perform the dodge, disengage, or dash actions as a regular mount can?
  3. Can the steed pull a wagon or other vehicles?
  4. If not ridden, does the steed block the space it is on? If not, is the space it occupies considered difficult terrain?

Can you ritual cast multiple Phantom Steeds and continue re-summoning them while traveling?

Can you ritual cast the Phantom Steed spell multiple times and in practice just re-summon them while you are traveling? So for example, could a Wizard ritual summon a horse, three times in a row. And then just focus on re-summoning them while he’s riding one of them. The spell lasts 1 hour, ritual casting it 3 times would take 33 minutes. So he should have more than enough time to summon new horses for himself and his party before any of the individual horses disappear. Is this correct?