When casting Faerie Fire from Ring of Shooting Stars, do you need to maintain concentration? [duplicate]

Ring of Shooting Stars says

Faerie Fire: You can expend 1 charge as an action to cast Faerie Fire from the ring.

Since it says you cast the spell from the ring, I wonder if you need to maintain concentration on the resulting spell. Moreover, is that something particular to Ring of Shooting Stars, or is that how it usually goes with casting spells via items?

Can the Ring of X-Ray vision prevent Shadow Step?

The Ring of X-Ray vision states:

To you, solid objects within that radius […] don’t prevent light from passing through them.

The Way of the Shadow Monk has a level 6 feature that states:

When you are in dim light or darkness, as a bonus action you can teleport up to 60 feet to an unoccupied space you can see that is also in dim light or darkness.

Say a Shadow monk is inside of a wooden crate with 1 inch thick sides. The crate itself is on a wagon in bright sunlight. Within 60ft of the crate is a tree creating an area of dim light.

If the Shadow Monk activates the Ring of X-Ray vision would they be in darkness for the purposes of using Shadow Step?

Prompted by this question which focuses on how the ring affects the appearance of a dark area. My question is interested about the "reality" of the darkness/illumination.

Can the Ring of X-ray Vision make a dark interior appear lit?

The Ring of X-Ray Vision (Dungeon Master’s Guide, pg. 193) says:

While wearing this ring, you can use an action to speak its command word. When you do so, you can see into and through solid matter for 1 minute. This vision has a radius of 30 feet. To you, solid objects within that radius appear transparent and don’t prevent light from passing through them. The vision can penetrate 1 foot of stone, 1 inch of common metal, or up to 3 feet of wood or dirt. Thicker substances block the vision, as does a thin sheet of lead.

Suppose I am a pirate. After clearing the top deck of an unfortunate cargo ship, me mateys and I head below deck where the ship’s crew have extinguished all of the lanterns to make the interior totally dark. But I have a Ring of X-ray Vision. I speak the command word.

From my perspective, does my X-ray vision cause day light from outside to pass through the upper deck into this lower deck, illuminating the space as if it were day light?

Can you Counterspell a spell cast using a Ring of Spell Storing?

Is a spell cast using a Ring of Spell Storing observable, in the sense that you could Counterspell it? Or is it essentially same as if you cast a spell using something like a Sorcerer’s Subtle Spell metamagic, or some other means of hiding or not needing the components of the spell? Does it maybe even depend on the type of spell, ie. if the spell effect is observable, it could be counterspelled, but not if there is no visible effect?

Relevant snippet from the ring description:

While wearing this ring, you can cast any spell stored in it. The spell uses the slot level, spell save DC, spell attack bonus, and spellcasting ability of the original caster, but is otherwise treated as if you cast the spell.

Does a Ring of Mind Shielding affect the dream spell? [duplicate]

The party warlock recently acquired a ring of mind shielding in Tales from the Yawning Portal

The party patron is a spellcaster who is in a city distant from them. She is about to contact them via the spell Dream for an update on their progress in resolving the mission she has set them upon, and does not know about the ring. She wants a much longer conversation than sending would allow, but has not used dream before to contact them and they do not know that she is planning to do so.

Dream is a 5th level illusion spell, and will allow her to contact the party as follows:

If the target is asleep, the messenger appears in the target’s dreams and can converse with the target as long as it remains asleep, through the duration of the spell.

Note that the contact is automatic and there is no saving throw, so long as she does not use the spell to attack the target with a nightmare.

The ring says that

Creatures can telepathically communicate with you only if you allow it.

Will the ring protect against the automatic contact from the spell?

If the warlock can use the ring to decide whether or not to ‘receive the call’ while he sleeps, will he know who the sender is, or who the sender is purporting to be, before he makes this decision?

For me, the answer hinges on how I should understand "telepathically" in this description, as the natural English meaning of ‘communicating feeling at a distance’ which could include the Dream spell, or as a specific term that applies only to abilities specifically using the word telepathy, such as various feats, spells, and creature languages. Thus, an answer able to clarify this would be particularly helpful to me. However, any answer that resolves the question is welcome.

Related: Is the Telepathy rule in the Monster Manual only applicable to monster telepathy abilities?

Can I use a Ring of Telekinesis to tie someone in ropes and then levitate them?

My character recently obtained a Ring of Telekinesis:

While wearing this ring, you can cast the Telekinesis spell at will, but you can target only Objects that aren’t being worn or carried.

I also happen to have some unbreakable rope. Since the Telekinesis spell allows me to

…exert fine control on Objects with your Telekinetic grip, such as manipulating a simple tool, opening a door or a container, stowing or retrieving an item from an open container, or pouring the contents from a vial

Could I use my action to wrap/tie an opponent in rope, and then move the rope into the air, dragging them along?

Is there any real distinction between a ring and wondrous item?

In 3.5 edition (and Pathfinder), there was a distinction between rings and wondrous items, including in part that there were distinctions within wondrous items, including what applied to various body parts and slotless items. Though I see rings remain classified as "rings" and not "wondrous items" in 5th edition, I can’t locate any particular rule that identifies why there’s a distinction. (The only rule that guides magic items appears to be attunement and realism regarding body parts.) So, is there a reason that there remains a distinction between these types of magic items, or is this a remnant from older editions of the game?

Is a Spell-Refueling Ring useless for a Warlock once reaching level 7? [duplicate]

My Warlock just got a ring with the Artificer Infusion "Spell-Refueling Ring", this infusion states:

While wearing this ring, the creature can recover one expended spell slot as an action. The recovered slot can be of 3rd level or lower. Once used, the ring can’t be used again until the next dawn.

However, I am a Warlock which means that at 7th level, I literally do not have any 3rd level or lower spell slots. Does the ring thus become useless at this point and I should just give it to another party member?

Can an animal cast spells via a Ring of Spell Storing? [duplicate]

Based on this question, (answered here), I have a follow up question:

Can a normal animal cast spells via a Ring of Spell Storing?

It seems that any animal, if properly trained, can attune to the Ring. But do they have the ability to cast spells stored within?

This is strictly about trained, wild animals; not familiars where there is a telepathic link, not Beast Master beasts where there is a deeper connection. This is referring to the pig I grew up with, the owl I nursed back to health, or the rat I bought from the local store.

The best I could find so far is the Feeblemind spell which states:

… the creature’s Intelligence and Charisma scores become 1. The creature can’t cast spells, activate magic items, understand language, or communicate in any intelligible way. The creature can, however, identify its friends, follow them, and even protect them.

But is the ability score or 1 what prevents the spell casting, or an effect from the spell?

But if we take an owl, it has an Int of 2. Is that enough to cast a spell?

Consider that a PC can still become a Wizard even with the lowest die roll of 3. They just can’t multiclass.

Also, from the Ring’s description:

While wearing this ring, you can cast any spell stored in it. The spell uses the slot level, spell save DC, spell attack bonus, and spellcasting ability of the original caster, but is otherwise treated as if you cast the spell. The spell cast from the ring is no longer stored in it, freeing up space.

There is no mention of whether components are required or not. If they are, could a beast form the words/sounds needed for Verbal components?