Do removed parts of a Druid’s Wild Shape form persist after said Druid exits Wild Shape?

A player wanted to use Wild Shape as an unlimited supply of feathers for our ranger to make his own arrows with and it sparked a discussion on whether or not parts of a Druid that are removed from said Druid’s Wild Shape persist after the Druid is no longer in Wild Shape.

I have been unable to find any rules that either allow or disallow this action. Whereas there are specific rules on what happens to gear the druid is wearing, I have found no statement on what happens to removed physical parts of the Wild Shape form.

I have thought of two reasonable solutions:

  1. Removed pieces of Wild Shape form persist indefinitely. This would make a Druid Indistinguishable from a normal creature until knocked out of druid form and would make the party assassin happy as he now has a reliable fresh supply of Giant venomous snake venom to apply to his daggers.

  2. Removed pieces of wild shape form persist until the Druid leaves Wild Shape. This would avoid the issues of unlimited resources, but raise other questions such as whether blood spilled by the Wild Shape also disappears or whether a creature that has “become poisoned for 1 hour” would stop being poisoned when the Druid is knocked out of that shape because the poison has dissipated with his Wild Shape.

Which (if either) of these lines up with the rules? Or does this fall under DM fiat?

What happens when Restrained creatures are removed from the area of effect of Entangle?

The victims of an Entangle spell are Restrained and cannot move themselves; but can be moved by others. I had always assumed that moving them out of the Area of Effect of the spell would free them; but a close reading of the spell now has me questioning this.

Grasping weeds and vines sprout from the ground in a 20-foot square starting from a point within range…A creature in the area when you cast the spell must succeed on a Strength saving throw or be restrained by the entangling plants until the spell ends. A creature restrained by the plants can use its action to make a Strength check against your spell save DC. On a success, it frees itself.

As written, there are only two things which explicitly end the restrained condition; the end of the spell and a successful strength check by the victim.

Contrast this with the Web spell.

On a failed save, the creature is restrained as long as it remains in the webs or until it breaks free.

There, a creature that leaves "the webs" (=VoE?) is explicitly free of restraint.

However, note that with Entangle, the "entangling plants" themselves are limited to the initial 20 foot square (not cube), and while there they "sprout from the ground". Under the 5e principle that there is no flavor text in spells, it could be that the vines can only Restrain one while they are connected to the ground, and leaving the area does not take the plants along.

Note that if the vines wrap around anything, it is only the feet and legs – a Restrained character cannot move themselves, but they can still attack and cast spells. Restrained does not mean Incapacitated.

So, do these plant restraints remain tightly coiled around one’s legs, keeping one restrained even if moved away from the original ground, or do the restraints fall away once the plants are ripped from the ground?

Related: If you are pushed out of Evard's black tentacles while restrained, are you still restrained?

What’s the difference in Geas saying it can be removed by Wish?

The text for geas says the following about removing the spell:

A remove curse, greater restoration, or wish spell also ends it.

However, you can already use wish to replicate remove curse or greater restoration and thus end geas. It seems redundant.

What’s the difference if it didn’t mention using Wish? Is there a genuine mechanical difference that I’m missing?

How can a disease be removed, if the description of the disease does not specify?

The description of a Gas Spore’s Death Burst [MM p. 138] says (in part):

Spores invade an infected creature’s system, killing the creature in a number of hours equal to 1d12 plus the creature’s constitution score, unless the disease is removed.

It does not say how the disease may be removed.

The DMG is very vague on disease. Regarding removal:

A simple outbreak might amount to little more than a small drain on party resources, curable by casting of lesser restoration. A more complicated outbreak can form the basis of one or more adventures….

What spells, abilities or tools can be used to remove disease where a specific cure is not mentioned in the disease’s description?

If a platinum ring is removed and then replaced do the effects of Warding Bond resume?

Warding Bond has a duration of 1 hour and has a material requirement of

a pair of platinum rings worth at least 50 gp each, which you and the target must wear for the duration

If one of the two rings is removed does the spell end or are its effects merely suppressed? If the ring is replaced within the 1 hour duration would Warding Bond need to be re-cast or would its effects resume?

serengines.com should be removed from options IMO

I use to use it quite a lot but its basically doing very little these days.
The emails are not created
80% of the blogs either don’t get created, get created but are never validated.
I think the person who owns it has abandoned the project is just conning people out of money.
But it reflects badly on GAS that the option is available.
Just my opinion.

Can Equipment be removed without a Hero Point for the Complication?

In a recent discussion on Reddit, a few of us asserted that Equipment, unlike Powers and Devices, can be removed without warning by the GM, whether it’s a temporary removal (the gun jams, or runs out of ammo) or more permanent (your sword breaks or your disarmed knife skitters off the side of the roof). You can generally take an action to reload or unjam your gun, or buy another knife between scenes. And then it was pointed out that in the 3E documentation, it seems that you might get a hero point for a GM-induced Complication.

Lots of equipment has a limited lifespan: guns run out of ammo, cars run out of gas, SCUBA tanks run out of oxygen, and batteries run out of juice. However, it can be a hassle to keep track of the lifespan of every piece of equipment the heroes may have (to say nothing of all the villains and supporting characters). So these rules pay fairly little attention to equipment running out or breaking down except when the Gamemaster wants to make things interesting for the heroes with a complication or two. Thus equipment failure—either due to running out of fuel or simple malfunction—is a dramatic issue rather than a matter of cost-accounting and keeping track of things like ammo and how much gas is in the tank of the hero’s super-car.

Thinking there was an edition change, I checked the 2E materials, and while it’s a bit closer to saying that there’s no Hero Point, the last line kind of indicates differently.

Equipment is vulnerable to damage, malfunctions, and loss, moreso than devices. One use of a power like Disintegration or Transform can turn a character’s equipment to dust, for example, and equipment tends to be delicate when it comes to super-powered attacks. Equipment may be lost or taken away from the character with impunity, and the GM may sometimes arrange circumstances to separate characters from their equipment as a GM fiat or setback (see Chapter 6).

For some reason, I thought that 3E still had text indicating that Equipment, unlike Devices, didn’t get Hero Points when it was taken away. Is there any evidence for that viewpoint, maybe a post from someone from Green Ronin?

Urgent bug – Anchor with UTF-8 character is removed

Hi @sven,

All anchors with UTF-8 characters are having the said character removed upon posting.

I’m using the new custom import url/anchor match to post my links.

I have just noticed this today and it’s happening 100% of all time.

Example anchor:

Glücksspiel

Outputs as:

Glcksspiel

Even using the Euro symbol € is completely removed on all anchors.

I just caught this after posting dozens of links, and am now having to go back and fix all of them…

Please let me know if you’re able to identify this bug…

Is a spell suppressed or removed when the target temporarily becomes invalid?

Based on Jeremy Crawford’s tweet, if a target is under the effect of an ongoing spell, and then the target changes such that it is no longer a valid target, the spell no longer effects them.

But does the spell end, or is it merely suppressed?

For example, suppose a human has been charmed by a dominate person spell. A friendly wizard casts polymorph on them; they fail their save and get turned into a sheep. This makes their type change to Beast, which is an invalid target for the dominate person spell, and the charm effect ends. The next turn, the wizard chooses not to concentrate, so polymorph ends and the target pops back into human form.

Assuming the dominating caster has maintained their concentration (if possible), did the spell simply end when the target became invalid, or does being invalid just suppress the dominate spell, which reasserts itself once the target is once more valid, like it would in an antimagic field?