Can a druid of spores revive a zombie as a reaction if the humanoid died last turn?

There is a class feature for spores druids called Fungal infestation, and in the rules it is stated:

If a beast or humanoid that is Small or Medium dies within 10 feet of you, you can use your reaction to animate it, causing it to stand up immediately with 1 hit point. The creature uses the zombie statistics. It remains animate for 1 hour, after which time it collapses and dies.

So, if a bandit dies within 10 feet of a druid of spores, and the druid doesn’t revive him (already spent reaction on the turn or whatever) can he use the reaction to revive next turn?

Does the Witch Bolt spell end if you use a bonus action, reaction, or movement (remaining within the spell’s range)?

The obvious things are:

  • ending it voluntarily
  • losing concentration
  • breaking the tether with range or cover
  • using a normal action on your turn for something other than witch bolt

What isn’t specified is whether or not the spell ends when you use a bonus action, movement or reaction. I would assume that reactions would be fine because they are quick spells and not on your turn. Movement is generally not considered an action in 5e afaik, so it seems fine too. The description is less clear about bonus actions however, because they occur on your turn and witch bolt states

On a hit, the target takes 1d12 lightning damage, and on each of your turns for the duration, you can use your action to deal 1d12 lightning damage to the target automatically. The spell ends if you use your action to do anything else. The spell also ends if the target is ever outside the spell’s range or if it has total cover from you.

BUT Bonus actions are fast and often without a somatic/verbal component, and most cases in the PHB refer to the normal action as "your action". Also, the action required for witch bolt is NOT casting a spell and so the "bonus spell + cantrip" rule is not applicable here. Witch bolt is presumably taking a mental effort to maintain, such that I wouldn’t be able to cast another normal action spell without losing focus on the beam, but for something like misty step, with only a verbal component and taking minimal effort (especially if it’s a wizard spell-mastery spell), it seems to me like it would be possible.

Anyone know if there’s an official ruling for this, or is it entirely up to the DM? If I were a DM I’d rule that it’s allowed, since it requires giving up your standard action, and you’re still limited to the 30ft tether AND line of sight, AND concentration, AND spell slots if you’re not a lvl 18 wizard. Compared to a high level blastlock hitting for 4d10+20+knockback with eblast each turn, with a cantrip that would allow a bonus spell on your turn and a reaction spell on someone else’s turn, witch bolt with bonus action and reaction (now that I think about the math) still seems underpowered at high levels. (especially now that I realize that subsequent turns don’t add the extra damage from a higher lvl spell slot. A lot of text for something not terrible useful. Still curious though.

TL:DR Can I maintain witch bolt on a target and move normally and use my bonus action to teleport around with misty step (provided I maintain line of sight and tether range), while using my reactions on enemy creature’s turns for counterspell or shield?

Sentinel’s last function. What comes first, the attack or the reaction?

Quick question of the order between enemy actions and friendly reactions.

Sentinel

• Whenever you hit a creature with an opportunity attack, its speed drops to 0 for the rest of the turn. This stops any movement they may have been taking.

• Creatures within your reach provoke opportunity attacks even if they took the Disengage action.

When a creature within your reach makes an attack against a target other than you (and that target doesn’t have this feat), you can use your reaction to make a melee weapon attack against the attacking creature.

Does this happen before the enemy’s attack goes through? So the player have a chance to kill the attacking creature before he attacks the players party member? Or does the enemy’s attack connect first, giving the player an opportunity to attack the enemy?

Can a flying character choose to fall, and then use a reaction to stop falling before hitting the ground?

As a flying character there are a few scenarios that I’d like to know are valid/RAW, invalid, or up to the DM.

Assume in these scenarios that all characters fall at 1000ft/round (this is not up for discussion (no matter how strongly you feel about it) as my DM has made this ruling.) Also assume the fall is intentional (on my turn/not done by an enemy or enemy’s turn).

  1. Fly at 1,005ft, fall (drop prone?) in 1 round (1000ft), next round recover (stand up from prone), land safely or continue to fly.

  2. Fly at 600ft, fall, to 60ft recover to fly normally.

  3. Fly at 600ft, fall, to 60ft cast feather as a reaction to falling. This scenario could also include carrying a halfling (600ft), then dropping her, and she can cast feather fall (as a reaction) 60ft before hitting the ground.

Feel free to add additional cool scenarios that could work. Or if a scenario doesnt work, what would be needed to make it work.

If possible please use citations, especially if any of the scenarios are invalid/against the rules.

Do you lose concentration on a Readied spell when you use your reaction for something else?

The War Wizard gets the Durable Magic feature at 10th level which states:

[…] While you maintain concentration on a spell, you have a +2 bonus to AC and all saving throws.

The Ready action states:

[…] When the trigger occurs, you can either take your reaction right after the trigger finishes or ignore the trigger. Remember that you can take only one reaction per round.

When you ready a spell, you cast it as normal but hold its energy, which you release with your reaction when the trigger occurs. To be readied, a spell must have a casting time of 1 action, and holding onto the spell’s magic requires concentration. If your concentration is broken, the spell dissipates without taking effect. […]

Thus a War Wizard with a Readied spell would gain bonuses to their AC and saving throws. But what happens if the Wizard chooses to make an opportunity attack or use their reaction on something else? Do they maintain concentration on fire-bolt or do they drop concentration; Do they continue to benefit from Durable Magic or not?


The only thing I was able to find was that the Sage Advice Compendium document (pdf link) states the following (emphasis mine):

Q. I have a readied action. Can I stop readying to take an opportunity attack? Or is ready a full turn commitment?

A. If you have an action readied, you can make an opportunity attack, which causes you to stop readying.

Notably, this only addresses opportunity attacks and doesn’t give any justification, so part of my question is this: Is there support for the conclusion made in the Sage Advice Compendium anywhere in the rulebooks themselves?

Is there a work around for Counterspell and Identifying a spell both using a reaction?

In order to Identify a spell being cast (XGtE p85)

a character can use their reaction to identify a spell as it’s being cast,

This is a problem because Counterspell (PH p228) also requires a reaction.

So if my intent is to identify the spell being cast and then counter it, I am unable to do both at the same time.

The only work around I have thought about is having a familiar attempt to identify the spell for me, and then telepathically relay the information so I can then counter it… But hes not terribly smart..

Any other options or solutions?

Can you move during your reaction in a ready action?

So let’s say that the party or the baddies want to dive a target all at once, but they are far apart on the turn order. Can the divers all do a ready action and then all jump in at once?

Example:

Turn order is:

  1. PC1
  2. PC2
  3. NPC1
  4. PC3
  5. PC4
  6. NPC2

Can NPC1 do a ready action of “when NPC2 moves in to attack a PC, I move in to attack the same PC” and then move and attack as the reaction?

If a spell caster loses concentration on greater invisibility, and an opponent has readied a reaction, what happens first?

As an example, both the spellcaster and the opponent (“the archer”) have 1 hp remaining, so whoever completes there action first will knock the opponent unconscious. The spellcaster casts Create Bonfire, On the archer’s space. However, The archer has readied an arrow targeting the spellcaster for “as soon as the spellcaster is visible.”

My question is, who’s action will go off first?

The relevant information on concentration can be found in the PHB (p.203):

You lose concentration when you cast another spell that requires concentration. You can’t concentrate on two spells at once.

and XGtE (p.5):

As soon as you start casting a spell or using a special ability that requires concentration, your concentration on another effect ends instantly.

Readied actions can be seen in the PHB (p.193):

When the trigger occurs, you can either take your reaction right after the trigger finishes or ignore the trigger. Remember that you can take only one reaction per round.

From this, it seems unclear who will complete there action first. What counts as the archer’s trigger finishing? does it finish when the spellcaster finishes casting their spell, as this action is what began the trigger? Or does the archer get to fire their arrow as soon as the spellcaster is visible, as they “finish” being invisible as soon as they begin casting the second spell?