Will a target being apatic after broken haste still remain apatic after beeing downed? [closed]

We had a strange situation in a fight,

and I really side with my DM here who denied it, but the question still remains:

  1. a character is hasted
  2. the concentration breaks, character is in an lethargic state
  3. character gets knocked down before his next turn
  4. the target is no longer a willing creature (?), also it’s status alignments should end when knocked unconscious
  5. the character receives healing and gets back up on his feet -> will he still be lethargic?

I should note that we assume a character would not remain unconscious even after beeing healed / stabilized for simplicity reasons. ( I heard some groups play it this way, unsure about the correct rulings here )

Does the target of a grab-based power remain grabbed after the attack?

From my understanding a grab-based power involves the following:

  1. The user spends a standard action to make a grab attack on the target.
  2. The target can resist the grab as per the normal grab action rules, using Strength or Dodge.
  3. If the target fails to resist the grab he then needs to resist the normal effects of the power (for example toughness for a damage power)

My question is whether this grab attack that is made as part of using the power is supposed to be an actual grab attempt that remains in effect if the target fails the grab resistance check or merely an additional resistance check that must be overcome that is based on grabbing rules.

Proceed to the next video of the custom post type but remain on the same post

So I have a custom post type in WordPress that displays html5 videos. Is there a way I could automatically play the next video once it’s over and still remain on the same post? I’m thinking something like this would be the perfect example.

Here’s a link to what I have so far.

I have a custom post type called nowthisearth_post and a custom field nowthisearth_media_url that is pulling in the link to the MP4 file. Right now there are 6 posts and would like for it to proceed to the next one after the video ends. Here’s what I have right now..

I started off using the get_next_post(); function but it doesn’t seem to work. I’m thinking maybe it would need to be converted into some sort of video playlist with thumbnails at the bottom.

<div class="container-fluid nowthis-header"> <div class="container" style="z-index:11;">     <div class="row">         <div class="col-12">             <?php $  mrssfeed_url = get_post_meta(get_the_id(), 'nowthisearth_media_url', true);?>             <video class="nowthis-video" style="" width="1280" height="720" autoplay="true" controls loop>               <source src="<?php echo $  mrssfeed_url ?>" type="video/mp4">                 Your browser does not support the video tag.             </video>         </div>         <div class="col-12">             <?php $  next_post = get_next_post();             if ( is_a( $  next_post , 'nowthisearth_post' ) ) : ?>                 <a href="<?php echo get_permalink( $  next_post->ID ); ?>"><?php echo get_the_title( $  next_post->ID ); ?></a>             <?php endif; ?>         </div>     </div> </div> 

Do Continuous effects in an array remain after you switch to a different power?

Note: This is different to What happens when you use a continuous power in an array and then switch to a different power? as that covers 2nd edition, and I’m focused on 3rd.

Say you have an array with two powers: one is a Create effect with Increased Duration (Continuous) extra, the other is an attack of some kind. You use the former to create a box, and then switch to the other. Does the box remain, or does it vanish?

The rules are ambiguous on this point, and there is a strong argument for either position from both a rules and a thematic perspective

The description for Alternate Effect states:

Alternate Effects cannot be used or maintained at the same time as other Alternates in the same array; they are mutually exclusive

The description for the Continuous duration states:

The effect lasts as long as you wish, without any action required on your part. Once active, it stays that way until you choose to deactivate it

From a rules perspective, one could argue that since one is not maintaining the effect, one would be permitted to swap between powers without dismissing the effect. On the other hand, one could argue that the effect being in place at all counts as the power being ‘used’.

From a thematic perspective, one could argue for effects remaining with the following example: Imagine a superhero, let’s call her Sue. Sue has the power to fire Ice Beams, with two applications: as an attack, or to build ice constructs. Since both rely on her firing Ice Beams, and she can only use the beams for one at a time, it makes sense that they would be an array. In addition, once her constructs are created, she doesn’t need to sustain them (ignoring ice melting for this example). As such, it would make sense for the constructs to be Continuous. If she were to build a construct one round, then attack with her beams the next, it would make little sense for the construct to suddenly disappear, as they were not reliant on her in any way. However, one could argue that the two effects being able to be applicable at the same time violates the concept of an array.

I’ve checked the forums, and there is a solid 3 pages of discussion there with no consensus, so I’m looking for an official ruling on this if there is one at all. Thanks in advance.

Will loot you find on the astral plane while using astral projection remain when you leave it?

While under the effect of astral projection you have an astral body which has the following rules:

Your astral body resembles your mortal form in almost every way, replicating your game statistics and possessions.

I don’t think that you keep stuff if you pick it normally because the following lines (but please correct me if I’m wrong).

Any damage or other effects that apply to it have no effect on your physical body, nor do they persist when you return to it.

It doesn’t specifically say that you cannot pick up loot and take it with you, but it differentiates the astral form from the physical form in a way that they are in no way connected (except the cord).

But, my possessions are being replicated, also my bag of holding. If I pick something up in the astral plane and put it into my bag of holding, will it remain in there when I return to my physical body?

Would the Magnificent Mansion if cast on a moving object remain where it was cast or stay with the object?

The question has arisen in my mind on whether when a mage has cast a Magnificent Mansion (5e) while on an object that is in motion (boat, airship, giant alpaca, etc), would the doorway to the Mansion then remain static in place?

The relavent wording from the spell: "You conjure an extradimensional dwelling in range that lasts for the duration. You choose where the entrance is located. The entrance is 5 feet wide and 10 feet tall…"

I could see that this would indicate that the mage has chosen the location to be the giant alpaca and as such that is where the door would remain located. Or that the mage has chosen the place in space that the door is located and as such the door would remain there despite the alpaca continuing to move forward. Or perhaps something else might occur…?

Does a drawn Teleportation Circle remain after it has been used?

Simply put, once a Teleportation Circle drawn for the usage of the spell of the same name has been activated and utilized, does the drawing remain behind? I understand the spell has material components that are required and consumed in the casting of the spell, but it’s a bit vague as to whether the drawing is consumed or if it remains behind but is inert.

Example: A party’s wizard draws a circle for their home base and the party uses said circle, teleporting them all home. An enemy tracking them finds where the spell was cast and sees the circle left behind, now inert, but easy to replicate with the material components again and cast the spell teleporting the enemy into the party’s home base.

Assuming I’m using Starbucks Wifi, is there a point of using a VPN if I want to remain anonymous?

Wouldn’t using Starbucks Wifi make me somewhat anonymous since my ip address would be the same as other users connected to the same network? Therefore, no need to use a VPN assuming I don’t want the website I’m connected to know my identify. Of course, the website can figure who I am assuming my browser fingerprints is unique. However, assuming I change my browser fingerprints every session, then I should be fine. Correct?

Could a Warlock use the One with Shadows eldritch invocation to remain invisible during a long rest/sleep?

The warlock’s One with Shadows eldritch invocation presents an interesting opportunity: it gives you invisibility without requiring concentration. Specifically (PHB, p. 111):

One with Shadows

Prerequisite: 5th level

When you are in an area of dim light or darkness, you can use your action to become invisible until you move or take an action or a reaction.

Unlike the invisibility spell, this would not necessarily end if the warlock became unconscious. However, the wording that says that this spell ends if you “move or take an action or a reaction” seems to imply that this invisibility is usually intended to last for a very short duration.

But it occurred to me that outside of combat, people often don’t do much that technically requires an action, especially if they are at rest. And at other times, it has been indicated that “moving” (for the purpose of magical triggers) refers to moving in the sense of spending movement to change your location on a 2D grid (not becoming prone, or standing up from prone).

So I was wondering: could a warlock use an action to Hide1, then use the One with Shadows invocation to become invisible, then simply lie down and go to sleep for 8 hours (for a long rest), while remaining invisible (and likely hidden)?

Put another way: is there some action, reaction, or move required during a long rest?


1 I included the part about Hiding because according to the rules as written, an unhidden creature that is invisible is still apparent to creatures around it (it can’t be seen, but they know where it is). So I wanted to include the hiding part to avoid that argument. And I did so beforehand, because using the Hide action while invisible would break the invisibility.