Does hideous laughter make a flying foe prone and cause the foe to fall?

A witch that’s using the flight hex to fly 20 ft. up in the air fails her saving throw against my halfling bard’s hideous laughter spell. The spell says that an affected creature

collapses into gales of manic laughter, falling prone. The subject can take no actions while laughing, but is not considered helpless.

Does the witch become prone in the air? Does the phrase take no action mean the witch falls to her death, grappled and subsequently slain by her own foolishly placed black tentacles?

Can the Telekinetic Feat from Tasha’s knock a creature prone?

Tasha’s makes official a new feat called Telekinetic which allows a caster, as a bonus action, to telekinetically shove one creature. It goes on to dictate you can move the creature 5 feet toward or away from you. So, is it a shove limited to only the 5 feet of movement or is it shove as defined in PHB where you can also opt to knock a creature prone?

Can a grappling creature cause a prone creature it is grappling to be unprone? [duplicate]

If my character is grappling a creature who has been knocked prone, that creature can’t stand back up unless they succeed in first breaking free of the grapple.

Do the rules for moving a grappled creature allow my character to cause the grappled & prone creature to stand up and stop being prone?

Moving a Grappled Creature. When you move, you can drag or carry the grappled creature with you, but your speed is halved, unless the creature is two or more sizes smaller than you.

Eldritch Smite: Can you decide whether the enemy goes prone or do they always go prone?


Once per turn when you hit a creature with your pact weapon, you can expend a warlock spell slot to deal an extra 1d8 force damage to the target, plus another 1d8 per level of the spell slot, and you can knock the target prone if it is Huge or smaller.

Since it says "can knock the target prone." I assumed it was optional, (though you wouldn’t have much reason not to if in melee, within 5 ft.)

What happens if a Cavalier or their mount are knocked prone?

The rules for mounted combat (PHB 198) give direction in the following cases:

  • Mount moved against its will: rider makes Dex save vs falling off and landing prone
  • Rider knocked prone: rider makes Dex save vs falling off and landing prone
  • Mount knocked prone: rider uses reaction to dismount standing, or else is dismounted and falls prone

The Cavalier’s "Born to the Saddle" feature (Xanathar 30) states "If you fall off your mount…, you can land on your feet if you’re not incapacitated." How do these features interact? Specifically:

  • Mount moved against its will: if rider fails save, they land standing up instead of prone. This is clear-cut; this is not the question.
  • Rider knocked prone: Normally if the rider succeeded the save to stay on the mount, they would be mounted and prone, per this question. If a Cavalier is knocked prone while mounted, do they end up either "mounted and prone" or "unmounted and not-prone"? It seems weird that a creature could be knocked prone but then just decide not to be; is giving up their mounted status the tradeoff?
  • Mount knocked prone: unless they spend their reaction, PHB says the rider "[is] dismounted and fall[s] prone." Does this count as falling off the mount for the purposes of "Born to the Saddle"? And therefore, can Cavaliers dismount for free (instead of using their reaction) if their mount is knocked prone?

Can players choose specific points in space, down to the inch, to cast a spell so as to avoid hitting a prone character?

Say there is a character that is prone, such as if they were unconscious, and they are surrounded on all 8 square grids (assuming that a grid is being used) by other creatures. Can a player cast a spell that has a sphere effect such as fireball or shatter such that only the 8 creatures surrounding the one that is prone be hit?

Would this potentially have any adverse effects with potentially breaking or having any unintended consequences for any other spells/effects down the line if this were allowed?

Obviously when it comes to casting some spells, the caster has the option to "choose a point in space", but when playing with the understanding of a grid system that works in chunks of a given dimension does is it feasible to have spells cast in such a way so that a body lying prone won’t be affected by a spell cast just overhead?

Can you stand up from prone while stunned?

If you are Stunned, your movement isn’t reduced to 0 (unlike grappled.) Can you stand up from prone while Stunned? Can you also drop prone from standing?

Stunned

  • A stunned creature is incapacitated (see the condition), can’t move, and can speak only falteringly.
  • The creature automatically fails Strength and Dexterity Saving Throws.
  • Attack rolls against the creature have advantage.

How about with Paralysed? (Identical, except with the additional clause:

  • Any Attack that hits the creature is a critical hit if the attacker is within 5 feet of the creature.

In other questions, the bonus damage on Booming Blade on movement doesn’t occur on a target standing up from prone, which suggests that standing doesn’t count as moving. See Does standing up from prone trigger the secondary damage from the Booming Blade cantrip?

5E rules regarding armor and being prone [closed]

In 5E, the rules seem pretty straightforward, but clear, regarding armor and the associated AC. However, it seems a little out of balance for characters who fall prone.

Does, or should, the AC for a character change if they are prone? For example, the Paladin in my group I am DM’ing was wearing plate armor and was knocked unconscious, falling prone. As far as I can tell, this means he still retains his 18 AC, regardless of the fact he is no longer moving.

Should the AC stay at 18 or get reduced? Am I missing where this might be covered?

Can a creature with a natural walking speed of 0 ft. get up from being prone?

In a one-shot I recently played the players were fighting a homebrewed Weeping Angel (stats). It has a walking speed of 0 ft. and can teleport 80 ft. on its turn under some conditions. One of the players knocked the Weeping Angel, which is essentially a statue, over by using the shove action. On its turn, the Weeping Angel was prone with a speed of 0 ft. It then used its Impossible movement to teleport away and appear upright again.

Now there are three options on how to rule this situation:

  1. The Weeping Angel uses half of 0 ft., so still 0 ft., to get up from being prone and proceeds as normal
  2. The Weeping Angel lifts the prone condition simply by teleporting
  3. The Weeping Angel is prone, and can’t get up anymore

According to the rules, which of this rulings (if any) would be correct?