Does doubling up on Rope and Manacles increase DC or just take multiple checks to escape?

My D&D group is new and we are all still getting used to playing the game and are running through the Starter Set adventure.

During this adventure we end up capturing a Wizard and we bound and gag him. My character being paranoid made sure to attach manacles to him and also to use two different lengths of 50ft rope to ensure that he would not be able to break free. During the return back to town the DM had him keep rolling strength checks against the manacles and rope and one by one he kept breaking through them and I ended up having to borrow the entire party’s supply of rope to keep him secure because he kept breaking through them. By the time I was able to deliver him he was wrapped in 200 ft of rope and looked like more rope than man after breaking my manacles and two different lengths of rope.

I know that the rules say that the DC of Hempen rope is 17 but I still think that in any real world sense it is ridiculous to think that this Wizard can Samson his way through each individual rope while also being held by several other lengths of rope and a set of manacles. One would think that the weight of the ropes alone would keep him in check.

I guess my question is that is there any precedent for the DC being raised when you are attaching multiple different factors into keeping a prisoner secure or are you just supposed to roll each rope individually?

Edit: My DM has responded to my post and it looks like I didn’t have all of the information originally

“I rolled 2 rolls per day of travel. This was his daily attempt to free himself from his bindings with disadvantage. He got 2 Nat 20’s the day he broke the manacles and a 19 & 20 to break free of the rope. His Str modifier is -1, but 18 still clears the rope’s DC. He had disadvantage due to the leather armor and sheer volume of rope around him He also had to break the manacles before he could even start trying to work at the rope, since you did put those on him first”

Does Rope Trick create an extradimensional space, or does the space already exist?

In my answer to this question, I used the fact that Rope Trick states

…an Invisible entrance opens to an extradimensional space that lasts until the spell ends.

After thinking about it for a while, I started to wonder if I was wrong. This sentence can be taken two ways – either the entrance lasts until the spell ends, or the extradimensional space lasts until the spell ends.

The text

Anything inside the extradimensional space drops out when the spell ends

implies that the space ceases to exist when the spell ends. But this is different from similar destruction of bigger-on-the-inside spaces, such as the Bag of Holding:

If the bag is overloaded, pierced, or torn, it ruptures and is destroyed, and its contents are scattered in the Astral Plane.

So… Does the space get created and cease to exist when the spell ends, or is it the entrance?

Can a random passerby enter a Rope Trick or Psychoportive Shelter?

Both effects have similar natures, end results, and wording. However, nothing in the wording of either power or spell seems to indicate that someone can’t come in wherever, assuming that they can reach the interface, pass through the plane of the interface, and assuming there is room for one more.

Area of effects and other special effects cannot cross the interface, as described, and the interface is one way visually (even when invisible), but the entrance of another creature after the fact does not seem to be contradicted?

Thus, can a random passerby enter a Rope Trick or Psychoportive Shelter, accidentally, or on purpose?

Does using the Tavern Brawler feat with a rope give you a 20’+ grapple attack?

If I gain the Tavern Brawler feat, and use it with a rope as an improvised weapon, can I initiate a Grapple at 20+ feet away (depending on the length of rope)

When you hit a creature with an unarmed strike or improvised weapon on your turn, you can use a bonus action to attempt to grapple the target.

So as an action I attack by whipping the rope out, presumably doing 1d4 damage + strength (up to the DM). Then as a bonus action I initiate the grapple by tugging the rope and having it wind around the opponent.

I envision this as a lasso, but I suppose a grappling hook would work too.

Does Private Sanctum prevent Rope Trick from being cast?

Private Sanctum states:

• Planar Travel is blocked within the warded area.

Rope Trick states:

… an Invisible entrance opens to an extradimensional space that lasts until the spell ends. The extradimensional space can be reached by climbing to the top of the rope.

Would Private Sanctum prevent Rope Trick from being used? RAW it does not seem like it.

Does the spell Rope Trick fail if the rope is longer than the height of the room?

The spell description for rope trick (PHB, pg. 272) states:

You touch a length of rope that is up to 60 feet long. One end of the rope then rises into the air until the whole rope hangs perpendicular to the ground.

What happens if I cast rope trick on a 60 foot rope in a 12 foot high room? The ceiling is not high enough for the whole rope to hang perpendicular to the ground; conceivably, it either stops rising when it hits the ceiling or it begins to pile up on the ceiling until 12 feet of it dangle to the floor. Either way, the rope does not satisfy the bolded condition in the spell description.

Does the spell fail? Do I need to cut down my rope to be less than the height of the room before casting the spell?

If you have the Climber’s Kit, are the rope, hammer, and pitons in the Burglar’s and Dungeoneer’s Packs superfluous?

The Burglar’s Pack and Dungeoneer’s Pack both include a 50-foot hempen rope, a hammer, and 10 pitons (among other things). You might expect that these would be enough to safely climb something. However, there’s also a Climber’s Kit. According to its description:

A climber’s kit includes special pitons, boot tips, gloves, and a harness. You can use the climber’s kit as an action to anchor yourself; when you do, you can’t fall more than 25 feet from the point where you anchored yourself, and you can’t climb more than 25 feet away from that point without undoing the anchor.

My best guess for how this is supposed to work is that you climb somewhat more than 25 feet with the help of the boot tips and gloves. Then you hammer a piton into the climbing surface, stick one end of your 50-ft. rope through its “eye”, and tie both ends of the rope onto your harness, thus limiting any possible fall to 25 feet with your doubled over 50-ft. rope. Then you climb the 25 feet possible. Once there, you hammer in a new piton, untie one end of your rope (don’t fall!), pull the rope up out of the lower piton, loop it through the newer piton, re-tie it onto your harness, and continue climbing.

However, there’s a problem. It seems reasonable to me that the Climber’s Kit should include everything you need to climb, but its description doesn’t mention a rope or hammer at all (nor does it say exactly how many pitons it has). On the other hand, the word “includes” might be interpreted to mean it has the listed things among other not-mentioned things.

I tried to puzzle it out using the listed weights and costs as guides. The Climber’s Kit costs 25 gold and weighs 12 pounds. 50 feet of hempen rope, a hammer, and 10 pitons cost only 2.5 gold, but they weigh 15.5 pounds so that all can’t be in the Climber’s Kit. However, if I replace the hempen rope with silk, now these items cost 11.5 gold and weigh 10.5 pounds. That would leave 13.5 gold and 1.5 pounds for the boot tips, gloves, and harness (and maybe more pitons if you have any budget left over after that).

So my guess is that the Climber’s Kit does include an unmentioned hammer and 50 feet of silk rope, so you shouldn’t also buy those separately. And, because the Packs always have pitons in groups of 10, I would guess the Climber’s Kit probably includes 10 too. However, these are guesses. Is there any guidance I’ve missed that’s more direct?

How to make a dynamic/variable length physics based rope in Unreal?

So I have followed several tutorials on making a physics based rope. I have found success but, it seems like a waste of time to keep creating a mesh and calibrating it for each rope that I create. I really need a more streamlined approach to be able to create them faster as I have a lot of different ropes of varying lengths and diameter.

It seems to be rather inefficient to create a skeletal mesh for each rope that I create. It would be really nice if I could create a rope of say 1 unit and then add multiple of these units together to create a longer one that has the correct physics or at least very little manual calibration needed.

This doesn’t need to be done at runtime but, I’d like the finished asset to be able to do it all inside of Unreal Editor.

Has anyone done anything similar to this or can point me in a generally good direction? I really don’t know where to start with this one. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Can undead creatures (raised by a necromancy spell) climb a rope, climb a ladder, or swim?

I’m thinking about making a Necromancy wizard, but had a few questions about RAW.

Would undead from the animate undead spell (or any necromancer spells), e.g. skeletons or zombies, be able to climb a rope, climb a ladder, or swim?

I feel like they would be able to climb a ladder, the rope is a little iffy, and swimming would be a no.

That said, I haven’t found any restrictions or parameters in the PHB or DMG that mention those rules.

Any help would be appreciated, thanks!

Dimension Leap with A Held Rope

My Bard is holding one end of a 100′ rope in his hand. The other end of the rope is in a row-boat, either tied to the boat or held by another character in the boat.

The Bard casts Dimension Leap to teleport 90′ away.

What happens to the rope? We are trying to create a tether to attach a row boat to a ship, to be able to pull the row boat to the ship.