Many times, I’ve seen the case made for a specific prepared caster class being superior to its spontaneous equivalent (e.g. Wizard vs Sorcerer, Cleric vs Favored Soul, anything vs its Uneathered Arcana spontaneous caster optional rule version) and said case is usually based on the spontaneous caster happening to be one level’s worth of spell progression behind the prepared version. However, in my experience, the wider community considers prepared casting to be always superior to spontaneous casting. Why is this? The specific cases alone aren’t proof of a general rule and all else being equal, spontaneous casting ought to be superior. What argument, if any, is so strong that it knocks down all of the spontaneous casters?
In the event that you haven’t done this yet, do it today! Spot all crisis telephone numbers on a piece of paper on your fridge or a conspicuous place where all can see it, as almost a telephone. Keep it in a fixed spot. Try not to let individuals wander off with it. Tape it set up in the event that you should. Numbers you should list: 911 (or your nation’s 911 proportional); poison control; a couple (or your) office and cell numbers; specialist, dental specialist, and veterinarian numbers; a family member, dear companion’s or neighbor’s telephone number; your home or potentially PC telephone numbers; your place of residence.
It very well may be unpleasant when there is a crisis so compose on a piece of paper what an individual should tell the administrator when they call 911. Keep this sheet close to the crisis telephone list. Taiwan Mobile Database
Test of what to compose for somebody thinking about your kid: This is (really compose, give your name). I am calling in light of the fact that (compose, say why). It includes a kid. The telephone number here is (really compose it in). The location here is (again compose it in). The meds they are taking are (compose it in). They are sensitive to (write in any prescriptions they are hypersensitive to assuming any). Their pediatricians name is (compose it in). What would it be advisable for me to do until you arrive?
Once in a while during a crisis the individual on the other line will need to know your name so they can utilize it to quiet you down. You may have more trust in an individual on the off chance that they utilize your name. It makes it increasingly close to home. Which sentence causes you to feel progressively like the individual on the opposite end is in your group? “Sarah I need you to open the airways…” “Ms. I need you to open the airways…”
Purchase a how-to-sheet for CPR and essential emergency treatment. Keep it close to the crisis telephone numbers. Everybody living in your home should know where the crisis telephone list, call sheet, and crisis CPR/First Aid diagram are put. Ensure all overseers know where they are. Here’s a thought, take your more established youngster with you when you take a CPR and fundamental emergency treatment class. They probably won’t have the option to get affirmed relying upon how old they are and where you live, however in any event in a crisis circumstance they can support you or their grandparents if need be.
Is there a concept of prepared spells for clerical sidekicks in D&D 5th edition?
Сan Acolyte or the same Spellcaster Sidekick with clerical flavour know more spells than they do according to the "known spells" in Unearthed Arcana (UA) description? As much as Cleric: prepares a lot uses a little.
In particular, Acolyte has a class of Spellcaster, at the start he has a list of known spells (3 of the 1st level) and slots (3 of the 1st level), but the Cleric with the same abilities and with the 2nd level (according to UA) must have 6 prepared spells and 3 1st level slots.
If I have a multiclassed spellcaster (both spontaneous and able to cast prepared spells), can I use Siphon (Complete Scoundrel, p. 102) to regain one or more spell slot/s of any class I wish?
Is the regained spell slot of the same class I have cast Siphon with?
You drain the charges from a wand or staff you hold to replace spells you have already cast. As long as the wand or staff has at least 5 charges left, you can expend 5 of those charges to replace a cast spell. The spell replaced must be of a level equal to or lower than the highest-level spell the staff or wand holds. If you prepare arcane spells, you can regain any one spell of the affected level that you have already cast that day; if you cast spells spontaneously, you can regain a spell slot of the appropriate level.
Something I read in a post on Paizo forums is that clerics always have their full spell list prepared (excluding ones locked by alignment) but when I went into the SRD that wasn’t reflected did the poster lie or am I just blind?
So the question is do clerics always have their full spell list prepared?
Our group had some confusion about preparing spells for a Wizard and Cleric. The rules say that you prepare a number of spells from your list and that you tick off spell slots when you cast a spell. In D&D 3.x, if you wanted to cast a spell multiple times you had to prepare it multiple times, but we couldn’t figure out from the rules whether or not this was the case in D&D 5e.
So can a spell be prepared once and then cast multiple times?
Let me first start by stating that I am by no means a webdeveloper, so please do point out if I’m going in the wrong somewhere in my story.
I think most people agree with the idea that using prepared statements effectively stops injections if executed properly. With that said, in order to write prepared statements in PHP, you need to establish a connection with the database in your php file. In other words, if the webserver ever becomes compromised, the account used to establish a connection with the database becomes compromised as well as its basically there inside a php file, allowing your attacker to basically create dumps out of your database. If I were to design an application, I would separate the website and the logic, through some API server or something similar, in order to make sure that the database account isn’t compromised as well.
Why is it that nobody points out what in my eyes looks like an obvious security flaw in PHP? Or is the chance of this being exploited so small that people aren’t even considering the chances that it might happen?
The Magic Initiate feat allows you to pick a 1st level spell, which you can cast once per long rest. From the PHB (p. 168):
Choose a class: bard, cleric, sorcerer, warlock, or wizard. You learn two cantrips of your choice from that class’s list.
In addition, choose one 1st-level spell from that same list. You learn that spell and can cast it at its lowest level. Once you cast it, you must finish a long rest before you can cast it again using this feat.
Your spellcasting ability for these spells depends on the class you chose: Charisma for bard, sorcerer, or warlock: Wisdom for cleric or druid; or Intelligence for wizard.
From the Sage Advice Compendium’s Magic Initiate section:
If you’re a spellcaster, can you pick your own class when you gain the Magic Initiate feat? Yes, the feat doesn’t say you can’t. For example, if you’re a wizard and gain the Magic Initiate feat, you can choose wizard and thereby learn two more wizard cantrips and another 1st-level wizard spell.
If you have spell slots, can you use them to cast the 1st level spell you learn with the Magic Initiate feat? Yes, but only if the class you pick for the feat is one of your classes. For example, if you pick sorcerer and you are a sorcerer, the Spellcasting feature for that class tells you that you can use your spell slots to cast the sorcerer spells you know, so you can use your spell slots to cast the 1st-level sorcerer spell you learn from Magic Initiate. Similarly, if you are a wizard and pick that class for the feat, you learn a 1st-level wizard spell, which you could add to your spellbook and subsequently prepare.
So, if my character is a spellcaster, we know that my character can learn a spell on their spell list, and they can use spell slots to cast it. For classes that have a number of spells known, like Bards, Sorcerers and Warlocks, this is straight forward. But what of classes that have to prepare their spells, such as Clerics, Druids and Wizards, to be able to cast them?
My question is, if I had a Cleric, Druid or Wizard, who took the Magic Initiate feat to learn a spell on their list (which they could then cast with a spell slot), would they still need to prepare the spell in order to cast it with a spell slot, or would this effectively give them an extra “prepared spell”?
If they simply know that spell because of the feat, and don’t need it prepared to be able to cast it once per long rest (via the feat), does that in some way bypass the need to prepare the spell to cast it via spell slots? This isn’t clear to me after having looked at the spellcasting class feature of such classes.
I have recently came across the Brewkeeper prestige class and i fell in love with it, the interactions it has with spells and potions is amazing for late game, especialy when you have potions left over from lower levels, but one thing bothers me, i know the rules on metamagic is that it increeses the level of the spell being cast but with brewkeeper you can add a metamagic effect onto a spell as you cast it, if you have levels in cleric and cast an already prepared spell and add a metamagic effect onto it with the brewkeeper’s helpful home brew ability does it use up a spell slot of a higher level? if so wouldnt that break the aspect of clerics needing to prepare the spell beforehand, for instance prepare 1 use of a level 2 spell and augment it to level 3 with a metamagic feat, using the 3rd level spell slot while keeping all your other level 2 spell slots free to take other spells?
I have a druid character, and I want to find out how many spells I can prepare at any one time.