Can a Horizon Walker ranger teleport before making their additional attack with the Distant Strike feature?

The Horizon Walker ranger subclass from Xanathar’s Guide to Everything gains the Distant Strike feature at 11th level (p. 43):

At 11th level, you gain the ability to pass between the planes in the blink of an eye. When you take the Attack action, you can teleport up to 10 feet before each attack to an unoccupied space you can see. If you attack at least two different creatures with the action, you can make one additional attack with it against a third creature.

If you attack two different creatures, and gain the one additional attack against a third creature, could you also teleport before that third attack?

Does the UA Beast Conclave revised ranger let you add your proficiency bonus to both the Boar companion’s Tusk damage roll and its Charge damage roll?

I am just hoping to get some clarification on this one.

The UA Ranger Beast Conclave’s Companion’s Bond feature says:

In addition to the areas where it normally uses its proficiency bonus, an animal companion also adds its proficiency bonus to its AC and to its damage rolls.

Does this mean if my boar companion uses a charge attack, I add proficiency damage twice (to the tusk damage and charge damage) or is it added only one time?

Just for referencing, the boar’s statblock says:

Charge. If the boar moves at least 20 ft. straight toward a target and then hits it with a tusk attack on the same turn, the target takes an extra 3 (1d6) slashing damage. If the target is a creature, it must succeed on a DC 11 Strength saving throw or be knocked prone.

Tusk. Melee Weapon Attack: +3 to hit, reach 5 ft., one target. Hit: 4 (1d6 + 1) slashing damage.

Does the Ranger Planar Warrior bypass resistance to non magical attacks

Some creatures have:

Damage Resistances bludgeoning, piercing, slashing from nonmagical attacks

Does that apply to the Planar Warrior ability, since the attack is made from a normal weapon, but the damage is changed into force damage?

Planar Warrior

At 3rd level, you learn to draw on the energy of the multiverse to augment your attacks.

As a bonus action, choose one creature you can see within 30 feet of you. The next time you hit that creature on this turn with a weapon attack, all damage dealt by the attack becomes force damage, and the creature takes an extra 1d8 force damage from the attack. When you reach 11th level in this class, the extra damage increases to 2d8.

What to do as a player when ranger animal companion dies

I recently found myself in a situation where my PHB Beastmaster’s animal companion was killed. There were no suitable beasts in the vicinity. As we were partway through a dungeon the party was unwilling to take a several day detour to replace the beast.

After a long rest the rest of the party was full health and ready to continue on but I had no new animal companion. My spells and equipment were optimized around the beast companion so without it over half my damage output was gone.

I ended up spending the rest of the dungeon casting cure wounds as there was little more I could do besides a single hand crossbow shot a turn.

Is there realistically anything I could have done or do Beastmaster rangers have to accept that if their beast companion dies they will be sitting on the sidelines until they can replace it?

DM flatly refused death saves on the animal companion stating it was not a PC. RAW only; no UA or hand waving.

How do my spells work when multi-classing Ranger and Druid?

Okay, I’ve been reading through posts online and the multi-classing rules over the last couple of hours. And good lord, either I’m an idiot (highly likely) or this stuff is tough. Anyway:

In a campaign I’m playing with some friends, I am multi-classing UA Ranger and PHB Druid. I’m having a few problems with this since there are conflicting sources, I’m also having a hard time understanding that Druids prepare spells yet Rangers in 5e do not. More on that later.

Both of these classes can only learn Druid spells anyway and Rangers only gain spell slots at level 2. So I’m having a hard time figuring out how all these rules fit together with these two specific classes.

For this example lets say I have a level 7 Ranger and a level 6 Druid with a wisdom modifier of +2. Their base spell slots would be:

\begin{array}{lccc} & 1st & 2nd & 3rd \ Ranger & 4 & 3 & – \ Druid & 4 & 3 & 3 \end{array}

Which normally would total:

\begin{array}{lccc} & 1st & 2nd & 3rd \ Sum & 8 & 6 & 3 \ \end{array}

… but calculating where the character would be on the multi class table would be: (Druid level) + ((Ranger level)/2) which would be 9.5 rounded down to 9. So on the multi-class table the character would have:

\begin{array}{lccccc} & 1st & 2nd & 3rd & 4th & 5th\ Multiclass & 4 & 3 & 3 & 3 & 1 \ \end{array}

However neither of my classes at their level can learn 4th or 5th level spells.

So am I correct in saying that I can’t learn 4th and 5th level spells but I could cast a spell such as Cure Wounds in that 5th level slot?

The other problem I run into is that Druids prepare spells (their Druid level + wisdom modifier), which in the case of level 6 could prepare 8. Yet my Ranger does not have to prepare spells how does that work? Especially since BOTH classes can only learn Druid spells anyway so I can’t just stick to “you don’t need to prepare Ranger spells”.

I’m sorry this post is so long but I feel like either I’m doing something HORRIBLY wrong or I’ve just chosen the two most hardest to integrate classes.

Do the Ranger Archetype spells (XGtE) expend a spell slot when cast?

In XGtE the Ranger Archetypes are awarded additional spells at specific levels.

For example the Monster Slayer archetype receives Protection from Evil and Good at 3rd level. XGtE states The spell counts as a ranger spell for you, but doesn’t count against the number of ranger spells you know, so this would mean the a third level Monster Slayer would know Protection from Evil and Good plus three spells.

Does this mean that they still only have three spell slots to use, they have an extra spell slot, or can they cast Protection from Evil and Good without expending a slot?

The way I interpret the rule is that (in the above example) the Monster Slayer knows three spells plus Protection from Evil and Good, but still only has three spell slots to use.

How can I help our ranger feel special about her beast companion?

I am not DM, just a player. In our party of newbies we have a (PHB) ranger who just recently got her beast companion (a panther if you’re curious). The problem is our party also found a cat with wings – a tressym – and it was taken in by our bard. (Technically, it is part of a quest and meant to be returned to its rightful owner, but I doubt our party will actually do that.) The DM didn’t really give her control over it; the bard just said something like, “I take the cat and put it in my backpack,” and so now I guess it’s hers.

After the session, the ranger confided in me that she didn’t feel very special about having her own animal if other people are going to get them too. Now we’re only level 4 and she only had her panther for 1 session that had 2 very quick fights so there hasn’t been a lot of time to experiment and play with the panther. I know it will get more powerful and just better as time goes on but I’m wondering how I can convince her.

I guess I should mention that the ranger in question is also my wife so I really don’t want her to feel sad about her panther.

How can I help our ranger feel special about her beast companion?

How connect mBot Ranger through bluetooth on linux

I got an mBot Ranger and it works fine to program with my Ubuntu 18.4 LTS with the makebot-ide. The problem is that I have to use an USB-cable. Makebot doesn’t support bluetooth for Linux. So I guess that I have to make a bluetooth connection and setup that connection as a com-port somehow.

I can connect though the ubuntu-gui (although it doesn’t for the pincode as the manual for windows says should be there) so the bot is visible. I have tried a few guides to get the com-port, eg /dev/rfcomm0 but I have not been successfull in getting it to work (or exist at all).

What is the evidence, if any, that the Ranger Beast Master archetype is comparatively underpowered?

I have seen various claims that the Ranger’s Beast Master Archetype is underpowered, compared to other ranger archetypes and/or classes.

I have searched for some factual analysis that would support or refute this, but I have not found any.

What is the evidence, if any, that the Ranger Beast Master archetype is comparatively underpowered?