Can two mages cast Wall of Fire in the same place?

I’ve been playing D&D for a long time but I’ve never encountered this situation until now. If a party has a wizard and a sorceress who both know Wall of Fire, can they cast it in the same place? Say most of the enemies are standing in a big conga line and it’s clearly one of the best spells to take them out. The mages happen to come one after the other in the turn order.

The description of Wall of Fire says:

When the wall appears, each creature within its area must make a Dexterity saving throw. On a failed save, a creature takes 5d8 fire damage, or half as much damage on a successful save.

One side of the wall, selected by you when you cast this spell, deals 5d8 fire damage to each creature that ends its turn within 10 feet of that side or inside the wall. A creature takes the same damage when it enters the wall for the first time on a turn or ends its turn there. The other side of the wall deals no damage.

Do the enemies standing in the area of effect take damage from each of the spells when they are cast? If they end their turn in the double fire wall, do they take 5d8 damage from each caster? For instant spells like Acid Splash it makes sense to me that the damage is applied with each cast, even if it is the same type. But if it’s a continuous area of effect like Cloud of Daggers (PHB, p. 222), do the damages stack?

Would there be a problem to incorporate Pathfinder-2e’s “Step” action in place of DND 5e’s “Disengage” action?

Pathfinder’s Step:

You carefully move 5 feet. Unlike most types of movement, Stepping doesn’t trigger reactions, such as Attacks of Opportunity, that can be triggered by move actions or upon leaving or entering a square. You can’t Step into difficult terrain, and you can’t Step using a Speed other than your land Speed.

DND 5e’s Disengage:

If you take the Disengage action, your Movement doesn’t provoke Opportunity Attacks for the rest of the turn.

My intention would be to create for DND 5e something like:

If you take the Step action, you can move 5 feet to an unoccupied space not in difficult terrain without triggering any opportunity attacks.

As Disengage applies for a creature’s full movement, I think giving the creature an extra 5 feet of movement when taking the Step action makes up for the loss. This would of course apply for NPCs and PCs, so I don’t see this giving an unfair advantage to one group over the other, except for maybe those with the ability to disengage as a bonus action, like Goblins or Rogues; switching that for the Step action about may be a slight nerf to the class/creature/race.

I find the Pathfinder Step makes more sense than the DND Disengage, as I can’t make sense of Disengage working for more than the enemies directly threatening the character: a creature that takes the disengage action could then run there full movement, potentially avoiding a dozen or more attacks.

Is there an alternative word to be used in place of Humanoid?

I find the term Humanoid to be (obviously) human centric, and am looking for a more generic term to use in place of it to define all intelligent creatures that exist in standard society of these fantasy worlds. A few examples of what I’m looking for:

  • A small hamlet town consisting mostly of gnomes, halflings, dwarves, and a small spattering of humans likely wouldn’t refer to themselves as "humanoids," so what would they call themselves?
  • A human player character is new in town and walks up to an elven resident, the elf would find it quite rude to be asked "What humanoids make up the general population here?" I suppose ‘races’ or ‘species’ might work here, but I think those would also be taken offensively.
  • A Beholder looks down on the intelligent residents of the realm and laughs at "those pitiful humanoids!" What if the beholder had never met a human, only the more rare races; where did it get the term ‘humanoid’ then?

My campaign is DND 5e set in Eberron, but any term from any setting or TTRPG or otherwise would work.

Can a Totem Warrior Barbarian choose a second Totem Spirit in place of an Aspect of the Beast?

Is it possible for a Totem Warrior Barbarian to select another totem from level 3 instead of the Aspect of the Beast at level 6?

At 6th level, you gain a magical benefit based on the totem animal of your choice. You can choose the same animal you selected at 3rd level or a different one. (Player’s Handbook)

This means that it’s possible for a Barbarian who selected the bear on level 3 (resistance) to e.g. select the eagle on level 6 (eyesight).

However, is it possible to select the eagle level 3 upgrade (Dash bonus action) on the Barbarian level 6 upgrade, when the bear was selected on the level 3 upgrade? As the Totem Spirit of level 3 is "lower" in some terms, I wouldn’t mind to allow it. This would create a level 6 Barbarian with resistance and Dash as a bonus action, a pretty fast tank character (for example).

And is this also valid for level 14 Totemic Attunement, thus allowing to select another (not yet selected) totem from the previous levels?

Does PGP passphrase necessary if I store private key and passphrase in the same place?

I’m building a system that generates PGP key and store private key in secret vault. One thing I’m not fully understanding is the need for passphrase.

I can generate a random passphrase during the key generation and then store it in the secret vault along side with the private key, but I’m wondering if it has any benefit. If I store both passphrase and private key in the same place and that place can be considered secure, is there any additional benefit of using the passphrase? Or just storing the private key securely is enough?

Can I misty step and place bag of holding inside another bag of holding in the same round (i.e. same time)?

The question is if placing bag of holding inside another bag of holding opens the gate to the Astral Plane (which was discussed here: Is it possible to stuff a Bag of Holding inside another Bag of Holding?), then – can I make misty step before the gate has opened? For example a character runs toward the monster, puts bag of holding inside bag of holding and makes misty step before being sucked through this gate?

Why can’t you use a bonus action in place of an action?

It’s pretty well established that you can’t use a bonus action (spell or otherwise) as your action on your turn. See here and here for those questions. But I still don’t really understand, why are the rules are set up that way?

The answers in the linked questions reference page 189 in the PHB where it says:

You can take only one bonus action on your turn, so you must choose which bonus action to use when you have more than one available.

Does anyone know why there isn’t a caveat along the lines of “you can only take two bonus actions if you use one in place of your action”?

I wouldn’t consider it productive to question why every rule is set up the way it is. But in this instance a quick search online will turn up numerous people who have a houserule that bonus actions can be used as actions, so apparently the reasoning behind it isn’t clear for a lot of players. Something from an official source would obviously be best, but I’d take a tweet from one of the game designers or even specific game situations where this would be problematic too.

How To Place Object On Ground Within Radius?

I’m using Unity and I’m building an object placement system where you’ll be able to position objects around the player.

I’d like to place objects flush with the ground, parallel to world up, even on slopes, so I’ll use a raycast for that.

How would I limit the distance to maxDistance? I tried using ScreenPointToRay but the max distance on the raycast makes the movement of the object stop if the raycast doesn’t hit.

As an example, If I’m looking down in front of me, the object i’m controlling should be at that position. However, if I’m looking straight forward into Infinity, the object should only ever be maxDistance away. If I rotate, the object should follow smoothly.

Thanks!