What happens when you banish an elemental creature that was formed/born on the Material Plane?

Background: In one of our campaigns we have quite a few Elementals that are forming in the material plane, as opposed to forming on an elemental plane. The elementals are otherwise identical to the ones appearing in the Monster Manual.

We are coming up to the levels where some of us can choose the 4th-level spell Banishment as a spell. I was wondering if casting Banishment on an elemental formed on the material plane would a) banish it to an elemental plane and not return or b) be only temporarily banished to a demiplane and appear back onto the material plane when the spell ends.

The way I see it is that it would have to do with the interpretation of what is “native to the plane” and “home plane” in this case.

The description of the Banishment spell (PHB, p. 217) says:

You attempt to send one creature that you can see within range to another plane of existence. The target must succeed on a Charisma saving throw or be banished.

If the target is native to the plane of existence you’re on, you banish the target to a harmless demiplane. While there, the target is incapacitated. The target remains there until the spell ends, at which point the target reappears in the space it left or in the nearest unoccupied space if that space is occupied.

If the target is native to a different plane of existence than the one you’re on, the target is banished with a faint popping noise, returning to its home plane. […]

I suspect it would banish these home-grown elemental creatures to a demiplane in the case of our campaign; unless we were on another plane, in which case it would be banished to the material plane as this is its “home plane”.

There is this question which gives an answer of sorts: What determines a creature's native plane for the Banishment spell?, but I would like a more concrete answer if possible to the scenario I present above.

What happens when you drop an item in the ethereal plane under the effects of the Etherealness spell, then end the spell?

This is a follow up to my question about whether items are carried with you into the Ethereal Plane while under the effects of the Etherealness spell

Basically, my player wants to use his bonus action to cast Etherealness using the Horizon Walker Ranger’s Ethereal step ability, stick his daggers into an enemy’s brains, then end Etherealness to stick the daggers in the monster’s brains. He cites the part of the spell:

When the spell ends, you immediately return to the plane you originated from in the spot you currently occupy. If you occupy the same spot as a solid object or creature when this happens, you are immediately shunted to the nearest unoccupied space that you can occupy and take force damage equal to twice the number of feet you are moved.

(Emphasis theirs)

They cite that it says specifically that you are the one forced out of their space, not any items that you dropped. However, it would seem to me that by the same argument only you would re-enter the material plane, not any dropped items.

So the question is, do dropped items in the ethereal plane phase back in when the spell ends, and if they do, do they also get forced out of any items that they are in?

What happens to items worn when stepping into the Ethereal Plane using the “Etherealness” spell?

Etherealness reads:

You step into the border regions of the Ethereal Plane, in the area where it overlaps with your current plane (PHB, page 238)

This never specifies whether worn items become ethereal along with yourself, but it also includes that

You ignore all objects and effects that aren’t on the Ethereal Plane, allowing you to move through objects you perceive on the plane you originated from. (PHB, page 238)

So, would any worn or carried items such as weapons or clothes become ethereal with you, or would they stay behind?

Overview of common languages per plane

For my current campaign I’m exploring lore options regarding planar travel for NPCs and PCs. Where in the books can I find more information about which languages are common in which planes?*

I’m aware that the Monster Manual states which languages a creature knows and/or understands. But the details don’t offer me demographics on how common certain languages are. Or am I missing something in the book?


*My campaign takes place in a personal adaptation on the planes of the Forgotten Realms.

Traveling through the Astral Plane

I’m new to D&D and I don’t understand all of its concepts, for example, Astral Plane. From what I understand, you can travel there physically through a portal and travel to other planes this way, but when you use certain spells, your consciousness is transferred to the Astral Plane and is connected to Your body with a silver cord. The body stays where it was and someone must take care of it and when the cord is broken, You die. What does happen when in such form one enters a portal to another plane?

What’s wrong with my line segment plane intersection code?

I’m following the algorithm on on this website for my line segment intersection test code. But when looking at my line segment and plane intersect it doesn’t produce the correct point of intersection.

Here is an example of what I’m talking about. intersection test failure

Here is my code for the test

public static bool SegmentPlane(Vector3 p1, Vector3 p2, float distance, Vector3 normal, out float time, out Vector3 point) {     time = 1f;     point = Vector3.zero;       time = (Vector3.Dot(normal, normal * distance) - Vector3.Dot(normal, p1)) / Vector3.Dot(normal, (p2 - p1).normalized);     if(time >= 0f && time <= 1f)     {         point = p1 + time * (p2 - p1).normalized;         return true;     }     return false; } 

Display Code

public void OnDrawGizmos() {     plane = new Plane(transform.forward, transform.position);      colliding = CollisionLibrary.SegmentPlane(p1.position,p2.position,Vector3.Distance(Vector3.zero,transform.position),transform.up,out time,out point);      if (!colliding)         Gizmos.color = Color.yellow;     else         Gizmos.color = Color.red;      Gizmos.DrawLine(p1.position, p2.position);     Gizmos.DrawSphere(point, .1f);      Gizmos.color = Color.white;     Gizmos.DrawLine(transform.position, transform.position+transform.up * 100);    } 

Can you leave objects behind in the ethereal plane?

After entering the ethereal plane through some means, is it possible to leave objects you brought with you behind, or do they always come back with you?

Does the answer depend on the means you used to enter the ethereal plane, or on the specific object you’re trying to leave behind?

Note: You only need to consider content published in official material when answering this question, but if the official material is completely silent on this matter interpretations are also fine.

With the spell blink, could you deposit an object on the Ethereal plane? [duplicate]

This question already has an answer here:

  • Can you leave objects behind in the ethereal plane? 2 answers

Lets say you ready an action, that when you are on the ethereal plane you will drop your weapon. Does this work, would you return to the material plane without a weapon? Could you blink again and pick it back up later?

Blink: …you vanish from your current plane of existence and appear in the Etheral Plane… At the start of you next turn, and when the spell ends if you are on the Etheral Plane, you return to an unoccupied space of your choice that you can see within 10 feet of the space you vanished from.

A scenario where this could be very useful, imagine you are holding a ticking time bomb, you blink into the ethereal plane drop the bomb and blink back just in time, saving your party from the explosion.

What is the movement distance to the Ethereal Plane?

How much movement does it count as to go to the Ethereal Plane?

The genesis of this question is that a Glyph of Warding dissipates if it is moved more than 10 feet. My intent is to cast a Glyph of Warding on a Leomund’s Secret Chest. I need to know if the Glyph will remain active when I send the chest to the Ethereal Plane, and when I retrieve it later.