Do you still roll saves against effects suppressed by the Calm Emotions spell?

The Calm Emotions spell says:

…suppress any effect causing a target to be charmed or frightened. When this spell ends, any suppressed effect resumes, provided that its duration has not expired in the meantime.

On first read, it seems that the expiring duration would suggest waiting out a fixed time frame. However, a lot of fear effects permit saves throughout the duration to end them.

So two questions:

  1. While a fear effect is suppressed are saves still made to end it?
  2. If so, does a creature need to comply with special requirements to attempt the save while the effect is suppressed by Calm Emotions?

To clarify, this is the text for a Red Dragon’s Frightful Presence and the Fear spell, respectively:

Frightful Presence

Each creature of the dragon’s choice that is within 120 feet of the dragon and aware of it must succeed on a DC 19 Wisdom saving throw or become frightened for 1 minute. A creature can repeat the saving throw at the end of each of its turns, ending the effect on itself on a success. If a creature’s saving throw is successful or the effect ends for it, the creature is immune to the dragon’s Frightful Presence for the next 24 hours.

Fear

While frightened by this spell, a creature must take the Dash action and move away from you by the safest available route on each of its turns, unless there is nowhere to move. If the creature ends its turn in a location where it doesn’t have line of sight to you, the creature can make a Wisdom saving throw. On a successful save, the spell ends for that creature.

Can I roll for a PC in secret?

As a GM, can I roll in secret so my players don’t even know I rolled?

For example, a PC walks past a secret door; if I ask the player to roll perception he may suspect there is something. Can I roll behind the GM screen for him to see if he passed the check and act accordingly? And I don’t mean to hide the result of the roll, but to hide the fact that I rolled at all.

I am playing pathfinder, but this is a general question.

What happens when I add success to a roll that dramatically failed?

There are a number of powers that allow to add success to a roll. For example, Mage Fate 5 spell Miracle allows you to add a success per Interdiction spent after the roll. Some others (sorry, can’t remember an exact example) allow you to add a guaranteed success before the roll. It’s clear what they do when you’ve already rolled a success: you add one more. It is implied that their primary use is to guarantee at least one success even if you roll a failure. But what I’m not clear on, is what happens when you add an automatic success to a chance die roll that gave you dramatic failure (i.e. rolled 1).

I can see two interpretations here:

  1. As long as you have one success, it is a successful roll. Since dramatic failure is an absence of successes (with additional condition), not a negative success, it doesn’t differ from a simple failure for this issue.
  2. A single success transforms dramatic failure into failure, and you need two to make it an actual success. Since when an opposite power takes away successes from a roll, you get failure on zero successes and dramatic failure on negative successes, dramatic failure actually does mean negative success, which you need to negate first.

Are there any official rules or rulings on this matter, or is it grey area left up to the ST?

Bonus questions:

  1. Does it matter if someone adds success before or after the roll? I can see it argued, that since a person already made the roll automatic success, she doesn’t need to roll (when the actual number of successes is irrelevant). On the other hand, when a dramatic failure has happened already, it may be harder to mitigate it retroactively.
  2. Does it matter how negative the dice pool was? If it doesn’t, e.g. a Mage can dump spell factors all the way to -5 dice pool, since it’s no different from 0 dice pool for him.

Does Combat Inspiration require the GM to announce attack roll totals?

I’m currently playing a 5E bard for the first time, and choosing the College of Valor route. Stated in the PHB (pg. 55) in regards to Combat Inspiration:

When an attack roll is made against the creature, it can use its reaction to roll the Bardic Inspiration die and add the number rolled to its AC against that attack, after seeing the roll but before knowing whether it hits or misses.

In my time as DM I would always say, for example, “18 to hit?” unless it seemed absolutely clear to me that an attack hits. However, my current GM prefers to keep track of our AC, and simply tell us the result without calling the results of his attack rolls.

These are the possible solutions that occur to me:

  • GM must consistently call ‘## to hit?’ waiting for the player to respond ‘Hits!’ (Positive: Most useful for the inspired character. Negative: some immersion lost.) This is my preferred approach.
  • GM must remember who has inspiration and at least announce his attack-rolls against them (Positive: best of both worlds. Negative: GM is likely to forget)
  • GM does nothing; player must gamble on the use of their inspiration based on their own guess, intuition, or reading of the DM, and announce this immediately after the GM rolls attack. (Positive: Best for immersion, easiest for GM. Negative: the class feature becomes much less powerful. All of the onus is on the player to remember and interrupt the GM). I believe RAW rules out this solution, which is the one preferred by my GM.

Can Convergent Future result in a die roll above 20?

In the new Explorer’s Guide to Wildemount, we are introduced to a new wizard Arcane Tradition called Chronurgy whose capstone ability is:

Convergent Future
14th-level Chronurgy Magic feature

You can peer through possible futures and magically pull one of them into events around you, ensuring a particular outcome. When you or a creature you can see within 60 feet of you makes an attack roll, an ability check, or a saving throw, you can use your reaction to ignore the die roll and decide whether the number rolled is the minimum needed to succeed or one less than that number (your choice).

Say the DC for a Strength ability check is 25, and I have a +2 Strength modifier.
Does Convergent Future allow the die roll to be either 23 (“the minimum needed to succeed”) or 22 (“one less than that number”) even though the maximum possible on a d20 is 20?

Discern Realities — are players supposed to ask their questions before or after dice roll?

The book is pretty clear on this subject:

When you closely study a situation or person, roll+Wis.

✴On a 10+, ask the GM 3 questions from the list below. ✴On a 7–9, ask 1.

So, first you roll dice, then you ask questions from the list. Why do I ask, is because there were talks in the community which imply the players ask questions from the list when the roll still misses.

See Suddenly Ogres for the example — it explains how to narrate misses for Spout Lore and Discern Realities, but implies that players ask “Who’s in control” (a question from the list):

Who’s in control on this masquerade ball? It’s your rival, Duke Dupont, just as you feared!

Who’s in control in that masked ball? Suddenly, ogres are everywhere! I suppose that means that ogres are in control now.

How could that be? Should player ask before rolling the dice, or should the GM ask for further clarifications on miss, or what?

Roll and Keep in Anydice

I want to check out the probabilities of the Roll and Keep system (as known from L5R 1-4th Edition) in Anydice. We luckily have boundaries:

  • We roll Skill + Stat + Modifier initial dice.
    • 10 explodes; A roll of 10-10-1 is counted as a single die of 21!
  • We keep (the best/worst) Ring dice of the roll.
  • there are at best 10 dice rolled, any 2 dice more that could be rolled add 1 die kept.
  • you can’t ever keep more dice than you rolled.

For a roll of 10k3, this would be this code, but it fails to compute:

output [highest 3 of 10d [explode d10]] named "10k3" 

How best to model this in a way that allows testing 1k1 to 10k5?

AnyDice compare dice roll value to number on a multidice roll

I’ve been trying to use AnyDice to calculate some stuff and got completely overwhelmed (never used it properly before).

I’m trying to do something along the lines of:

Roll n + p amount of d10 dice. If any of those result in 1, check for each 1 roll 1d10 + p.

In this sequence I’m trying to see what are the odds that at least one of the dice will result in 1 and what would the secondary roll result spread would be.

Is it possible to do something like this? Because I’m already failing at trying to compare the dice to a number and assigning variables does not seem to help. I think I jumped into something too complex for a first more serious use of the system.

EDIT: Basically the first roll is for casting a spell and 1s represent mishaps. For each 1 you roll onto table which has 10 entries (the higher the number, the more severe result). Adding extra dice p (pushing) makes those table results worse. I want to see how quickly and how bad that can go. If I add 1 extra die, what’s the chance to get a mishap and how bad, if i add 2, etc (apologies if too much details, not sure how else to clarify this).

So far I managed to count number of 1s (i think)

function: hitme N:n plus P:n {   X: N + P   result: [count {1} in X d10] } output [hitme 4 plus 2] 

How do attack rolls and criticals affect a 2d6 vs 1d12 damage roll? [duplicate]

For example, given the probability distribution between two similar weapons:


D&D 5E Weapons – Basic Rules pg.48:

Text


Damage Discrete Distribution – AnyDice:

Text2


Its evident that Greatsword is more reliable and has a higher mean damage roll.

But how does this change if we factor in an attack roll with some chance to hit? Do critical hits make the Greataxe preferential?

Do you need to roll tech attack for all tech actions?

In the core rulebook p. 79, it reads:

TECH ATTACK: The statistic used to make tech attacks and to take most tech actions.

So from that, I understand that we have tech actions and some of them, most of them BUT not all of them require a tech attack throw.

The tech action (p. 70) “scan” and “lock on” doesn’t mention any tech attack throw while for invade it does say that an attack roll is necessary.

In my group, scan and lock on are considered tech attack. Does someone knows which one it is?