What happens when Otiluke’s Resilient Sphere is cast on a creature that has momentum going for them?

If a creature casts Otiluke’s resilient sphere on himself while he is walking or running, does the momentum stop when the spell is cast?

I’m thinking about a scenario where a creature is surrounded by a prismatic barrier. It can’t be seen through so to get through it by teleportation misty step is out of the picture. People are split on whether dimension door (having to target the area you are making the door to) is blocked due to the barrier blocking line of effect. The spell ‘teleportation’ is a riskier form of teleportation that is also a higher level spell and is thus more difficult to access. So my thoughts turned to a spell my artificer does have: Otiluke’s Resilient Sphere.

Resilient sphere tells you how it can be moved:

An enclosed creature can use its action to push against the sphere’s walls and thus roll the sphere at up to half the creature’s speed. Similarly, the globe can be picked up and moved by other creatures.

The words of the sphere only include a way for the creature inside to move by expending an action, it would however be fallacious to say this must be an exhaustive list of what ways the sphere can be moved. As it doesn’t say it can’t be moved by other means. These words would indicate that for an creature inside to start moving the sphere it will require its action.

I want to know if there is any way to cast the sphere and move it in the same turn on only your one action (without metamagic). Particularly, what happens if the creature enclosed in the sphere has momentum when the sphere is cast. Can a creature run at the prismatic barrier and cast Otiluke’s Resilient Sphere to get through it? I presume a creature can cast while moving, and if not I know a creature can cast while concentrating on a spell; At the very least a creature should be able to use a ready action to cast the spell and concentrate on it, run at the wall, and activate the spell before he hits the wall.

Can you activate a spiritual weapon while inside the effect of Otiluke’s Resilient Sphere?

One of the rules for the Resilient Sphere spell states:

Nothing, not physical Objects, energy, or other spell Effects, can pass through the barrier, in or out, though a creature in the Sphere can breathe there. The Sphere is immune to all damage, and a creature or object inside can’t be damaged by attacks or Effects originating from outside, nor can a creature inside the Sphere damage anything outside it.

What if the person trapped inside of the sphere had cast a spell like Spiritual Weapon?

I believe the sphere would prevent you from casting Spiritual Weapon once you are inside of it. But what about activating it if you have cast it before entering the sphere?

Can Hypnotic Gaze be used through Resilient Sphere?

Can the Enchantment Wizard’s level 2 ability Hypnotic Gaze be used through a Resilient Sphere?

The ability seems to only required the Wizard to see the target, and the target to see or hear the Wizard:

… choose one creature that you can see within 5 feet of you. If the target can see or hear you…

I assume Resilient Sphere doesn’t block vision or sound, but it definitely obstructs the path from the Wizard to the target. In addition, it is written that

Nothing, not physical Objects, energy, or other spell Effects, can pass through the barrier

So, does the Hypnotic Gaze go through the Sphere or not?

Can Resilient Sphere contain multiple creatures?

As a DM, I want to know if more than one creature can fit inside Otiluke’s Resilient Sphere, Rules as Written.

Here is the scenario:

A party of four Medium creatures are walking through the old sewers of a city. Suddenly, the sound of gallons of rushing water echos down the tunnel, the party has only moments to react before the chamber floods with water. Thinking quickly, the party groups together and the wizard casts Resilient Sphere on them to protect them from the water.

Rules as Written, this wouldn’t work. The spell states that:

“The sphere is weightless and just large enough to contain the creature or object inside”.

This quote, and the continued use of singular rather than plural language, heavily implies that it is only intended to affect one creature at a time.

Using the Rule of Cool however I allow this, as the spell description also states it is:

“A sphere of shimmering force [that] encloses a creature or object of Large size or smaller within range”.

This means that if all four Medium sized creatures got into a Large box and cast Resilient Sphere on the box, this would have worked. That is because even though the creatures are in the box, the spell is being cast on the box, not on the creatures. (It is a strange technicality but it is well within the rules, so I as DM allow it to be done without the box.)

It would seem silly to disallow the contents of a container to be affected by the spell when the container itself is affected. That sets a precedent that, if you cast the spell on a chest, all the contents would fall out as the spell can only contain a single object, that being the chest. Casting it on a bottle would cause the liquid to spill out, as you only cast the spell on the container. Casting the spell on a cage could free a creature within it, as the spell was cast on the cage not the creature.

So, with this in mind, can multiple creatures can be contained within Resilient Sphere within the rules?


Here are some rhetorical questions as food for thought:

If the spell was cast on a swarm, what would happen? Would the entire Medium swarm be affected, or would only one Tiny beast in that swarm be affected?

What if the spell was cast the very moment one creature entered the space of another creature? Or when one creature was grappling or riding another creature?

If the spell was cast on an Ochre Jelly which then split whilst inside the Resilient Sphere, would the spell end as it can only contain a singular creature?

Could the spell be cast on a Large box which had a Huge creature squeezed inside of it, as creatures can squeeze into a space one size smaller than them? Or would the spell fail as it can only affect creatures or objects of Large size or smaller?

Disclaimer for any potential VTC-ers. These rhetorical questions are not a part of my question and do not need to be answered, they are simply meant to make potential answerer’s consider multiple possibilities before giving their answer. These do not make my question more broad, as I am not looking for them to be answered, and thusly any answer that focuses on only answering these rhetorical questions should be flagged as “not an answer”.

How does resilient sphere interact with antimagic field?

Resilient sphere’s description states that

Nothing–not physical objects, energy, or other spell effects–can pass through the barrier, in or out

While antimagic field’s description negates any magical effects within the field (-sphere).

The relevant sections of the antimagic field description are:

  1. Spells and other magical effects, except those created by an artifact or a deity, are suppressed in the sphere and can’t protrude into it.

  2. Areas of Magic. The area of another spell or magical effect, such as fireball, can’t extend into the sphere. If the sphere overlaps an area of magic, the part of the area that is covered by the sphere is suppressed. For example, the flames created by a wall of fire are suppressed within the sphere, creating a gap in the wall if the overlap is large enough.

Which would win if the areas of effect overlapped? Both say “effects cannot protrude”, but antimagic field specifically cancels any spell effect.

  1. What if the resilient sphere is already cast and another caster casts antimagic field nearby?
  2. What if the antimagic field is already cast and another caster casts resilient sphere nearby?
  3. What if the caster casts resilient sphere, then antimagic field?
  4. What if the caster casts antimagic field, then resilient sphere?
  5. What if someone within resilient sphere moved into antimagic field?
  6. What if the creature targeted by resilient sphere moved into antimagic field? Are both spheres suppressed?

Logically, the antimagic field should cancel the sphere in all scenarios, but I’m looking for more RAW answer.

How does Resilient sphere (cast via contingency) interact with an existing Silence spell?

I have a situation in my 5E campaign where the party cast a silence spell to sneak up on a sleeping wizard (super effective). The wizard was then rudely woken and beaten up to the point where his contingency spell of Resilient sphere was triggered.

The question is, does the resilient sphere block the effects of the silence spell on the wizard now that it exists? Is he free to cast self-range spells with verbal components and get out of this horrible situation, or is he still silenced unless he can find another way to negate the effect?

Can someone inside Otiluke’s Resilient Sphere teleport or Plane Shift away?

In my answer to the question What defenses are there against being summoned by the Gate spell? the question came up whether or not someone inside Otiluke’s Resilient Sphere can teleport away.

The spell states:

Nothing – not physical objects, energy, or other spell effects – can pass through the barrier, in or out, though a creature in the sphere can breathe there.

It’s unclear whether or not this blocks teleportation and interplanar travel. I believe not, or at least not interplanar travel; spells that do block this usually state so, such as Forcecage. Other commenters had a different opinion, which is why I’m asking this question.

I think it ultimately boils down to:

Does teleporting or plane shifting out of Otiluke’s Resilient Sphere count as “a spell passing through the barrier”?

I’m not entirely sure whether plane shifting and teleporting would be treated differently here, but I believe they might.

Does Otiluke’s Resilient Sphere beat Magic Circle?

Magic Circle has the following effect on creatures of a specified type:

The creature can’t willingly enter the Cylinder by nonmagical means. If the creature tries to use teleportation or interplanar travel to do so, it must first succeed on a Charisma saving throw.

Otiluke’s Resilient Sphere states:

Nothing—not physical objects, energy, or other spell effects—can pass through the barrier, in or out, though a creature in the sphere can breathe there.

Does the quoted effect from the Sphere beat the quoted effect from the Circle? In other words, could a creature of a type affected by a cast Magic Circle enclose itself in an Otiluke’s Resilient Sphere and freely roll themselves into the cylinder of the Magic Circle?

Reduce + Otiluke’s Resilient Sphere [duplicate]

This question already has an answer here:

  • What happens to the target of a Reduce spell if they are in a small container when the spell wears off? 1 answer

I dont know if this has been posted yet, but in my 30 minutes of research i couldn’t find anything similar.

So im wondering, if one was to reduce a creature, making them smaller and then casting a resiliant sphere around them, what would happen when reduce has ended? Would the creature get crushed by the sphere due to becoming big again, or would the sphere enlarge its self?

Does the Resilient (Con) feat or the War Caster feat most improve the chances of maintaining concentration?

The Resilient feat (PHB, p. 168) allows you to increase one ability score by 1 and gain proficiency in saving throws using the corresponding ability. In essence, taking the Resilient feat and picking Constitution adds a flat bonus to all Constitution saving throws, increasing from +2 to +6 as you gain levels.

The War Caster feat (PHB, p. 170), among other benefits, grants advantage on Constitution saving throws that you make to maintain your concentration on a spell when you take damage.

It seems like War Caster would improve the consistency of passing most Concentration checks, but that Resilient (Con) would improve the chances of passing when taking larger amounts of damage that result in a higher DC check.

Which of these two feats statistically provides a greater benefit in helping a character maintain concentration on a spell?