What magic college could I have gone to before Hoard of the Dragon Queen?

I’m joining a running campaign of HotDQ where they just finished a chapter (I don’t know which, but the DM says everyone’s level 4) and I’m looking for a lore-friendly magic college to be part of. I’m playing as a level 4 Tiefling Sorcerer who meets up with the party while investing and dealing with reports of "strange happenings"in the area.

What magic colleges (or universities whatever) are in the forgotten realms that my character can be a part of?

Can you wield a a typical shield and Aegis of the Raven Queen at the same time?

I know that you can only hold one shield at a time but the description of the Aegis of the Raven says that its plus magic bonus to AC stacks up with the current pluses from a shield that is currently used. This description about bonuses does not make sense if you can’t wield both shields at the same time.

Here is the description: While holding this shield, you have a +3 bonus to AC. This bonus is in addition to the shield’s normal bonus to AC.

If I am hit after I am reduced to 0 HP during this duel in the Hoard of the Dragon Queen adventure, do I take 1 or 2 death save failures?

We’re playing Hoard of the Dragon Queen. During the brutal first episode, there is a duel that can take place (p. 12; spoilers in the link).

When the player loses the duel, the other participant…

strikes one more time [and] inflicts one death roll failure on a character.

When this happened, the player marked off two death failures on their sheet. I asked them why. Here are the relevant parts of the PHB.

The section titled “Dropping to 0 Hit Points” states:

If damage reduces you to 0 hit points and fails to kill you, you fall unconscious. This unconsciousness ends if you regain any hit points.

And later:

If you take any damage while you have 0 hit points, you suffer a death saving throw failure. If the damage is from a critical hit, you suffer two failures instead. If the damage equals or exceeds your hit point maximum, you suffer instant death.

Lastly, the Unconscious condition description says:

Any attack that hits the creature is a critical hit if the attacker is within 5 feet of the creature.

In conclusion, any melee attack made within 5 feet of me is an automatic crit. So does that mean if a bandit is being rude, and stabs me again with his puny dagger – I have a 50% chance of dying come my turn (save for help)?

Am I right in assuming that this is hand-waved in this adventure as it specifically states “one death roll failure”?

Can Hex be cast using raven’s sight of Raven Queen Patron?

I have one level in warlock and took the Raven Queen patron. There is an enemy about 40ft away, and there is a wall between us. I send my raven over the wall to recon, and I want to put a Hex on him. According to the description for the raven, “You can see through the raven’s eyes and hear what it hears while it is within 100 feet of you.”. The range for the Hex spell is 90ft. So my question is this: Am I able to cast Hex on this enemy given that he is within range of the spell and I can see him through my raven’s eyes, even though there is a stone wall between us?

Warlock Patron: The Raven Queen related with Help Action

Can you have the Sentinel Raven perch on your shoulder and then for it’s turn, have it lift off your shoulder, use the Help action to give you advantage on attack and then perch again, thus incapacitating (Unable to be targeted or damaged) it but still giving the Warlock advantage on their next attack?

Sentinel Raven

While perched on your shoulder, the raven can’t be targeted by any attack or other harmful effect; only you can cast spells on it; it can’t take damage; and it is incapacitated.

In combat, you roll initiative for the raven and control how it acts. If it is slain by a creature, you gain advantage on all attack rolls against the killer for the next 24 hours.

What happens when a creature wielding an Aegis of the Raven Queen gets breathed on by a fire-breathing dragon?

I know this looks very similar to this question, but I asked it to indirectly solve what I’m about to ask now (a bad idea).


The Aegis of the Raven Queen (from the module “CCC-BWM-03 A Tale of Two Towers”) is a special shield, which does not exist in D&D 5e by default but does exist in Adventurers League play. It has the following passive property:

While holding this shield, nonmagical flames are extinguished within 30 feet of you as the shadow lashes out at the flame.

I also know that breath weapons are considered nonmagical.

What happens when a dragon breathes fire on a creature wielding this special shield?

  1. The breath gets extinguished (and thus doesn’t affect the Aegis-wielding creature)
  2. The breath weapon works as normal, since it doesn’t really emit “flames” in game terms (and thus the Aegis-wielding creature is forced to make the Dexterity saving throw as normal)

Can the Sentinel Raven given by the Raven Queen warlock patron assist party members with skill checks?

I’m playing a warlock and have chosen the Raven Queen patron (from Unearthed Arcana: Warlock & Wizard). I had the idea of having my sentinel raven assist me on all skill checks, but this seems pretty powerful; thus, I am wondering if there is anything preventing me doing this according to the rules as written.

The description of the Sentinel Raven feature explicitly says “…you gain a spirit that assumes the form and game statistics of a raven,” so this raven does have actual stats, and even a +3 bonus to perception. Therefore, I don’t see why it couldn’t aid party members with skill checks (or anyone, for that matter).