Is there an absolute rest frame in Forgotten Realms or D&D cosmology?

Certain spells and effects are defined in the rest frame of a certain unspecified observer which makes me wonder if it is the rest frame of the spellcaster or it is an absolute cosmological rest frame (like the hypothetical aether of our world). For example, is Leomund’s Tiny Hut stationary with respect to the spellcaster’s inertial frame of reference at the time of the casting of the spell or is it stationary with respect to an absolute frame? Another example would be the ambiguity in Glyph of Warding which specifies measurements from the position at which the spell is cast in order to determine the effective duration of the spell. Is that position relative or absolute?

If there is an absolute rest frame, do planets move with respect to this frame or are they stationary?

If a PC becomes stunned on their turn, do they lose the rest of their actions without losing any stunned value?

Page 622 of the Core Rulebook defines the Stunned condition:

You’ve become senseless. You can’t act while stunned. Stunned usually includes a value, possibly over multiple turns, from being stunned. Each time you regain actions (such as at the start of your turn), reduce the number you regain by your stunned value, then reduce your stunned value by the number of actions you lost. …

I’ve created a creature that can stun a PC as a result of the PC attacking it with a melee weapon. This means that the PC could be stunned mid-turn.

Now, rules as written, the above paragraph reads like this:

  1. You can’t act when stunned.
  2. Stunned value "ticks down" each time you regain actions.
  3. Therefore, if you are stunned during your turn, "you can’t act," so you simply lose your remaining actions. Then, at the start of your turn when you regain actions, Stunned ticks down and you may be able to act again on that turn if Stunned reduced to zero.

So, if a PC takes their first action and become Stunned 1, they will actually lose a total of three actions: the remaining two actions on their current turn, then one action when they regain actions next turn.

Is this the correct interpretation? Or should Stunned start ticking down immediately, so that in the above example, the PC would lose their second action on that turn, go down to Stunned 0, and then be able to take their third action?

Does this character concept involving never taking a long rest and converting spell slots to sorcery points (aka coffeelock) violate RAW?

Does the following, very cheesy character concept, violate any RAW? Please cite rules or official rulings in your answer. (Apart from RAW, I expect my DM to disallow or limit the concept, in the interest of balance. That is not part of my question.)

Elf. Multiclass: Sorcerer 2+ / Warlock 1+ / Bard 1

  • Never takes a long rest. Ever. See question, Must 5e elves take a long rest? Specifically, whether adventuring or not, she makes sure that every 8 hour block includes more than 2 hours of combat or strenuous activity, to ensure that no interpretation of long rest rules would allow a long rest to be automatically triggered.
  • Converts warlock spell slots into sorcery points. See @JeremyECrawford’s tweet.
  • Converts sorcery points into sorcery spell slots (or into spellcasting spell slots, once also multiclassing Bard) via Flexible Casting
  • Spell slots created from sorcery points disappear upon long rest, as per Flexible Casting and a tweet from @JeremyECrawford; therefore these created spell slots will not disappear until used, e.g. for a character taking no long rests
  • Spell slots created from sorcery points are in addition to, and not restoration of the sorcerer’s spell slots which refresh on a long rest. This is not 100% clear from RAW or clarifications. But:
    (a) Flexible Casting uses the phrase, “additional Spell Slots”;
    (b) the rule stating that created spell slots disappear on long rests is superfluous if created spell slots can only replace expended spell slots — to have meaning it must be possible to create spell slots which are not replacements;
    (c) flexible casting does not use the word “recover”, which is the word used for wizards’ Arcane Recovery
  • Restores warlock spell slots on a short rest, and repeats the cycle above, converting warlock spell slots to sorcery points to sorcerer (or spellcasting) spell slots
  • During periods of downtime, takes as many short rests per day as permissible, to build up a stockpile of created sorcerer spell slots
  • Stockpiling requires using bonus actions out of combat, discussed elsewhere
  • Stockpiling requires having short rests on downtime days, discussed in a comment below
  • While adventuring, during combat, uses created spell slots to cast spells, and/or uses flexible casting to convert those spell slots back into sorcery points
  • While adventuring, after combat, will use created spell slots with Bard spells to restore hits points, since restoring hit points via long rest is unavailable, and via hit dice is mostly unavailable

I’m pretty sure this is not RAI, but does it violate RAW in some way?

Can you maintain concentration through a short rest?

Due to the long duration on Hex, it is clearly intended to function across multiple encounters as described in this answer.

Due to the extended duration, it seems feasible that a warlock could take a short rest to recover their spell slot and thus go into a future combat with a Hex at the ready and a full assortment of spell slots. Is this correct? RAW do not appear to prohibit this.

What happens to your class features if you short rest while your form has been changed?

Bob the Warlock has blown all of his spell slots. The friendly party druid casts Animal Forms on Bob, and while in his animal form he takes a Short Rest. After the rest completes, he drops out of animal form for whatever reason. Does Bob have his spell slots back, or does he have to take a rest while in his Warlock form to regain htem?

This kind of situation could also come up with Polymorph (all three varieties) or Shapechange, combined with Catnap.

Upload Image Remotely from Rest API using JWT Authorization INVALID_AUTHORIZATION_HEADER_TOKEN_TYPE

Trying to upload images into my media gallery programatically from my local machine to webserver.

Using this function here to get the JWT token along with the
WordPress REST API Authentication plugin to initialize JWT:

function get_jwt_token_wp(): ?string {     $  request_url = 'https://example.com/wp-json/api/v1/token';      $  api = curl_init();      $  username = 'admin';     $  password = 'password';     //set the url, POST data     curl_setopt( $  api, CURLOPT_URL, $  request_url );     curl_setopt( $  api, CURLOPT_POST, 1 );     curl_setopt( $  api, CURLOPT_POSTFIELDS, "username=$  username&password=$  password" );     curl_setopt( $  api, CURLOPT_VERBOSE, 1);     curl_setopt( $  api, CURLOPT_RETURNTRANSFER, 1 );      $  server_output = curl_exec ($  api);     printr(curl_getinfo($  api));     if ($  server_output === false) {         die('Error getting JWT token on WordPress for API integration.');     }     $  server_output = json_decode($  server_output);      if ($  server_output === null && json_last_error() !== JSON_ERROR_NONE) {         die('Invalid response getting JWT token on WordPress for API integration.');     }      if (!empty($  server_output->jwt_token)) {         $  jwt_token = $  server_output->jwt_token;         curl_close ($  api);         return $  jwt_token;     } else {         die('Invalid response getting JWT token on WordPress for API integration.');     }     return null; } 

and this function to upload the image

function upload_image_wp( $  path ): array {     $  request_url = 'https://example.com/wp-json/wp/v2/media';      $  image = file_get_contents( $  path );     $  mime_type = mime_content_type( $  path );      $  api = curl_init();      $  username = 'admin';     $  password = 'password';      $  httpheader = array( 'Content-Type: ' . $  mime_type, 'Content-Disposition: attachment; filename="' . basename($  path) . '"', 'Authorization' => 'Bearer ' . WOO_JWT_KEY );      curl_setopt( $  api, CURLOPT_URL, $  request_url );     curl_setopt( $  api, CURLOPT_POST, 1 );     curl_setopt( $  api, CURLOPT_POSTFIELDS, $  image );     curl_setopt( $  api, CURLOPT_HTTPHEADER, $  httpheader );     curl_setopt( $  api, CURLOPT_VERBOSE, 1);     curl_setopt( $  api, CURLOPT_RETURNTRANSFER, 1 );     curl_setopt( $  api, CURLOPT_USERPWD, $  username . ':' . $  password );     $  result = curl_exec( $  api );     printr(curl_getinfo($  api));     curl_close( $  api );     return json_decode( $  result ); } 

with my headers looking something like this:

Array (     [0] => Content-Type: image/gif     [1] => Content-Disposition: attachment; filename="user_loggedin_avatar.gif"     [Authorization] => Bearer eyJhbGciOiJIU..................................... ) 

Is my format wrong? Am I doing something else wrong? I have never worked with JWT authentication before so this has all been new to me.

This is the error I am getting on the return of my call.

object(stdClass)[3]   public 'status' => string 'error' (length=5)   public 'error' => string 'INVALID_AUTHORIZATION_HEADER_TOKEN_TYPE' (length=39)   public 'code' => string '401' (length=3)   public 'error_description' => string 'Authorization header must be type of Bearer Token.' (length=50) 

Unfortunately google isn’t showing much of anything regarding why this error pops up, so I am a bit stuck. Any help greatly appreciated!

What is considered strenuous activity in regards to a long rest?

The description for a long rest states:

A long rest is a period of extended downtime, at least 8 hours long, during which a character sleeps for at least 6 hours and performs no more than 2 hours of light activity, such as reading, talking, eating, or standing watch. If the rest is interrupted by a period of strenuous activity – at least 1 hour of walking, fighting, casting spells, or similar adventuring activity – the characters must begin the rest again to gain any benefit from it.

Which of the following interpretations is correct in regards to what is considered strenuous activity?

a)

  • at least 1 hour of walking
  • at least 1 hour of fighting
  • at least 1 hour of casting spells

b)

  • at least 1 hour of walking
  • fighting
  • casting a spell

Personally, I think option b) is correct, because option a) allows for silly shenanigans. For example, assuming a combat encounter lasts 10 rounds – that is, 1 minute in game time – then it would be possible to have 59 encounters and still benefit from the long rest.

Can a Bloodhunter Mutant consume Mutagens towards the end of a short rest?

I’m considering playing a Bloodhunter Order of the Mutant (Updated Version). Starting at 7th Level one gains the Reconstruction Mutagen:

Reconstruction

Prerequisite: 7th level For 1 hour, at the start of each of your turns, you regain hit points equal to your proficiency bonus if you have at least 1 hit point, but no more than half of your hit points.

The Text of Mutagencraft reads as follows:

As a bonus action you can consume a single mutagen, and the effects and side effects last until you finish a short or long rest, unless otherwise specified.

Due to the 1 hour Duration of Reconstruction the effect would outlast the end of the short rest effectively pushing the number of active mutagens to 3.

Much later at Level 18 this becomes much more interesting due to Exalted Mutation

As a bonus action, you can choose one mutagen currently affecting you to flush from your system and end, then immediately have a mutagen you know the formula for take effect in its place.

Enableing you to switch the 1-hour duration mutagen to a long term one, at this point effectively enabling you to be under the effect of up to 5 long term mutagens at a time.

The Text of a short rest specifies the activities one might take during that rest:

A Short Rest is a period of downtime, at least 1 hour long, during which a character does nothing more strenuous than eating, drinking, reading, and tending to wounds.

Consuming a mutagen in my mind would count as drinking or eating something.

Am I missing something here? Is this possible? Would you allow for this in a game?