Is there any official (or semi-official) clarification on how often Psychic Virtuoso allows a character to use occult skill unlocks?

The description of the Psychic Virtuoso feat from Occult Adventures states "You can use all of your occult skill unlocks more often and you are more talented at using them." However, the Benefit section only lists a bonus for using them, nothing about using them more often. I cannot find any errata or clarification for this feat indicating either it doesn’t actually let you use occult skill unlocks more often or, if it does, how often it allows a character to use them.

Can the Soulknife’s psychic blades be be used with extra attack as a thrown weapon?

The Soulknife (p63 TCoE) has the ability to manifest Psychic Blades

Whenever you take the Attack action, you can manifest a psychic blade from your free hand and make the attack with that blade…

…The blade vanishes immediately after it hits or misses its target…

…After you attack with the blade, you can make a melee or ranged attack with a second psychic blade as a bonus action on the same turn, provided your other hand is free to create it. The damage die of this bonus attack is 1d4, instead of 1d6.

Can you attack multiple times with it as a thrown weapon, if you have the Extra attack or Haste spell feature?

As an Order of the Scribes Wizard, can I cast a Psychic Fireball at Level 7?

According to the Awakened Spellbook feature of the Order of Scribes school of magic presented in Tasha’s:

When you cast a wizard spell with a spell slot, you can temporarily replace its damage type with a type that appears in another spell in your spell book, which magically alters the spells formula for this casting only. The latter spell must be of the same level as the spell slot you expend.

So, if my Wizard is 7th level and has Phantasmal Killer not prepared, but in my spellbook, and I cast Fireball using a 4th level spell slot, I can deliver a 9d6 Fireball that deals psychic damage as many times as I have 4th level spell slots available?

Psionic Sorcerer: Psychic Strike with ongoing spells

https://media.wizards.com/2020/dnd/downloads/UA2020_PsionicOptions.pdf

Psychic Strike 6th-level Psionic Soul feature You have learned to channel additional psychic energy into your spells. Immediately after you deal damage to a creature with a sorcerer spell for which you expend a spell slot, you can roll your Psionic Talent die and also deal psychic damage to that creature equal to the number rolled. You can deal this extra damage only once per turn.

Does this work with an ongoing spell like witchbolt? Or something like Fire Shield?

How do spell components work in regards to the UA Psionic Soul Sorcerer’s Psychic Sorcery ability?

The UA Psionic Soul Sorcerer has the following Psionic Talent option:

Psychic Sorcery. When you cast a spell, you can use your mind to form it, rather than relying on words, gestures, and materials. To do so, roll your Psionic Talent die. The spell then requires no verbal component, and if you rolled the level of the spell or higher, the spell doesn’t require somatic or material components either.

(Emphasis Mine)

This strikes me as confusing due to how the player’s handbook describes spell components

A spell’s components are the physical requirements you must meet in order to cast it. Each spell’s description indicates whether it requires verbal (V), somatic (S), or material (M) components. If you can’t provide one or more of a spell’s components, you are unable to cast the spell

I had assumed that you needed to be able to provide the components before attempting to cast the spell, but the wording on the subtle spell metamagic begs to differ

When you cast a spell, you can spend 1 sorcery point to cast it without any somatic or verbal components.

According to This Answer this metamagic allows you to cast it without being able to provide the components if you cast it using the subtle spell metamagic. However, comparing this to the UA we see a problem. The psychic sorcery ability activates at the same time, but isn’t guaranteed to make the spell castable necessarily, so that brings me to my question

Can you attempt to cast a spell without having the needed components by using this psionic talent option, and if you don’t succeed on the roll and find yourself needing to provide components that you can’t provide, what happens to the casting?

(Note additionally that if you cast a lv 1 spell or a cantrip it’s functionally guaranteed to succeed by not from a rules perspective if that matters to the answer)

Can a Soulknife use the Dueling fighting style with both Psychic Blades attacks?

Soulknife is available as a rogue subclass in Unearthed Arcana: Psionic Options Revisited. One of its 3rd-level features is Psychic Blades, which states:

When you are about to make a melee or ranged weapon attack against a creature, you can manifest a psychic blade from your free hand and make the attack with that blade. This magic blade is a simple melee weapon with the finesse and thrown properties.

This appears to be a one-handed weapon (as “free hand” is singular), which means it qualifies for the +2 damage from the Dueling fighting style (assuming your other hand is not holding a weapon). In this case, assume the rogue took one level of fighter for Dueling. After this psychic blade attack:

The blade vanishes immediately after it hits or misses its target

Psychic Blades also allows for a bonus action attack:

After you attack with the blade, you can make a melee or ranged weapon attack with a second psychic blade as a bonus action on the same turn, provided your other hand is free to create it.

Assuming you started your attacks with both hands free: can both the normal and bonus action Psychic Blades attacks qualify for the Dueling fighting style?

When a class changes from divine, arcane, psychic ect. to a different type what mechanical effects are there

So recently it occurred to me besides flavor stuff like where the magic comes from and what spells they can cast, I can’t really think of anything that’s different between divine, arcane caster, and psychic caster. As seen in this spreadsheet many caster classes have archetypes that switch casting stats and/or casting types to other kinds which seems to imply something changes other than flavor but for the life of me, I can’t see it. Changing to spontaneous from prepared and vise versa as well as changing casting stats is going to have obvious mechanical effects but what about changing sources.

So my question is, what mechanical effects does changing a casting source (ie divine, arcane, psychic etc) have on the caster itself.

Psychic Scream – Healing after your head explodes?

By request I’m DMing an adventure with a lot of H.P. Lovecraft overtones, and the party has encountered the Big-Bad-Guy tentacle horror, a twenty foot Obyrith I’ve styled after the Far Realms Glothoma. It’s nearly out of hit points, and I’d like it to cast one final spell without a TPK, but I’m worried I’ve chosen the wrong one due to the flavor text.

The description of the psychic scream spell (Xanathar’s Guide to Everything, p. 163) states:

Each target must make an Intelligence saving throw. On a failed save, a target takes 14d6 psychic damage and is stunned. On a successful save, a target takes half as much damage and isn’t stunned. If a target is killed by this damage, its head explodes, assuming it has one.

Could someone parse this out for me? If a character takes enough damage to hit zero hitpoints, are they “dead” as far as this spell is concerned, suffering the homage to the movie Scanners, with the full head popping effect — or is dead only dead when they either fail enough death saving throws, or die instantly from the Massive Damage rule?

I ask because despite having two war clerics in their party, they’re only level 6, which means the best they can respond with is revivify – which can’t restore missing body parts:

You touch a creature that has died within the last minute. That creature returns to life with 1 hit point. This spell can’t return to life a creature that has died of old age, nor can it restore any missing body parts.

Can objects animated by the Animate Objects spell take psychic damage?

The Animate Objects spell description reads:

An animated object is a construct with AC, hit points, attacks, Strength, and Dexterity determined by its size. Its Constitution is 10 and its Intelligence and Wisdom are 3, and its Charisma is 1. Its speed is 30 feet; if the object lacks legs or other appendages it can use for locomotion, it instead has a flying speed of 30 feet and can hover. If the object is securely attached to a surface or a larger object, such as a chain bolted to a wall, its speed is 0. It has blindsight with a radius of 30 feet and is blind beyond that distance. When the animated object drops to 0 hit points, it reverts to its original object form, and any remaining damage carries over to its original object form.

According to the description, it seems like objects animated by the Animate Object spell aren’t immune to psychic or poison damage. This is in contrast to every other animated object in game, from animated armors to tiny servants created by the XGE spell. Are objects animated by the Animate Objects spell an exception to general rule? Are they susceptible to poison and psychic damage, as well as conditions like charmed or frightened?