What happens when a creature with Racial Hit Dice changes creature type?

The specific example I’m working with is a creature with RHD who takes the Human Heritage feat… and then advances by HD.

The creature retains all the traits of its previous type (so far so good), but what happens to its existing RHD? Do they change to the new type, or stay the same? The SRD says:

…but most templates that change Hit Dice change only the creature’s original HD and leave class Hit Dice unchanged.

However, this is in the context of whether class HD change when there is already an HD change happening, so I don’t know if it should generalize to "HD changing is the default".

If the creature then advances by gaining more HD, I assume that all the new HD would be of the new type, but I’m open to peoples’ opinions on this as well.

Bridging the two questions, there’s also an argument to be made that since Human Heritage is a 1st level only feat, all RHD are acquired after it is taken, and should thus be of the Humanoid type.

How does the Flames of Phlegethos racial feat interact with the sorcerer’s Metamagic option Empowered Spell?

If I have both the Flames of Phlegethos feat and the sorcerer’s Metamagic option Empowered Spell, can I re-roll the same die twice?

The description of the second benefit of the Flames of Phlegethos tiefling racial feat says (XGtE, p. 74):

When you roll fire damage for a spell you cast, you can reroll any roll of 1 on the fire damage dice, but you must use the new roll, even if it is another 1.

The description of the sorcerer’s Metamagic option Empowered Spell reads (PHB, p. 102):

When you roll damage for a spell, you can spend 1 sorcery point to reroll a number of the damage dice up to your Charisma modifier (minimum of one). You must use the new rolls.

You can use Empowered Spell even if you have already used a different Metamagic option during the casting of the spell.

Can you re-roll the same die with both features, or only once? That is, if you re-roll a die with one of these abilities, does the other ability let you re-roll it?

The "You must use the new roll" makes it sound like you cannot, but in general abilities can can override how other abilities work. Is the "keeping the new roll" restriction limited to re-rolls from that ability, or does it apply to all re-rolls from any source?

There is another interpretation of "You must use the new roll." There is a feat called Savage Attacker which reads:

Once per turn when you roll damage for a melee weapon attack, you can reroll the weapon’s damage dice and use either total.

If you compare this to the language in the previous two abilities, you see that the "re-roll and must use the new roll" could be viewed as the alternate to "re-roll and use either roll", and therefore imposes no restriction on other features re-rolling the die.

How do the Death Ward spell and the half-orc’s Relentless Endurance racial trait interact?

What happens when you cast Death Ward on a half-orc? Do the effects of the spell and the half-orc’s Relentless Endurance racial trait stack?

If so, and you get reduced to 0 HP more than once, can you go back up to 1 HP a second time? Or does only one of them take effect and you can only be brought back to 1 HP once?

My DM thinks the latter.

Are your default racial traits suppressed when choosing the Doppelganger Character Secret?

Icewind Dale: Rime of the Frostmaiden contains a Character Secrets section, one of which is "Doppelganger" :

I’m a shapechanger. I have none of the traits of the race I’m imitating, but I retain my class features, background, and alignment. I have darkvision out to a range of 60 feet. I can use an action to do either of the following at will:

I can innately cast detect thoughts, requiring no components. My spellcasting ability is Intelligence. The spell’s Wisdom save DC is 8 + my proficiency bonus + my Intelligence modifier. I can polymorph into any humanoid I have seen or back into my true form. My statistics, other than my size, don’t change. Any equipment I’m wearing or carrying isn’t transformed. I revert to my true form when I die.

Does this mean that your default race’s traits are nullified when selecting this Character Secret ? Example – a Variant Human Doppelganger wouldn’t have the +1 bonus to two ability scores, the extra skill & extra feat, with that interpretation.

Do you lose racial feats when Reincarnated out of your race?

Xanathar’s Guide to Everything introduces racial feats (ex: Bountiful Luck for halflings).

My understanding of the Reincarnate spell is that if you were a variant human and become something else, you lose the variant human’s starting feat. This seems to be supported by Sage Advice : https://www.sageadvice.eu/2016/06/18/if-my-pc-is-reincarnated-do-they-lose-their-bonus-feat-and-skills/

Is the same true for racial feats (ex: level 4 halfling with bountiful luck reincarnated into dwarf, loses racial feat?).

Balance implications of +3 racial bonuses

Many races have a +2 bonus to one ability and a +1 bonus to another ability. They do not usually have +3 to a single ability.

I am wondering about the implications of having races with such bonuses in my game.

I am considering point buy only. What I see is possible that was not possible before (with +2/+1), is

  • 18 in the primary stat at level 1
  • 20 in primary stat with first ASI

However, this 20 in the primary stat means that I cannot exceed 15 in the secondary stat. It seems to me that no class in 5e benefits from less than two abilities (at least constitution and one other).

Furthermore

  • The changeling race can already have a +3 bonus
  • It is entirely possible to have 18 on level one with rolled stats, yet rolling stats is, so far as I know, not considered unbalanced.

Is my analysis above correct and does this mean that a +3 racial bonus instead of +2/+1 does not pose severe balance issues?

Is there a Spell or Magic Item that will extend the range of racial Darkvision?

My group has decided to head down into the Underdark. And I would like to optimize my Half-Elven Darkvision (60′)

Assume I have access to any spell or magic item that is in one of the hardcover books.. and do not want to use UA or 3rd party.

What is the maximum Darkvision range I can get?

Note: I would prefer to avoid Polymorph if I can.

Does the +1 AC bonus from the Warforged racial trait Integrated Protection and the Forge Domain cleric’s Blessings of the Forge stack?

The Warforged race (from Eberron: Rising from the Last War, p. 36) has a racial feature called Integrated Protection, which among other things, grants the following:

  • You gain a +1 bonus to Armor Class

The Forge Domain for the cleric (from Xanathar’s Guide to Everything, p. 19) has a class feature called Blessings of the Forge, which grants the following:

At 1st level, you gain the ability to imbue magic into a weapon or armor. At the end of a long rest, you can touch one nonmagical object that is a suit of armor or a simple or martial weapon. Until the end of your next long rest or until you die, the object becomes a magic item, granting a +1 bonus to AC if it’s armor or …

Recently, a player wanted to make a Warforged Forge Domain cleric and wondered if these two features would stack (meaning, the racial +1 stacking with wearing magical armor enchanted via Blessings of the Forge), allowing effectively +2 to AC. Is there any reason this wouldn’t work?

Whats the highest racial or template charisma boost you can get for a +1 LA?

I’m currently working on a Sha’ir Gish character that will eventually PrC into Zhentarim Skymage(LoD) and I need to buff my charisma as much as possible. Skymage has a gimmick of giving you a paladin mount, or at least a close facially thereof, which can be any creature that’s a size larger than you and has no more hit die than your Skymage level + Charisma mod + 1. I already have Spark(Dragon Mag) for +2. I’m also considering Prestige Races (also Dragon) for another +1. Unseelie Fey is unfortunately banned so that’s not an option. Other than that just about anything official is allowed. I’d prefer to stay at or below LA +1 is possible. Some other options i considered were Athasian Human (also Dragon mag) +2 to two stats, Draconic Creature for +2 to strength, con, and charisma, and savage progression half fey. Spark was ruled to only work on PHB races and not variants like Athasian so that’s probably off the table, and it kind of negates the benefits of any +2 charisma LA 0 race like Spellscale and Savage Progression Aasimar.

I could use magic items like tomes eventually to raise it farther, but i can’t rely on temporary boosts like cloaks of charisma because if my charisma gets lowered, like taking the cloak off, my mount might rebell and attack or abandon me, and that’s not fun for anyone. I’d prefer human for story reasons in the setting and to open up Human paragon as an option for another +2 untyped bonus, though small races aren’t a bad choice either because that opens up a medium mount. I’m aiming for a Wyvern to be my first mount with a True dragon of some kind as my final. Mostly likely a 11-14 hit dice gold dragon for general power and the ability to turn into a smaller animal for easy transportation. Though if anyone want’s to make a better suggestion id be happy to hear it.