Does the Thrown Weapon Fighting Style apply to ranged, improvised attacks?

The Thrown Weapon Fighting Style states:

[…] In addition, when you hit with a ranged attack using a thrown weapon, you gain a +2 bonus to the damage roll.

My question is whether "a thrown weapon" means "a weapon with the thrown property" or "a weapon you have thrown". An example of something being in the latter category and not the former would be improvised weapons:

[…] If a character uses a ranged weapon to make a melee attack, or throws a melee weapon that does not have the thrown property, it also deals 1d4 damage. An improvised thrown weapon has a normal range of 20 feet and a long range of 60 feet.

Do ranged, improvised attacks counts as "ranged attacks with a thrown weapon"?

For the specific campaign of “Odyssey of the Dragon Lords”, can a javelin be considered a “ranged Weapon” for the purpose of using DEX to hit/dam?

In core 5e RAW rules, Javelins are simple melee weapons (STR based). However in this particular players guide they talk about Ranged weapons, which Javelins are mentioned.

On Page 20 of the "Odyssey of the Dragon lord" players manual:

Thylean Weapons Warriors in Thylea typically use spears, shields, and swords. There are exceptions, of course, but the armies of Mytros and Aresia train thousands of soldiers in the use of these simple armaments. Heavier weapons, such as halberds and greataxes, are thought to be barbaric.

Ranged weapons are typically limited to javelins, slings, longbows, and shortbows, although there are some who have adopted the use of complex recent inventions, such as crossbows. These weapons are engineered in small quantities by the Academy and are not widely available. Thylea boasts a handful of unique cultural weapons, which can be found at just about any blacksmith or adventuring shop. With the exception of the chakram, they function identically to their normal counterparts (unless they are magical).

There are other places where they change/add new descriptors to existing core weapons. For example page 49 of the same players guide:

Vagrant Soldier Despite your roguish demeanor, you have all the training of a common soldier. When you choose this archetype at 3rd level, you gain proficiency with shields. Additionally, spears and tridents count as finesse weapons for you.

If anyone has played this campaign and can prove a definitive ruling on this question – using RAW or other items from the publishers, that would be great.

As usually, it is up to the DMs discretion for a final ruling – this is a known and doesn’t need further mentioning as part of an answer.

Thank you.

How does attacking downwards affect ranged weapon attacks?

For 5e, ranged weapon attacks are associated with a normal range and a long range distance. For a flying attacker, how does attacking downwards affect that range?

Say a flying PC with a handaxe was flying 150 feet above an enemy. Can they throw their weapon down to hit it? It’s outside both the handaxe’s standard and long range, but the handaxe has nowhere to go but down.

Does it automatically miss? Does it become an improvised weapon?

Is a Chakram a ranged or Melee weapon?

For the purposes of using Sharpshooter (-5/+10 Dam) can I use a Chakram?

The weapon is from the Odyssey of the dragon lords campaign with a description of: Thylean Weapon: Chakram Martial Weapon. Damage: 1d6 slashing. Properties: Thrown (range 60/120 ft.), light, finesse, special: The chakram returns to you when thrown, unless you fumble the attack by rolling a natural 1. Weight: 2 lbs. Cost 10 gp.

Im assuming a martial weapon can be melee or ranged. Is it possible the Chakram is both a melee weapon and a ranged weapon?

Please only use RAW to answer the question. Thanks.

Do the rules allow you to Backstab with a bow or ranged weapon?

Backstab is the starting ability received by Rogues at level 1 in Dragon Age RPG. The full explanation of the ability is outlined below. Highlighting the key section in bold

You can inflict extra damage with an attack if you can strike an opponent from an unexpected direction or catch them unawares. You must approach your opponent with a move action If attacking with a melee weapon. Then you must win an opposed test of your Dexterity (Stealth) vs. your target’s Perception (Seeing). If you win the test, you can use your major action this round to Backstab him. This is an attack with a +2 bonus to the attack roll that inflicts +1d6 extra damage. You cannot Backstab an enemy that you begin your turn adjacent to (but see the Bluff power at level 4.

This section differs between the printed book and the PDF edition.

The same highlighted sentence in the printed book reads:

You must approach your opponent with a move action

We are struggling to figure out whether this means that the move action is only required for melee weapons (and ranged surprise attacks are possible) or backstab is only possible with a melee weapon, the 2 books appear to imply different answers and we can’t figure out which is which.

Can you take advantage of flanking positions with a ranged weapon?

There appears to be some controversy over whether or not a ranged attacker can ever be considered to be flanking his target. Is it true that it is impossible to flank enemies with a ranged weapon? What about the first line of the flanking rules, which state:

When making a melee attack, you get a +2 flanking bonus if your opponent is threatened by another enemy character or creature on its opposite border or opposite corner.

Some people claim that this means you can only be considered flanking an enemy while you are currently making a melee attack, is that true?

In general, are you ever considered to be flanking a target while attacking with a ranged weapon and are there any situations in which this distinction could possibly matter?

Do the Gauntlets of Flaming Fury infuse ranged weapon ammunition with magical properties?

The description of the Gauntlets of Flaming Fury says:

While you wear both of these steel gauntlets, any non-magical weapon you grasp with either gauntlet is treated as a magic weapon.

Does this property infuse both a ranged weapon and the ammunition being fired with this magical property, or just the ranged weapon and not the ammunition?

Can I connect grenades with a detonator and use it as a ranged weapon in combat?

We’ve been dipping into Starfinder and I find myself playing a mechanic. I love the idea of using grenades to their fullest advantage, it’s a fun, volatile weapon that turns up as loot too often not to make use of. However, as we level up the average grenade is not as useful as one-by-one weapons and so I thought about connecting them with a detonator and using that as a ranged weapon, or as a dropped weapon that I set off when at a safe distance. A sort of "grenade bomb".

But first, the facts:

Detonators: This conical device primes and detonates explosives (including grenades) with a push of a button. Programming a detonator to a specific package of explosives takes 1 minute, after which the detonator can be triggered in one of several ways. The detonator can be set to ignite its payload with the simple press of a button (no action), a four-digit command code (a move action), or a complex input method, such as scanning your retina or thumbprint (a full action). You choose the triggering method when setting the detonator. A detonator detonates its payload only if it is within 500 feet, but some detonators can make use of signal-boosting technologies at the risk of becoming vulnerable to countermeasures like signal jammers and other effects. Explosives have the same price, effect, and weight as grenades (see page 183). If you successfully set an explosive on a stationary object with a detonator using the Engineering skill, the explosive’s damage ignores half of the object’s hardness. (SCRB, 219)

And:

Grenades: Grenades are thrown weapons that detonate in an explosive radius when they reach the target…The DC of the save is equal to 10 + half the grenade’s item level + your Dexterity modifier. Any penalty you take to your attack roll also applies to this save DC. (SCRB, 183)

Ok, now, from these descriptions, I think it’s possible. The detonator is a little bit confusing because it talks about grenades and explosives as separate where explosives can damage a stationary object. So I wouldn’t be using this grenade bomb to damage an object specifically. It would be against creatures.

Questions, and I’m wondering if this might just be GM discretion:

  • Would this grenade bomb be a ranged weapon or something that I have to plan and place? I.E. Could it be prepared in advance (takes one minutes, but doesn’t specify if that’s in battle or beforehand) and used when needed?
  • How many grenades can be connected to a detonator? Would there be penalties to my attack roll? How would one calculate the save against the grenade bomb?

Thank you all so much!

Firing Ranged Attacks past Other Creatures

I have recently come up against the problem that players want to fire ranged attackes through multiple enemies, or place AoE spells behind multiple enemies. The idea that one could fire an arrow past three or more other creatures (and yes, I understand that the creature does not occupy the whole 5ft square) seemed completely unrealistic to me. I consulted the rules, and found that (as I understand it), no matter how many creatures are between you and the target, they only get +2AC, and there is no restriction on AoE placement.

To solve this problem, I have come up with the following houserules (also includes some ruling clarifications for players, and rules from back section of DMG):

You can make a ranged attack against an enemy on the other side of an ally or enemy creature. However the following rules apply (based on how many creatures are between you and it):

  • One creature: Half-cover (+2 AC)

  • Two creatures: 3/4-cover (+5 AC)

  • Three creatures or more: Full cover (can’t target)

If you do not hit the AC of the creature you were trying to hit, but do hit the AC of one or more of the intervening creatures, then you hit the nearest one you hit the AC for instead. This includes allies.

For spells that specify targeting a location or creature ‘that you can see’, you can cast past one or two creatures, but not past three or more.

The above house-rules have not been playtested yet.

Does anyone have a better solution? Do the rules-as-written actually deal with the problem? Will these house-rules work?

I’m primarily looking for other people who have had a similar problem, and have play-tested house-rules (similar or different to these) to solve it.

Does the Gust of wind spell affect ranged weapons?

Gust of wind Says:

A line of strong wind 60 feet long and 10 feet wide blasts from you in a direction you choose for the spell’s duration. Each creature that starts its turn in the line must succeed on a Strength saving throw or be pushed 15 feet away from you in a direction following the line.

I am wondering if this would either negate ranged attacks on the wizard, or at the very least pose disadvantage on the attacker?

The closest thing I could find to an answer was in the DMG p110, under Strong Wind

A strong wind imposes disadvantage on ranged weapon attack rolls.

My personal experience in archery, is that there is basically no point in even trying to hit a target with anything above a mild wind. As it is very, very difficult at any distance.