Psionic sorcery casting retrained Psionic spells

If an aberrant mind sorcerer casts a spell from the Psionic spells feature, they may use the Psionic sorcery too

When you cast any spell of 1st level or higher from your Psionic Spells feature, you can cast it by expending a spell slot as normal or by spending a number of sorcery points equal to the spell’s level. If you cast the spell using sorcery points, it requires no verbal or somatic components, and it requires no material components, unless they are consumed by the spell

However, the Psionic spells feature allows you too

You learn additional spells when you reach certain levels in this class, as shown on the Psionic Spells table. Each of these spells counts as a sorcerer spell for you, but it doesn’t count against the number of sorcerer spells you know. Whenever you gain a sorcerer level, you can replace one spell you gained from this feature with another spell of the same level. The new spell must be a divination or an enchantment spell from the sorcerer, warlock, or wizard spell list.

If you "retrain" one of the spells from calm emotions too Tongues could you then cast tongues for 3 sorcery points instead of a spell slot and without using verbal or material components?

How can a Psionic Manifester get full Bab reliably

I’m currently trying to make a Talshatora Monk/Erudite multiclass work, partially as a challenge and partially because I want to play a psionic Gish. The issue is that, under the constraints i’m operating under, getting a BaB high enough to function in melee will be difficult. So, I’ve looked into somehow persisting or otherwise gaining a at will or permanent Divine Power like effect.

My build goals are 9th level psionic powers with Divine Power, or barring that Transformation. These are the constraints and rules assumptions i’m working under for this game.

  • Prestige classes that advance manifesting are ruled psionic classes so having more levels in one of them than my Erudite level will cause issues, this is why Slayer is unfortunately off the table.
  • Spell to Power Erudite is in use however spells not normally available to arcane classes, such as Divine Power being gained by the Arcane Disiple feat, are not easily obtainable. They can be gained theoretically but aren’t reliable. So while Persist Power Divine Power is an option in theory it’s not something I can bank on.
  • Custom Item creation Rules, specifically Custom Wondrous Items of Divine Power or infinite use resetting traps of Divine Power, are off the table.
  • Permanent Runes of Divine Power are allowed, but the expense obviously makes it a less than ideal option.
  • All first party books, as well as dragon and dungeon magazine, are allowed. The game is also fairly high optimization with one other player using Astral Seed to transform into a dragon, this however doesn’t work on spells that don’t change your body. So I can use that strategy to make divine power permanent. (Unless I can find a convincing argument for why it would)
  • There is effectively no cap on how much of our WBL can be spent on a single item.

My current plans if I can’t find a better solution is to either get Divine Power as a psionic power somehow and persist it or get the extend and persist spell feats and apply persist spell to a wand of Divine Power using a schema of metamagic item.

How to build a psionic Ranger?

I would like to build a 13th level NPC Ranger-type, i.e. nature and stealth themed warrior, with psionics instead of spellcasting. Are there

a) guidelines to adept spellcasters to psionics b) existing Alternative class features or Ranger variants allowing for psionics c) feats that would allow fullscale psionics (i.e. more than wild talent) d) prestige classes that would allow an effective combination of ranger class features and psionics in 13th level?

Losing spellcasting is not mandatory, though preferred to a build that merely adds psionics to a ranger for roleplaying reasons.

Can Aberrant Mind Sorcerers upcast Psionic Spells using Sorcery points?

Aberrant Mind Sorcerers get Psionic Sorcery at L6:

When you cast any spell of 1st level or higher from your Psionic Spells feature, you can cast it by expending a spell slot as normal or by spending a number of sorcery points equal to the spell’s level. If you cast the spell using sorcery points, it requires no verbal or somatic components, and it requires no material components, unless they are consumed by the spell.

Can you cast these spells at a higher level, using more sorcery points? I.e., cast Arms of Hadar at L2 using 2 sorcery points?

Does Psionic Sorcery value spell levels differently than Flexible Casting?

In attempting to answer this question I ran into a different question about how the Abberant Mind Sorcerer’s Psionic Sorcery works.

Psionic Sorcery states:

When you cast any spell of 1st level or higher from your Psionic Spells feature, you can cast it by expending a spell slot as normal or by spending a number of sorcery points equal to the spell’s level.

Normally, a sorcerer must spend increasingly large quantities of sorcery points to make spell slots as indicated on the table under Font of Magic and can create spell slots no higher than level 5.

However, Psionic Sorcery is worded as "a number of points equal to the spell’s level." This would seem to suggest that the conversion rate is always 1:1. That is, to cast a level 5 spell, an Abberant Mind Sorcerer would only need to expend 5 sorcery points, not 7.

Further, the Psionic Sorcery seems to allow any level spell to be cast in this way. The ability does not seem to be limited to a maximum of level 5 spell slots since it isn’t explicitly predicated on the table from Flexible Casting.

Is that correct?

What does Psionic Mastery actually do?

This is part of the Psionic Mastery description from the Unearthed Arcana Mystic rules:

Beginning at 11th level, your mastery of psionic energy allows you to push your mind beyond its normal limits. As an action, you gain 9 special psi points that you can spend only on disciplines that require an action or a bonus action to use. You can use all 9 points on one discipline, or you can spread them across multiple disciplines. You can’t also spend your normal psi points on these disciplines; you can spend only the special points gained from this feature.

I think this explanation is lacking, and I didn’t find clarifications around.

When I use my action to activate this new type of psi points, do I also choose the disciplines I want, and they take effect altogether? Or do I need one turn to activate this ability and then another turn to use one discipline, etc. until I finish this pool? Finally, Disciplines are a block of several options, what does it mean when I choose to use these bonus points; is the entire block unaccessible with regular psi points?

Does the Psi Warrior’s Psionic Strike ability prompt a second Concentration save?

The new Psi Warrior Fighter subclass has the feature Psionic Power which has the following option:

Psionic Strike. You can propel your weapons with psionic force. Once on each of your turns, immediately after you hit a target within 30 feet of you with an attack and deal damage to it with a weapon, you can expend one Psionic Energy die, rolling it and dealing force damage to the target equal to the number rolled plus your Intelligence modifier.

Based on my earlier question it seems the consensus is that Psionic Strike does not double if the triggering attack is a critical hit.

If Psionic Strike is used on a creature concentrating on a spell does the additional damage prompt a second Constitution save to maintain concentration?

Is the Psi Warrior’s Psionic Strike ability affected by critical hits?

The new Psi Warrior Fighter subclass has the feature Psionic Power which has the following option:

Psionic Strike. You can propel your weapons with psionic force. Once on each of your turns, immediately after you hit a target within 30 feet of you with an attack and deal damage to it with a weapon, you can expend one Psionic Energy die, rolling it and dealing force damage to the target equal to the number rolled plus your Intelligence modifier.

Is this ability affected by critical hits like a Paladin’s Divine Smite or does it deal extra damage independent from the attack?

Can one dismiss their Psionic Focus voluntarily?

I’d like your opinions on this as I’m disagreeing with a ruling made by my GM.

The full question is: Can a character voluntarily dismiss their psionic focus and, if so, what type of action would it be?

The rules clearly state how to gain or expend your focus. They also explain in which situations you would lose it involuntarily, for example if you become unconscious. But not a word about whether you can actually dismiss your focus.

Why would you want to dismiss your focus? For example, at the beginning of an encounter when you know for sure that one/some/all of your opponents either resist, are immune to or (even better!) are vulnerable to a specific energy type.

As you know, when a psionic character gains his focus, he must choose an energy type. The exception being the Kineticist. So if a player wants his character to dismiss his focus in order to subsequently gain it with a different energy type, what happens?

My GM says, no problem, you can do that. You just need to concentrate a bit, so it would be a move action.

I’m thinking, if someone can physically drop an item as a free action, why couldn’t they also drop something psionically as a free action?

I’m also thinking: if a barbarian can end a rage (in which some of her body may have physically changed into bestial forms) as a free action, then why can’t psionic characters just drop something which is purely mental also as a free action?

And now to make matters even worse: what happens if you have Psicrystal Containment or Deep Focus? How long does it take to drop two focii? If you’re focused twice, with either of these methods, can you gain two energy types? I would say no on this one.

Food for thought. Thanks for your input. C.